Press 4 Progress SBD Contest With @evashinen (A Short Story Based On This Year's IWD Theme)

in #iwd6 years ago

“Mother, I am sick and tired of being told what to do!” Sister Nneka began as she charged into the living room. I sat in a corner of the room, the seven years old girl that I was, and watched as my big sister begin her usual drama. Mother sitting on a sofa behind me continued weaving my hair as if she didn’t hear Sister Nneka. (As the younger one, I am forbidden to call her by name. I have to add the prefix ‘sister’ as a sign of respect.)

“No one will listen to me. No one! If it were Uzo, everyone would listen. But when it comes to me, to the girl in the house, everyone goes dumb. No one…”

“Common keep quiet!” Mother almost shouted. “What is wrong with you? Are you the only one in the house?”

“What is wrong with me? Okay, let me tell you what is wrong with me. I said I wanted to make beans stew and white rice for dinner, the way I like it. After I have gone through the stress of sieving the chaff and stone from the beans, Uzo appeared and said he didn’t want beans stew. I ignored him. Only for him to return and say you asked him to tell me to cook Jollof rice instead. Why? So Uzo is more important than I am because he is a man and I am not?”

“Nne,” Mother began in a calm voice, trying to soothe Nneka’s flaring temper, “Come and sit down beside me. I want to tell you something.”

“I’m listening,” Nneka replied, arms folded on her chest, refusing to leave her spot.

“Come now,” Mother pleaded, “After all, you said no one bothers to listen to you. Now that I have listened to you, why don’t you listen to what I have to say?”

I watched as Sister Nneka reluctantly walked to my side and sat on the sofa besides Mother. Mother then began to speak as she resumed weaving my hair.

“Nne, my precious daughter. Nne, my beautiful daughter. Nne, my intelligent daughter.” Mother coaxed as Nne tried to hide the smiles and tried to maintain a stern face.

“Uzo is your younger brother. He is still growing. You, on the other hand, are maturing into a young beautiful and intelligent girl. Do you think I don’t notice the way you shake your waist these days?” Mother teased as Nne failed in her struggle to remain angry.

“You see, it is true that the world we live in is a man’s world. Men are in control of most parts of it. Everywhere you go, it almost seems that a man has to be in charge. But that cannot last forever, at least not when girls like you who do not take nonsense still exist. However, I want you to understand when you are being ignored because you are a female and when your demands have no ground.” Mother said as she turned my head to access the other part of my hair.

“Being a woman is something of value. Look at us; yes, we are both women. Look at us, only we can experience the labours and joy of bringing and nursing another human into this world. We are the moulders and caregivers in the home. But that is not all. We also have our unique strengths and perspectives to contribute in the workspace. You know I work in the ministry of Science and Technology. There are some things I notice and point out in the office that the other men cannot see. I am not saying these men are inferior because they have their own strengths too. I am saying each of us is strong in our own way.” Mother paused to let her words sink in.

“When I see you always fighting for your way by pushing the ‘I am a woman’ narrative forward, I always ignore you. Why? Because you are not moving forward. Let me explain. When you find something wrong, you should not start with ‘it is so because I am a woman’. No. Start by identifying the real problem. This evening, for instance, you are angry because you feel sidelined because you are a woman. But that isn't so. You made beans stew on Monday and also on Thursday, which is only yesterday. The reason I said you should change to Jollof rice is because you are not the only one in the house. Stop making yourself the victim every time. We ate beans stew on Monday and Thursday, no one complained.” Mother concluded.

“But Mother,” Nneka began cautiously, there are many instances where a woman is not listened to.”

“Really?” Mother asked, trying to sound surprised, “Tell me more.”

“For instance, in school, they didn’t allow Felicia become class captain because she was a girl. They wanted a boy to be the class captain.”

“But you girls didn’t allow it. In fact, from what I heard, even some of the boys in the class didn’t allow it too. It was a female teacher that was pushing for a male class captain, wasn’t that the case?” Mother asked and Sister Nneka nodded.

