Sublime Sunday: It's Raining. Again! - But Once Again, All Is Not Lost ~ Some More Silver Linings To The Rain-Soaked Clouds of Deluge ~ Original Photography and Somewhat Long Discussion About Another Wet Sunday ~

in #istillcanstandtherain6 years ago (edited)

20180325_203815 428kb thumbnail.jpg

Ah, Another Sunday - Another Rainstorm

Last week on Sublime Sunday, we discussed the rain falling from the sky, and the many positive things it brings to our world. And guess what. It rained again THIS Sunday.

But I'm looking once more onto the bright side of this wet weather. We definitely need the rain. We're WAY behind in the water year, and though it can be a pain, I still like the wet stuff. There are many things to appreciate, all the while that you are outside, getting wet.

Let's get started.



"Do We HAVE To?"

P1630059-2 183kb.jpg

"Let's Not Be Hasty Here--With All This Going Outside Business

Once again, Stinky the Cat is my outdoor barometer. I woke up rather late, wandered around the house, looked outside to see what was going on, and then decided to crawl back under the covers to ponder what could be accomplished on such a rainy day.

While I was wandering the living room, Stinky the Cat had other ideas. She set up some serious leisure-shop in the down comforter and other fuzzy, inviting wonder-blankets of joy. Sigh. I figured it was time to get things moving with the day after all. SHE didn't move for the next couple of hours.

If we have any choice in these matters, I think I want to come back to Earth as a cat...and live with people that firmly believe in nice, comfy blankets.



P1630115-2 227kb.jpg

The Perfect, Weed-Free Garden

Last week we discussed how nicely the rain cleaned out the gutter system of a house. This week, we see another advantage of the rain/gutter dynamics of home ownership. The Natural Gutter Garden. All you need is a bit of self-depositing muck to set up in the gutter, some rainfall, and you can grow some pretty nice, edible plants up there.

This gutter garden is down the street from the house. I think this is Purple Dead Nettle. And I think it's edible too. Though growing way up there, it might be full of tin and roofing asphalt and other odd things that will make you glow in the dark if you eat them. So maybe we'll just call it a high altitude, showy flower garden, and call it 'good'.



P1610961-2 374kb.jpg

Cousin What'sit LOVES The Rain

A friend gave me this weeping pussy willow tree a few years back. After FULLY abusing it. She dug it up, left it sitting on the ground in the hot sun of August for a week or so, then threw it in the trunk of her car and forgot about it. Later she gave it to me. I stuck it in the ground, and wouldn't you know it, Cousin What'sit grew like there was no tomorrow.

Rain rain rain. It does wonders for neglected plants. The cats love this 'tree' too, and hang out underneath its boughs when it rains. Talk about some level of irony.



Not So Close To Home

20180325_203815-2 336kb.jpg

Down By The Riverside

Ah, biking down by the river. And it was WET. But this activity gives great views through the trees, when falling moisture from the sky lets up now and then. And as long as you can keep from drowning out the camera, it offers some pretty nice views of the river through the foggy rain. People used to smear Vaseline on their lens to get this kind of cosmic effect. All I need is a bit of heavy dew from above.



P1600315-2 224kb.jpg

A Little Dirt In The Water Is Good For You

All this rain re-replenishes the river system. And gives us a bunch more water to drink. Never mind that it's chock full of sediment from the mountains. But that can be filtered out. Just don't try to swim or boat in the river at this time, unless you know what you're doing. I once saw the Salmon River in Idaho running at 107,000 cubic feet/second. THAT was impressive. This is a whole lot more tame, but STILL exciting if you fall in. I didn't, so on we go to more positive, rainfall adventures.



P1400992-2 472kb lighter.jpg

Mini-Fairyland Extraordinaire

The mushrooms LOVE rain. I'm not sure what these are called, besides white, rather small and cute. They're growing up and out of a Douglas Fir cone. How cool is that?

I have no idea if you can eat these or not. Well -- I guess technically, you can eat ANYTHING that will fit in your mouth. So that's not a very good measure. Maybe we should say -- I don't know if you SHOULD eat them. I don't plan on finding out one way or the other, by trying them. So we'll just stick to laying on the ground, getting wet, and taking their picture.



P1600265-2 222kb lighter.jpg

"Beam Us Up, Scotty. It's WET Down Here"

I wonder what ducks think when it rains? "Ooh, more water!" I'm not sure it gets much deeper than that. It's a lot like when we humans step out of the house, look around, breathe in, and exclaim, "ooh, more oxygen." So I don't think the ducks have any thought about this rain thing after all. They're born naturally waterproof, and float around on a water surface really really well. A major deluge from above is nothing more than a small, vertical river to a duck.

How different is this than with we humans?! It rains hard, and we get excitedly bummed, then pull out all sorts of stay-dry accoutremon' from the closet. Rain coat, rain pants, sou'wester, galoshes, gloves, snacks, umbrella. Just to run around in the rain and act like a duck.

All a duck does is waddle out of the river onto 'dry' land, look up to the sky, shrug, do his or her duck thing, then go back to the river. It's like any other day floating about. Horizontal, vertical, rain, lake, river...it's all the same. WET.



