An Open Letter To The SteemIt Community (And The Anonymous Spammers Who Have Been Threatening To Flag Me)

in #life6 years ago

About a month ago I made a SteemIt bot and invested an entire Bitcoin into Steem to power it up.  This bot was supposed to be for everybody.  But some people were complaining that someone who they didn't like was using my bot to power up their own reputation score.  They've been sending me anonymous emails, calling that other person a spammer and telling me in no uncertain terms that if I didn't re-program my bot to block them that I would be severely flagged by very high-level SteemIt users (not for the content of my writing, but only because I didn't follow their orders).  I can't even write back to argue with these people because their return email addresses are fake.  So I'm writing this post because I can't reply to those threats directly.

First just let me set one thing straight, there is a big difference between excessive posting on SteemIt and spam in your email inbox.  If someone is sending you email after email with unsolicited promotions that's spam, and if they're sending you threats then that is even worse spam.  But if you don't like something on SteemIt then so what, just ignore it.  Why should I get involved in fighting on someone else's behalf?  The SteemIt documentation says "It is free to post, comment, or vote on all content on Steemit.com."

It's silly, why should they spend time and effort pushing around other users, when what they really want to do is convince @Ned to change the way SteemIt works.  Fighting with other users wont convince them to change anything.  And if Ned isn't changing SteemIt or blocking people from using it, then why should I change my bot to block people?

Now, don't get me wrong, a couple of weeks ago I actually did try to program my bot to block the alleged spammer.  Not because I felt like it, but because I had gotten so many emails complaining about how that user was using my bot to level up their reputation score after being flagged down.  At the time I agreed, it didn't sound fair.  And for a little while the threatening emails stopped showing up in my inbox.  I thought everything was okay.

But today I got another email saying that they were pissed at me and they would flag me down at their first opportunity because I didn't block that user from my bot.  So I just checked, and to my surprise, that user was still using my bot.  I honestly don't know how, maybe they found a way around my block, or maybe I'm just not very good at programming things like that.  I don't know, but it is what it is.

So now some anonymous people are mad at me because I didn't jump at their command (not for lack of trying, but just because).  Do I care yet?  Heck No!  In fact, it's makes me want to rebel against their demands.  Why should I bend over backwards and do extra programming work for some jerks who just want to flag people?  I say screw them!  They can flag me and get it over with if that's the kind of harassment they're into.  The only thing it'll prove is that they can't stay anonymous forever.

To everyone else who's reading this and wondering who those users are, just wait and see, they said they'd flag me at their next opportunity, so if they flag this post then we'll all know exactly who they are.  These people think they can control everyone on here with their Steem Power, but I say they're just a bunch of losers hiding behind their online anonymity while they try to push and bully folks into doing what they want.

If Ned and the other SteemIt developers wont change things for them then I don't think I should change anything for them either.  If they don't like it then they should talk to Ned, he's the one in charge of SteemIt.  I'm not the SteemIt Police.  I don't care if User A has a complaint about User B.  I don't know any of the people involved, and I'm not trying to defend any spammers, but the users who think they can control other people with their Steem Power are the real threat to SteemIt.  If they're that easily upset by other people's freedom of speech then they've come to the wrong Internet.

Thank you for taking the time to read this little rant.  And if anybody ever tells you to do something or else they'll flag you, then you should tell that troll to go back to Facebook!  Never put up with that sort of nonsense, giving in to people like that will only encourage them to push you around even more.

Sort:  

1 There is some misinformation going on here.
Who do you think controls the @misterdelegation account that completely supports @steemcleaners and other abuse fighting initiatives on steemit?

2 If you know the names of the characters that are threatening you let us all know?

If not when they start flagging you call on @r0nd0n at @freezepeach and get some help. here Don't flag back just go to that discord server and ask for help.
Part of the problem on steemit is many are under informed or have wrong information about the platform.
Steem on and don't sweat it there are many of us that care much and will help and send you the right information!
And always remember to eat more !popcorn it helps when dealing with all the drama. Think of it as a production and you are a player in it. It will make it all much easier to manage.

Loading...

@anomaly

We have nothing to do with these e-mails. But it's good to see that others are still fighting spammers and scammers on Steemit.

@resteem.bot

great post for all steemians....thanks for sharing your experience...

There are such bullies out there. What are they, five year-olds? I wish they'd crawl back under their rock until they grow up.

steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

This is what anarchy looks like. Folks have the freedom to do wonderful things and help each other; they also have freedom to be complete assholes and screw each other. Now throw in pure Greed, ...

If we want to be a community, we have to behave like one but we don't. When one member gets attacked unjustly we cower before the power of SP, choosing to say or do nothing for fear of losing our rep and ability to earn.

BTW, I post using my real name, greetings!

Onno.

I'm open to suggestions @onnovocks. Thanks for your help

One thing they are doing is ganging up and getting multiple accounts to flag posts of their choosing. We could do the same when we feel a flag attack is unjust. The problem is that we can't find enough people with some guts to actually do this. The flaggers can dish it out as long as it doesn't hurt their bottom line; that will change when they face retaliation. The problem for me is that every flag war has unintended victims, so I don't want to go that route. I have another idea, but I fear it will take too long to build, would require communication off platform, require a sizable investment in Steem and multiple participants. BTW, DLive is moving off Steemit to another blockchain, in part because of this BS of whales upvoting themselves while flagging minnows into oblivion, so the first major push back has arrived.

Here is the post announcing the move: https://steemit.com/dlive/@wa7/dlive-is-joining-the-lino-blockchain-moving-away-from-steem

Wow, didn't know about that..

