You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sublime Sunday: It's Raining. Again! - But Once Again, All Is Not Lost ~ Some More Silver Linings To The Rain-Soaked Clouds of Deluge ~ Original Photography and Somewhat Long Discussion About Another Wet Sunday ~

Firstly, Stinky the cat, what a character. Now, is she called 'Stinky' because of her own scent, or is it that lovely scowl she is wearing that says, "What in heaven's name is that stench!"? She looks quite comfy in the deep recesses of the duvet.

Cousin Whatsit! I love him. I'm glad to know I'm not the only crack pot, er uhm... 'clever person' who names their plants.

Concerning grass mowing, @winstonalden does it here at Toad Hall, all two acres of it! I am always after him to let me let it grow long and we just cut paths through it. Then in the tall bits, each year, I'd add more native wildflower seeds. It's less work and is easy gardening. It's what is often done in English landscapes, but perhaps @winstonalden's Puritan blood can't imagine that grass should be allowed to have fun and must be rigid and stand in line and be accounted for. This Summer, however, he is back at working in the city and when I mentioned having someone come in to cut the lawn his other New England trait (let's call it 'thrift') shot up and gave me the oddest look. So, if I could convince him that I'll 'cut the grass' I'll spurn the riding loud tractor mower and let it grown and happily push my little electric do dad about making paths to my delight. We shall see...

I love a good rainy Sunday. We have had good rainy days in that we get some good heavy rain, it lets up for me to slip out and build a fence or add a wooden border rail and then starts up and I am back indoors with a hot cuppa and some artwork. I'll not let Mother nature ruin it for me, I'll just let her make my Spring schedule, one less thing for me to think about :)

Sort:  

Calling the Stinkmeister a character is a bit of an understatement. She is really quite a cat. And I've had quite a few. So this isn't proud parent speak. Anyway, I babble rhapsodic about my odd little (fat) cat.
Her name is multi-fold. She started as Buttercup, when we first let her in the house, and that did not fit for long. She was a real butt-head to all the other cats of the area. So, being a Stinker, started it all off. Then, as time went on, and we got to know her better, we realized her breath DOES really stink. In a rather odd, pleasant way. (But she IS an FIV cat, so that might have something to do with it.) And, when she uses the litter box, it looks like a Rottweiler has been in to visit. Not sure WHY, but true. Though she doesn't stick around to discuss much. Just jumps up, does a little spin, and runs off from the box. Not sure WHAT that's all about. We call it a visit from the poop monster. I could go on and on about my child, but guess I'll stick to, she is Stinky the Cat.

I love that you name your plants as well. If you can't name your bushes after famous TV personalities, what can you do? Maybe we are an odd bunch, but I'm convinced it's just jealousy.

If you can convince W.A. about the lawn (I still want to call him Dubya A, though that might be too close to GW, our past president- EXT.) Anyway, can convince him of the lawn, it would be fun. We do that here. Many paths through the grass. The secret is...you have to rent a pretty big mower in the fall. To knock it down. Or pay someone with a sickle mower. (Think they're illegal now, not sure). Or have a big weedeater with the grass killer blade. (Inquiries within).
But it is SO fun to have paths and beautiful grass in between. The 3-5 foot stuff is gorgeous. You Englander's know what you're all about. Do you have a tick problem though? That might be an issue. I know you have some nasty ones out your way. Though they may not live right on the Ocean.

Enjoy your day tomorrow gardening, drawing and making things. What a life we lead. Do you think you'll get any more snow? Hope not. I have a snow post to get out, I think I better hurry. Sigh. Have a good night, if you're goofy enough to still be on here. Doubtful at best. G'night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18