20180304_182726-2 217kb.jpg

A Visual Pot Of Gold

A break in the rain, a little sun, and vwaalaah. A GORGEOUS rainbow. Where would we be in the visuo-photographic world without rain. We would not get the ever-charming rainbow. I've followed rainbows before, just to see what exciting treasure was at the end. Most thrilling thing I discovered to date was a big old sign for a Kitchen Supply store. So much for the true magic of life. Pot of gold at the end or not, I still love a good rainbow during a break in the storm.

You can barely see that this one is trying to put out another rainbow, to rainbow left. On this day it never transpired beyond this look. Have you ever seen a triple? I'm not sure how many rainbows together are possible. Let me know if you have the answer to this weather-related riddle.



P1400962-2 227kb sharper.jpg

The French Cuisine-ists Got Nothin' On The Northwest

One of the biggest advantages of the heavy rains out our way, is that we can grow larger things in the realm of water-based nature. Think of it as a really wet Texas. Our trees are huge, our bushes are bushier, our worms are impressive, and our snails are world-class.

Such as the coveted Yellow-Striped Garden Gargantua Gastropod. A 200+ pound, shelled mollusk native to this area. You can tell how large they get by this photo-though this is just a 'small' one-weighing in at about 40 pounds. For perspective, that's a a normal-sized, concrete picnic table the Y-SGGG is gliding about on. The larger snails could eat a small dog, if they could catch one.

This is also a great place to practice your close-up, perspective photography. In the rain, where native snails wander about. Slowly.



P1620999-1 326kb.jpg

Start Up The John Deere. Again.

Imagine. All this rain, and the grass just keeps on growing. So I'm NEVER bored. If I run out of things to post and do on Steemit, or in other aspects of life (??), I can always mow the grass. No finer joy was had by all.



This concludes our second discussion as to why we should all like the rain, and hang out in it as much as possible, whenever possible. It just makes sense to me. Please remember your galoshes and bright yellow Sou'wester. After all, we're not ducks.

I hope your Sublime Sunday was as enjoyable as mine. And Happy Monday, rain or not, coming up very fast and all too soon. Cheers.

~ Finto ~





Thanks for stopping in and viewing some more of the many splendor-ed things about Heavy Rainfall on a Sunday. If you have any thoughts about rain, ducks, tough little bushes, extra-large imaginary escargot's, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 04/30/2018 @ 02:15



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 66

Sublime Sunday 2   Cats and eek sound 2.GIF
Sublime Sunday 2   Cats and eek sound.GIF

Sort:  

Queen Stinky approves. Maybe.

I thoroughly enjoyed your Sunday, thank you for sharing it!! You're right, Texas has nothing on the worms up your way, bit to dry for their liking here maybe.

I assume you HAVE worms, in some form or another? (Freeze dried, dehydrated?) O :
And I'm pretty sure Queen Stinky does approve. She's sitting in my lap now, purring away as I type. If only she had opposable thumbs, I could start another blog-post account. Sigh...the realities of life.
Have a nice night, though your probably smart, and already starting on tomorrow (as in SLEEPING)

Texas worms exist, definitely. In our region of the state, I've mostly seen very skinny and small earthworms. The soil here in North Texas is mostly clay in a lot of places, plus it gets very dry in summer, only a masochistic earthworm would choose this place. In East TX and/or down near the gulf there are probably plump worms a-plenty, considering they get more rain typically. Side note, there are a lot of other kinds of bait worms available up here, not really sure if they're locally sourced worms though.

I've always wanted to visit the Pacific Northwest to experience the rain forest and its many denizens. :D

Sublime indeed! Loved every single pic!!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed the day out in the rain. (Actually several, but who's keeping track?) Makes for a lazy day. Then what are you doing running around in the rain? Ha haa...

It seems i transform into a froggy every time rain start... I even turn green!

As long as it's not envy...

This is a fantastic story, and I love all the pictures - the mushrooms growing out the pine cone is a superb photo. Really enjoyed the full story as well, such a fantastic #SublimeSunday thank you for joining in.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed the story. It was fun to put together. So many rain pictures are available this spring ( :
Thanks for putting this out, it is inspirational.

Firstly, Stinky the cat, what a character. Now, is she called 'Stinky' because of her own scent, or is it that lovely scowl she is wearing that says, "What in heaven's name is that stench!"? She looks quite comfy in the deep recesses of the duvet.

Cousin Whatsit! I love him. I'm glad to know I'm not the only crack pot, er uhm... 'clever person' who names their plants.

Concerning grass mowing, @winstonalden does it here at Toad Hall, all two acres of it! I am always after him to let me let it grow long and we just cut paths through it. Then in the tall bits, each year, I'd add more native wildflower seeds. It's less work and is easy gardening. It's what is often done in English landscapes, but perhaps @winstonalden's Puritan blood can't imagine that grass should be allowed to have fun and must be rigid and stand in line and be accounted for. This Summer, however, he is back at working in the city and when I mentioned having someone come in to cut the lawn his other New England trait (let's call it 'thrift') shot up and gave me the oddest look. So, if I could convince him that I'll 'cut the grass' I'll spurn the riding loud tractor mower and let it grown and happily push my little electric do dad about making paths to my delight. We shall see...

