5 Interesting Investments Added to the Russell 2000 - One Month Later

in #investing6 years ago (edited)

5 Interesting Businesses.jpg

Having just checked in on my top 5 silver picks for 2018, I have decided to do a one month update for my recent article on five interesting companies being added to the Russell 2000 chart.

On June 22nd, these companies were officially added to the Russell 2000. This meant that the index funds that track it would be buyers of the new additions. I went through each company being added looking for good growth potential and a business plan that intrigued me.

By following catalysts like this, you can really buy in before the big wave of institutional buying begins. Then all you have to do is sit back and ride the wave!

So now it is 30 days later, how is the wave doing? Or have I just wiped out?

My Number 5 Pick - 22nd Century Group (XXII)

WAS: $2.29
NOW: $2.75

UP 20%

They are able to increase or decrease nicotine and cannabinoids in tobacco and marijuana plants through genetic engineering.

My Number 4 Pick - ShotSpotter (SSTI)

WAS: $35.99
NOW: $41.34

UP 14.8%

This company is in an interesting niche of gunshot detection service.

My Number 3 Pick - ChromaDex (CDXC)

WAS: $3.61
NOW: $4.56

UP 26.3%

This company makes an anti-aging pill that really seems to work. After researching this stock, I was intrigued and purchased for myself a two month supply.

It's almost been a month and I will soon write about my experiences with TRU NIAGEN.

My Number 2 Pick - ROKU Inc. (ROKU)

WAS: $41.46
NOW: $48.76

UP 17.6%

I expect ROKU to drop off the Russell 2000 chart next year. Not because it is going to fail, but because they are growing so fast now! They only missed out being in the next higher chart by a few hundred million.

My Number 1 Pick - Amyris (AMRS)

WAS: $5.39
NOW: $6.71

UP 24.5%

I really think this could be a long-term huge winner.

Conclusion

5 for 5! And all with very decent gains for just one month.

If you are interested in reading about these potential investments I urge you to read my initial article here: https://steemit.com/investing/@getonthetrain/5-interesting-investments-mined-from-the-upcoming-russell-2000-additions

(It is one that I normally earn over $100 for on Seeking Alpha, but I only posted it here on Steemit for you guys)

Don't think you missed the boat as you have not. Like I said, I picked those companies being that had strong long-term growth vectors.

Did you end up buying any of these stocks after my initial article?

Sort:  

Did you end up buying any of these stocks after my initial article?

No, i will no longer touch stocks with a 12 foot pole.
Things like DTCC failure to deliver
and high speed trading
and that you don't own anything
I feel that the stock market is a bad place to invest for any long terms.

I hear ya but this is the game we are born into. I invest in pretty much every category of investments.

@getonthetrain can money be made yes of course, but I would rather keep my money in physical than stocks..............

I do both and have no worries about either. :D

I had no idea of the existence of the Russell 2000.

I had not seen your initial article, so I did not buy anything, I'm not very good at making investments, I tried Wall Street simulators for a while, as with cryptocurrencies, everything goes down after I've bought, and everything goes up after I've sold, I have no ability to invest.

Haha, yeah, happens to us all - especially ME!

Front running the mutual funds is generally a winning strategy.

nice job

Yeah, especially with those companies that are in intriguing business niches.

Ok... now i gotta check out that TRU NIAGEN stuff! If i start to take it now at the age of 24 i'll probably live forever! XD

Haha, who knows. It did lengthen the lives of lab rats in a study.

Did you end up buying any of these stocks after my initial article?

No, i will no longer touch stocks with a 12 foot pole.
Things like DTCC failure to deliver
and high speed trading
and that you don't own anything
I feel that the stock market is a bad place to invest for any long terms.

Congratulations @getonthetrain! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84