PS.
Stated quite directly..

Our focus was to grow our user base, and build an engaging live streaming and video community while growing Steem as well, and deliver upvotes as evenly as possible during the last 9 months. However, the current economic model of Steem incentivizes large Steem holders to continuously upvote their own content and other creators who specifically support their content. This creates an ecosystem where a content’s true value can't be recognized or be fairly rewarded.

Yep, not only are a few whales sponsoring their fan base with decent up votes, they are also the financial backing behind some flag groups/accounts. They do this by delegating SP to the "group" to make it look, on the surface anyway, like they are not the ones flagging. The "group" publishes posts inviting folks to get rewarded for their flags. This turns into censorship as the "group" decides who to flag by having the ability to select which flags to reward and I haven't seen them flag a whale's shitpost yet.

I see this as the same thing as buying an Army of mercenaries to eliminate the competition; an offensive move rather than a defensive one.

Another option is to leave Steemit, and this is exactly what is happening. Of the 570 or so followers I have, about 400 are dead or inactive accounts. These folks have not voted, flagged, posted, commented or claimed rewards for months.

At this time I'm not willing to purchase enough Steem to gain the ability to throw my weight around, but I will end this comment with a question: How many accounts can one entity posses and control?

Steem is quite unbalanced in that matter right now. Maybe that will change soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

I certainly hope so. Greetings!

This bullying through steem power has been here a long time. Power they say intoxicates so i can understand why they behave the way they do. If a user is abusing the use of your bot, and they have flagging capabilities as they have threatened, why don't they just take it upon themselves to flag the so called "SPAMMER"? Instead of bringing the fight to you. I believe this is why the flagging feature was created in the first place. They should go and flag the spammer.

Hi @dee-y, his accusations are false. I am not a spammer and I'm not abusing any bot. I had no idea he even tried to blacklist me.
I'm just a competitor of the bully and he's losing his piece of the cake because he can't offer more (he cannot code).

As you can see these accounts are not on any official blacklist:
http://blacklist.usesteem.com/user/marcocasario
http://blacklist.usesteem.com/user/cribbio
http://blacklist.usesteem.com/user/gaottantacinque

Except this one, 15 days ago I was put on themarkymark's blacklist but he never explained me why.
http://blacklist.usesteem.com/user/gasaeightyfive

Could be for a link that I left by mistake in a conversation with him in reply to resteem.bot. It was just a bug triggered by some words that resteem.bot put in his comment.
Or because I was mentioning my subscribers on my Status and Support Page every time after doing the resteems they paid me for?
Don't know, I never got I reply. I hope I'll get one and if I have to change something I will. They just have to tell me what because I don't think I'm doing anything that is not allowed.
Thanks

Marky does live streams pretty often. Maybe you could reach him there?

Posted using Partiko Android

He does not want to reply. He muted me on discord. I always tried politely but no luck, no reply at all.

Steemit is designed for whales. First of all a whale will want to be in a community with other whales. And vote each other up generously.
Steemit brings it to the peak with the flag option. Because whales can demonetize anyone with it who does not obey their wishes.
And so we see the sad insight in people that it is a waste of goodwill to offer valuable content here. It is not honored. Money honors money instead.

Sadly there is some truth in what you are saying @heidelbaer...
But some whales are fairly philanthropic...
So also not true to a 100%...

/FF

Certainly true what you say. In fact there are quite some whales who give their vote to some they appreciate regularly. Without asking for value return.

@heidelbaer
@curie is such a whale (I think @curie is a whale anyway), and then there are more random whales, it was a bit more usual before I think with random whale votes, now there are all kinds of programs and delegation and such...

/FF

Curie comes up with interesting content. He certainly is a whale with 47 mill sp and 57 mill sp delegated ;)

Yeah thats right, @curie has not found me yet, or maybe in the beginning can't remember, but I know my spelling and grammar might not always been 100% perfect, but Im improving fast.

This is a good thing with steemit, even if I don't get any big "ROI" from this place, steemit has been a great teacher, I write better, I know more random things about random things, also I learnt how to be more grateful...

Thank you @heidelbaer!

/FF

welcome back to my friend!

Truth! If these anonymous people have a worthy cause they should reveal their identities and present the issues they have in the open. It's not your fault if another user "abuses" the system.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @pwny, I did reveal our identities. Take a look at my comment on top if you want. Thanks

I agree with @pwny I also love spam, (just kidding)... =)
But yeah threatening people behind a fake email adress is so 1997???
Not cool...

/FF

So do you still support him @friendly-fenix?   =]


Image source m.memegen.com

And how is your business going @marcocasario?
I had this idea for a resteem service, but not sure where to turn...

/FF

😂

There are many out there. =]

I'm not the best, sometimes I crash (ssh, don't tell anyone) and I don't have that many followers yet but I have no rush (and I won't cheat spam following)   ;)

@marcocasario
It looks like your competition have quite a few active followers...
@sportic has a rep of -1 or something yet many of his followers seem to be legit followers... Even your greatest rival @resteem.bot has a fairly living following... Anyway, this does not mean those followers will click on the resteemed link... They might not share your interest in music, sport or finance, etc etc...
(also thanks for teaching me how to move your reply to the top by editing it)

/FF

Yeh I removed the last part. Re-reading it it sounded a bit too bitchy.. :P

Remember the customer is ALWAYS right!
;)

So is it hard to start a resteeming service?
I was thinking about doing that myself...

/FF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17