“From that instance, we can learn a lot of things. First, you girls spoke up. You defended yourselves. That was a clear case of gender bigotry and you girls didn’t let it slide. When you sense you are being sidelined because of your gender, speak up. That leads me to the second point; you girls need to work together. I remember during my time in school, most of the classes has female class captains. That was because we worked together. If you are going to defeat chauvinism, you girls need to work together. I noticed last week that you didn’t talk to Comfort because you thought she was snatching John from you.” Mother said as Sister Nneka tried to hide her embarrassment behind a shy smile.

“I sense all of these things. I was a girl like you once, you know. Anyway, the boys you girls are fighting over are always together. When you hear ‘it is a man’s world’, it is because the men work together to keep it that way. See your fellow girl as a sister and not a traitor. Lastly, you must know that there are other women outside who enjoy being under the leadership of a man. There is nothing wrong in that. Just as there are many men who enjoy watching their women take an active role while they support in the background. Problems only arises when one party tries to force its views on others.”

“So Mother, what are you advising I, sorry, we do?”

“I am advising that you march for progress. In your struggle to become recognised, don’t try to make men the inferior one. Do not end up being the oppressor you have always resented. March for equity. Let both men and women realise that they are both different and uniquely gifted. We are like fire and water; we all have our uses.” Mother concluded as she began to admire her handiwork on my head.

“Thank you Mother. i have learnt a lot from you. I will stop playing the victim every time. Instead, I will march for progress and work towards mutual respect and understanding between both genders.” Nneka said, beaming with smiles as she hugged Mother.

I picked up the mirror and looked at what Mother had made. It was beautiful. Although it was a style I had never seen on anyone before. I concluded it must have been new one so I should give it a name. I called it March for Progress.

This is my entry for the Press 4 Progress SBD Contest with @evashinen.

Let me know your thoughts on the subject.

Thanks for reading

Blessings

[image source](http://maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com/Boy-Africa-Childhood-Running-Child-Tire-Elephant-1171105}

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow, so this is fiction? Or did this story happen in real life? If it's real, then your mom is super smart and wise! In more ways than one.

If pure fiction...then you have an incredible imagination and I'm amazed at the lessons you were able to teach here.

Either way, I love this post. The story is so relatable because if you imagine this happened to you, you'd be so mad that you already started cooking one thing and then had to start all over.

I was very much like Sister Nneka. Maybe that's why I relate...but I think everyone can because everyone wants to be heard and listened to. Everyone wants to have value.

The mother was so wise to say this: “Come now,” Mother pleaded, “After all, you said no one bothers to listen to you. Now that I have listened to you, why don’t you listen to what I have to say?”

That statement right there immediately calms the girl down, because she realizes she is being heard, and that's all that matters. I used to argue with my parents as a kid, and my dad would say something similar to me. He'd say "You don't need to yell. I'm right here. Just tell me why you're upset and I'll listen to you."

It always immediately changed me from being angry and stubborn and combative, to calming down and resolving issues without talking back and getting in trouble.

Also, this was great: “You see, it is true that the world we live in is a man’s world. Men are in control of most parts of it. Everywhere you go, it almost seems that a man has to be in charge. But that cannot last forever, at least not when girls like you who do not take nonsense still exist."

I love that she said that! "At least when girls like you who don't take nonsense still exist." What a huge compliment to her daughter, and letting her know that her strong will can be a good thing when used correctly. Also letting her know that she is capable in making a small change in the world.

Such a great story! I might resteem it, but this also inspired me to write a post sooo I may just link to your post at the top of mine instead and tell everyone you inspired it!

Wow, i can't believe this is fiction. If it really is then you have a great mind. Nice story

It's fiction

Thanks for the compliment

This post has just been resteemed by @eddy-18.

For a free resteem, click here
For more resteems, send 0.01 to @eddy-18 with post link as memo

This is not a bot service. Upvote this comment to support the service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48