Intro from USAF retiree, now civilian, living in Japan

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemers! I'm Teresa, user name LovingItInJapan

I'm so excited to be here. I discovered SteemIt from Jeff Berwick's videos so checked it out and just thought "WOW"...this is great! I hope to share some articles about my travels, which were many during my 25 years with the US Air Force, and then continue with my experiences while living on an Air Force base in Japan, this time as a civilian! I've been very slow at learning the language, but plan to ramp up my efforts this summer.

When I retired from the military, we owned a 14.5 acre farm in Alabama where we raised milk goats and chickens, I made goats milk soap and other body care products and thought I'd start doing that full time, while home schooling my 5 year old. But events happened (5 year old didn't want to be home schooled) that led me to go back to work for the Air Force as a civilian while still living on the farm. However, a few years later, my husband of 14 years decided that Florida was his "happy place" and that I'd never leave the farm...which he had grown to hate. So we put in the paperwork for a mutual consent divorce and I saw the job for Japan come up on the USAJobs site. I decided right then that I wasn't done with adventures, and had never been to Japan, so why not? Well, I GOT the JOB! I still own the farm in Alabama and have caretakers on it now, I love Harleys, and my #1 one motto is "Life is a Journey, not a destination".

So here I am in Japan with my now teenage daughter, Bri, and I'm just starting to learn about cryptocurrencies which is opening up a whole new world for me. Thank you for letting me be part of this "Steemy" society!!
[Screenshot 2017-06-29 20.09.18.png]

()

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @lovingitinjapan!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Welcome to Steemit @lovingitinjapan ! I hope you will enjoy your stay here!
I too was intrigued to join here through the @dollarvigilante and I guess it is a good way to be hardworking and get paid through content creation, which requires creativity. LOL.
I have never been to Japan, so I guess it will be very interesting to see Japan through a foreigner's eyes.
I am really not understanding why Florida is a happy place ... the traffic jam I heard is far worse than other metropolitan cities around the world.
By the way, I reside in Malaysia. Hot, humid, 365 Summer with monsoon but tons of good food and diverse culture.
upvoted

Thank you @littlenewthings for the welcome! I've discovered I'm very happy being on my own now, so it was a blessing in disguise.

Welcome to steemit, you will like it here. Be sure and read as much as possible about this big ol pond full of us minnows🐓 I am also a USAF vet- thanks for your service.

Thank you @mother2chicks! I have a 4 day weekend ahead of me so I definitely plan on spending a great deal of time on here and learn more, maybe post some more, who knows? Thank you for your service too!

Welcome! Up voted and followed! What was your AFSC?

@steemblake, I was mostly Acft Maintenance, both as enlisted and then officer, but also some Logistics Plans, which helped get me my Civilian job as a Logistics Manager now.

So glad that you are part of the Steemit community! I found Steemit from reading about in Jeff Berwick's Dollar Vigilante also. Can't wait to see your posts on living in Japan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97