Introduce a STEEMian: @dylansmith

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

steemtwitter.jpg

Introduce a STEEMian: @dylansmith

In the next few weeks I am going to create a series of posts introducing members of the STEEM community that I have referred. Over the course of my STEEM career I have become very evangelistic about the platform and I try to recruit as many new STEEMians as possible in my every day life. Unfortunately, STEEM does not have a built in referral system, so it can be hard to keep track of the members you introduced. Currently I use an Excel spreadsheet where I keep a running tally.

In the first segment of my 'Introduce a STEEMian' series, I would like to introduce you to the legendary @dylansmith! I met @dylansmith while I was Promoting STEEM in the Dominican Republic during the Dominican Holidaze Music Festival. It was the end of the weekend and the last show on the Main Stage (Joe Russo's Almost Dead) just finished. As I was walking away from the stage I noticed a cell phone sitting in the sand. I picked it up and raised it high in the air, looking for the rightful owner. I recently lost my cellphone in Lisbon during @steemfest, so I know how painful that would be. The next thing I know a group of Ninja Turtles came up to me (as seen below, @dylansmith is Leonardo)...

steeeeeeeemrgerg.JPG

The phone belonged to Michelangelo. Upon giving her the phone back I realized the turtles were Australian (a rarity in the Jam Band scene, almost like seeing a Unicorn.... I was shocked). I would've given the group a handful of STEEM Cards, but it was the end of the weekend and I was all out by then. I went and grabbed some more drinks from the homie @kelvinflow23 and then went up to the late-night Wolf+Lamb DJ set.

While I was dancing to Wolf+Lamb, I looked over and saw the group of Ninja Turtles next to me. At this time it was roughly 3 AM and the last night of the festival, most of the festival-goers including my friend @kirm-it were sleeping and the ones that were still going were similar to zombies. I didn't plan on ending until the music stopped. I went up to Leonardo (@dylansmith) and asked him what brought a group of Australians to Holidaze. He told me they were there to see Wolf+Lamb (a group of Australian electronic music producers). We talked a bit about Melbourne's finest, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard and that was about it. The festival ended and we went home.

In the week following the festival, I saw a message in the Dominican Holidaze Facebook Group. It was the Ninja Turtles trying to link up with people they met over the course of the festival. I made a comment and became friends with @dylansmith on Facebook. The next thing I know, I see a status from @dylansmith saying that he has 'finally joined the new Twitter thing'... of course I saw it as my opportunity to drop the STEEM bomb.... and so I did.

Luckily, @dylansmith had some crypto-currency background before I made my comment, or else he probably would have been like 'what the fuck is this scam' and removed me from Facebook. Instead, he was very quick to embrace the power of STEEM and signed up instantly.

333333.png

A Post by @dylansmith

In the next weeks, @dylansmith dove head first into the STEEM community. He even bought some STEEM Power on the external markets and powered up his account. As I signed on to Facebook one morning I was thrilled to see an EPIC post written by @dylansmith, in an attempt to persuade his friends to join STEEM. Read the post here or below:

Image-1 (3).jpg

333333.png

Follow @dylansmith

I highly encourage all of my followers to follow @dylansmith. He is going to be a valuable member of the STEEM community and I look forward to seeing the posts he has in store.

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

There are so many ways of introducing the idea of Steemit and the STEEM blockchain, and in my experience, for a quick hit, going down the "Zuckerberg gets rich off your content" line is always a great way to get people interested. Thanks for introducing @dylansmith, always nice to meet another Dylan (as I am too).

I like his explanation of facebook vs steem - never thought about it that way.

Yeah it was an awesome way of putting it! @dylansmith definitely has a good head on his shoulders

For sure :)
I gave him a follow so hopefully he will continue to put out good content.
I like what I see so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52