Invest in LEGO and get better ROI, than investing in Gold!

in #investing6 years ago

Value of LEGO is growing every year, ROI is even higher than investing in gold.

Lego.jpg

So everybody wants to invest in crypto nowadays or in stock markets or gold, but what about LEGO? I did a little research about LEGO investing, and I would like to introduce you some of the interesting facts about this investment and give you some guidelines if you would like to invest on your own.

  • More than 2.500% increase in value of some collectible sets. (in last 15 years)
  • Lego Statue Of Liberty (3450) from the year 2000 it cost about 200$ is now worth more than 5.000$
  • Each year LEGO sells so many bricks that you could surround the earth many times.
  • For collectable LEGO sets, there is an average of 12% of yearly ROI (return of investment)

So for the last 15 years, it was better to invest in LEGO than in GOLD. Investment in Lego made about 12% yearly but gold made only 10%. Most of the lego sets that were bought two or three years ago, you can already found on eBay for more than 30% higher price!

  • Millenium Falcon from Star Wars movie is selling for about 4.500$ online.
  • Unopened Eiffel tower is selling for about 3.300$

you can check for more prices on a website: https://www.bricklink.com/v2/main.page

Statue of liberty from the year 2000, is now worth about 5.000$ 😎

4183855.png

YOU ARE NOT TOO LATE!
Most interesting thing is that most of the sets from higher prices are from new sets manufactured in the 21st century.
So you can still get some of those high-value sets and save them for year or two.

Here are some examples:

  • Caffe Corner from the year 2007 was priced at 89,99$ and is now worth about 2350$
  • Market street from the year 2007 was priced at 59,99$ and is now worth about 690$
  • The Batboat: Hunt for Killer Croc from the year 2006 was priced at 14.99$ and is now worth about 250$

51Iua7jxM9L._SL500_AC_SS350_.jpg

51HAP4FDEXL.jpg

WHAT TO DO NEXT?

There are also a lot of Star Wars sets, Exclusive Edition sets, Movie theme sets,..... and many more with higher value.

What I would like to recommend to you is to do a little bit of your own research which sets have a higher value (just check eBay, Amazon, collector forums....).

Try to get this LEGO sets at your store for a lower price (wait for some sales, use some coupons if you can, try to ask at your country distributor, anything.....).

You can also check some online stores not dedicated especially to LEGO items, you might find some of them at flea market (but make sore that set is complete if the box is damaged legos will have lower value). Collectors want complete sets including instructions and in great condition, so if possible buy unopened sets, and do not open them!

I do not recommend you to invest all of your savings into LEGO, but personally, I think collecting LEGO (on long-term) is one of safest investment to make some extra money.


I am happy to help you with more answers. I will soon add some more posts. If you liked my post please upvote and follow. Thank you!

Sort:  

Hey @nunik!
I loved your post!
I am super LEGO collector, and fan. My best pieces are 2001 HP castle sealed, LEGO Green Grocer and the most exclusive one is the one in picture.
IMG_4952.jpg
I started a really big project as well, the LEGO around the world series through Architecture!
Feel free to have a look at it here.
Have a nice day!
Luca ✌️

I have checked your post, great post! I would love to see your finished project on LEGO Architecture!

Next post will be in a week or so, probably Eiffel Tower!
I am trying to gathering the most support possible, and I love to have the true LEGO fan out there!✌️
Thanks for appreciating the series @nunik

I love lego’s so much. I’m a 36 year old paramedic whose married with kids and I still buy sets, about 1 a month. Ive been doing the Star Wars sets the last year or so and Just built the Saturn V rocket yesterday. It helps me wind down. When the wife and kids are gone, ill pick an afternoon, sit down and assemble a set. A good healthy reset. I know that isn’t quite the point of your blog! Lol. But, on your point, their is an awesome STS space shuttle set with the main fuel tank and rocket boosters that came out about 5 years ago or so. I think it was a 100-150 then, now you cannot find it less than 400 bucks!!! Good read.

LEGO, I never know the value would go up so much. I would have kept all my childhood ones hahahaha

Me too :(

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 17.12% upvote!
I was summoned by nunik. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

hi @nunik , It's great post on investing! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work!
It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

hmm really interesting to see you observe this simple investment you sound inresting as well an bringing real value ......following u ok

This post has received a 2.14 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nunik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84