I love a good rainy Sunday. We have had good rainy days in that we get some good heavy rain, it lets up for me to slip out and build a fence or add a wooden border rail and then starts up and I am back indoors with a hot cuppa and some artwork. I'll not let Mother nature ruin it for me, I'll just let her make my Spring schedule, one less thing for me to think about :)

Calling the Stinkmeister a character is a bit of an understatement. She is really quite a cat. And I've had quite a few. So this isn't proud parent speak. Anyway, I babble rhapsodic about my odd little (fat) cat.
Her name is multi-fold. She started as Buttercup, when we first let her in the house, and that did not fit for long. She was a real butt-head to all the other cats of the area. So, being a Stinker, started it all off. Then, as time went on, and we got to know her better, we realized her breath DOES really stink. In a rather odd, pleasant way. (But she IS an FIV cat, so that might have something to do with it.) And, when she uses the litter box, it looks like a Rottweiler has been in to visit. Not sure WHY, but true. Though she doesn't stick around to discuss much. Just jumps up, does a little spin, and runs off from the box. Not sure WHAT that's all about. We call it a visit from the poop monster. I could go on and on about my child, but guess I'll stick to, she is Stinky the Cat.

I love that you name your plants as well. If you can't name your bushes after famous TV personalities, what can you do? Maybe we are an odd bunch, but I'm convinced it's just jealousy.

If you can convince W.A. about the lawn (I still want to call him Dubya A, though that might be too close to GW, our past president- EXT.) Anyway, can convince him of the lawn, it would be fun. We do that here. Many paths through the grass. The secret is...you have to rent a pretty big mower in the fall. To knock it down. Or pay someone with a sickle mower. (Think they're illegal now, not sure). Or have a big weedeater with the grass killer blade. (Inquiries within).
But it is SO fun to have paths and beautiful grass in between. The 3-5 foot stuff is gorgeous. You Englander's know what you're all about. Do you have a tick problem though? That might be an issue. I know you have some nasty ones out your way. Though they may not live right on the Ocean.

Enjoy your day tomorrow gardening, drawing and making things. What a life we lead. Do you think you'll get any more snow? Hope not. I have a snow post to get out, I think I better hurry. Sigh. Have a good night, if you're goofy enough to still be on here. Doubtful at best. G'night.

Wonderful blog. The mushrooms growing out of pine cone ... yeah that is a blessed capture. I have I asked you where in the North West you live. I am in Vancouver and the double blossom cherry trees are in full bloom and have brought me to heel. Allergies. Love that it has been raining the last few days and washing some of that pollen from the air.

My friend your story is great but your pictures are greater than your story...But of course I see them as a whole thing...I love the mushroom picture...really beautiful...

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day...

Thanks, glad you enjoyed both photos and story. The mushrooms are very very small, but still mighty. There seems to be endless rain picture potential so far. But today, the sun is out. Yay. Have a nice night.

WOW! Wonderful nature during and after the rain! It looks really refreshing and very nice atmosphere. And you took great captures. I like all of these photos.

I haven’t ever seen a triple of rainbow before, this is really amazing! I especially like the reflection of the rainbow on the water….. Great shot!

Stinky the Cat looks sleepy and comfortably in the soft blankets…. Really cute! Ah! I want to come back to Earth as a cat, too! ;)

@ddschteinn You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Thanks, I appreciate the vote. I would rather just do it the old fashioned way. Oldschool Steem.

You are very welcome and thank you for doing it right ... the old school way!!

Nice story from you, nature has bless us all with rain

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it. We definitely need MORE rain, and I do appreciate it for what it does. But sometimes it's hard to remember that when it comes down a lot. But I try very hard.

I would agree with your cat choice of reincarnation...of course our dogs have had it pretty good as well.

The only down side to the gutter garden down the way is the distinct possibility of being shot while retrieving said free food LOL!

Yeah that river brings back flashbacks of the movie classic Deliverance.

Oh a double rainbow!! NICE! The sky between 2 rainbows is always darker, according to physics.

Ah yes the joys of mowing. Ive spent a few hours on a Deere myself!

P1080089.JPG

It WOULD be hard to explain what I'm doing on their roof in the middle of the night with a headlamp and small shovel. "Whaaaat?"
I've yet to see any true Deliverance folks along the river, but HAVE been heavily harassed by some of the local bush 'wildlife'. Gets a bit dicey out there at night sometimes. I go fast, because most are a bit too inebriated to give long chase after me on my bike. I hope a post is 'soon coming' about one of them. A bit comical in the end.
I remember your John Deere turnamatic video awhile back. You zipping all about, having fun. I want one of those! We have a regular JD and it's fun. This one would be even trippier. Wanna swap?

Thanks for the Physics lesson. @anca3drandom and I were discussing above the number that is possible. Do you know? (I'm too lazy to go read about it ( :
I had no idea it's darker in-between. The THINGS I learn from OGP. Wonder if it's TRULY darker, or an illusion due to brightness around it. We may never know. Have a nice day, and keep on Steemin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28