You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Press 4 Progress SBD Contest With @evashinen (A Short Story Based On This Year's IWD Theme)

in #iwd6 years ago (edited)

Wow, so this is fiction? Or did this story happen in real life? If it's real, then your mom is super smart and wise! In more ways than one.

If pure fiction...then you have an incredible imagination and I'm amazed at the lessons you were able to teach here.

Either way, I love this post. The story is so relatable because if you imagine this happened to you, you'd be so mad that you already started cooking one thing and then had to start all over.

I was very much like Sister Nneka. Maybe that's why I relate...but I think everyone can because everyone wants to be heard and listened to. Everyone wants to have value.

The mother was so wise to say this: “Come now,” Mother pleaded, “After all, you said no one bothers to listen to you. Now that I have listened to you, why don’t you listen to what I have to say?”

That statement right there immediately calms the girl down, because she realizes she is being heard, and that's all that matters. I used to argue with my parents as a kid, and my dad would say something similar to me. He'd say "You don't need to yell. I'm right here. Just tell me why you're upset and I'll listen to you."

It always immediately changed me from being angry and stubborn and combative, to calming down and resolving issues without talking back and getting in trouble.

Also, this was great: “You see, it is true that the world we live in is a man’s world. Men are in control of most parts of it. Everywhere you go, it almost seems that a man has to be in charge. But that cannot last forever, at least not when girls like you who do not take nonsense still exist."

I love that she said that! "At least when girls like you who don't take nonsense still exist." What a huge compliment to her daughter, and letting her know that her strong will can be a good thing when used correctly. Also letting her know that she is capable in making a small change in the world.

Such a great story! I might resteem it, but this also inspired me to write a post sooo I may just link to your post at the top of mine instead and tell everyone you inspired it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51