The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly - LGBT+ Edition Week 4

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

I'm compelled to preface this week's installment of my weekly curation project by observing that the week started out dismally, sorely lacking anything but The Bad and The Ugly. But my rainbow warriors pulled through, and by the time I began to draw up an outline for this yesterday, I was having a hard time narrowing it down to just five-ish for The Good.

So I didn't bother narrowing it down. We need more positive stories anyway.

As always, I will award creators of The Good content. This week I have increased the amount to 2 SBD each.

All images are owned by the original authors unless otherwise stated.


THE GOOD

@holothewise
gaybirds.jpg

A fascinating analysis of homosexual behavior across a range of species titled Homosexuality in nature: An evolutionary perspective.

@bodhi.agora & @paulgordon

A discussion about Mack Beggs. Here is @bodhi.agora's entry, and here is @paulgordon's.

For those who are unaware, Mack Beggs is a transgender boy in Texas who is on his high school's wrestling team. He has been trying to compete against other boys, but the rules of the Texas school system prevent him from doing so. He has been predictably dominant wrestling against girls, and following the rules has put him in a no-win scenario.

(I have counted this as two entries for the purpose of curation awards.)

@damianjayclay
Primary.png

A lovely poem titled Primary. I'm not crying. You're crying. Image source

@seetz
seetz2017.jpg

A fairly new Steemian (welcome!) who wrote a compelling piece telling her "coming-out" story. Read it here.

@katrina-ariel
walkingonwatercover.jpg

A rave review of Walking On Water, a book by a transgender author of whom I had not previously heard. Image source/Buy it

@sukhasanasister
sukhasanasister1.png

I admit to a bit of a short attention span when it comes to reading, but @sukhasanasister wrote two gripping parts of a story titled Being Sexual and Finding Love. Read Part 1 here and Part 2 here.

(I have counted this as two entries for the purpose of curation awards.)

@asperger-kids
asperger-kids.jpg

This post describes the anxiety and exhilaration we all experience when facing a major change in our lives. It's in German and I have attached an English translation using Google Translate. Original post - English translation

@shawnamawna
shawnamawna.jpg

Another lovely poem titled Breaking a Binary, both as spoken word and written. Image source

That's 20 SBD awarded to the above contributors. Thank you!
4.4.curationawards.png



THE BAD

@doctormartin67 posted a video asking if there's any science to support this and a video from noted evolutionary biologist Ben Shapiro stating that "transgenderism is not biology", but flagged a recent post of mine actually sourcing current scientific studies on the topic.

Note to @lionelnation: Your opinion isn't irrelevant. It just isn't as valid as facts, no matter how big of a tantrum you throw.

I hope @lufti doesn't think this weirdo is representative of transgender people in general. Hard to tell ...

@freedomexists: You shouldn't. But people are jerks irrespective of their group ideologies, and gross generalizations make you no better than those you hypocritically condemn.


THE UGLY

@caladium seems to have an unhealthy obsession with Rachel Maddow's genitals, but unfortunately is only the fifth-fastest time to take a post off the rails in the history of Steemit.

@redpill refers to Mack Beggs as "it" here, and should refer to the submissions by @bodhi.agora and @paulgordon above.

@drjeffreywinger wrote two posts, neither of which indicate he's an actual doctor, here and here, about "The Transgender Agenda". As if that's a thing.

It never ceases to amaze me how these guys ('cause it's almost always guys) obsess over transgender bodies, claiming said bodies are an abomination, unnatural, or somehow unscientific while simultaneously denying any actual science on the topic as some left-wing conspiracy. I'm far far far from a leftist, and maybe, just maybe, such views are curiously self-serving.


step1.png
Steemit LGBT+ Discord

Contact me:
Signal, ProtonMail: ancapbarbie
Discord: ancapbarbie#0001

Sort:  

I am honored to be included in this list of good. I will keep working to provide positive content for our community. Thank you so much. <3

My pleasure. Thank you for your amazing contribution.

Yey another curator I have found who is sharing great content this can keep me going for a few days, some great content to read thank you for sharing this..

Hey there - thanks for including my article in your curation roundup :) Looks like I'm about to lose about an hour of my morning to some of the other stuff in here too :)

Thank you for writing it. It was an awesome contribution.

Thank you for including me in your good list. You made me feel welcome in steemit. Going to do my best to post more with hopes of getting the lgbt tag more positive. Here’s to you eventually having more good to post about in future.

Thank you for writing it. <3

This is an excellent, much-needed curation effort, and I'm happy to see you continue it. LOVING all the excellent content by the lgbtq community. And hey, I even had a post with that tag this week! Thank you sincerely for including it. That book was fantastic. I keep recommending it to people. :) Keep being you!

Thank you for your contribution and for mentoring me. <3

We all learn from each other, if we're willing to listen. Glad to share this Steemit sea with you. ;)

I'm loving this post! Thanks for finding all this great stuff for us!

Cracked me up right here --->

Note to @lionelnation: Your opinion isn't irrelevant. It just isn't as valid as facts, no matter how big of a tantrum you throw.

I can't be the only one who's noticed how those most often referring to others as "SJW snowflakes" are almost unanimously the ones whining about how everyone is picking on them with some nefarious "agenda" which they never get around to defining.

LMAO I'm starting to really like you.

Let the good content win - always! 💞

Speaking as a transgender libertarian, my transgender agenda is "stop fucking murdering us".

Right. That would be funny if it wasn't so tragically true. I keep trying to tell them that if there was a "Transgender Agenda", I would surely know about it.

@doctormartin67 if you want to start a flag war with me, don't be surprised when you lose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56