Promoting STEEM in the Dominican Republic

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Promoting STEEM in the Dominican Republic

Recently I made a post outlining my plan to promote STEEM in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic as inspired by @starkerz. I arrived back home last night and I would like to provide you with some amazing results from my expedition.

I was completely blown away from the acceptance and reaction I received when I presented these STEEM cards to the employees working at the resort. Everyone was thrilled to hear about this creative way of monetizing time on the internet. I created a list of e-mail addresses from those that wished to learn more, and I will be sending out an e-mail with helpful tips and info about the site.

Over the course of the weekend I handed out over 100 STEEM cards to people throughout the festival. Most of the cards went to Dominican locals, but I made sure to distribute some to fellow festival goers as well.

Here are some pictures of some happy future STEEMians in Punta Cana:

IMG_0064.jpg

IMG_0078.jpg

IMG_0077.jpg

IMG_0076.jpg

My friend @kirm-it hopped in for a group picture

IMG_0068.jpg

IMG_0089.jpg

IMG_0048.JPG

IMG_0107.jpg

Kelvinator

Above is a picture of me and my new friend Kelvin (I was rockin' an EOS shirt from @futuristgear]. Kelvin made the best Miami Vice's on the beach. Kelvin and I linked up on Facebook to discuss STEEM. He already is in the process of awaiting verification as you can see below. Hopefully it will go quickly for him!

Image-1.jpg

333333.png

Overall it was a very successful trip to the Dominican Republic. I distributed many cards and every single person accepted it with great joy. Spreading STEEM to people who can greatly benefit from it felt really good to the soul. The Dominican Republic is an impoverished country. Many people struggle to make a living on that island. As long as these people have access to the internet, they will have the ability to supplement their income with crypto-currencies like STEEM.

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

Great work! It would be good if the card contained some tips on how to use Steemit e.g not just go around writing "nice post". That way newcomers might have a slightly better idea about how to use the platform and not get bored early on after getting no results and the inistial enthusiasm wearing off.

This is really awesome work! you have inspired me to think about where to take my next holiday and what to do on the trip!

Great Job I found this article by searching hashtag dominican republic. Glad you enjoyed your trip I love my country, can't wait to go back soon.

I love your country and the people there too! I hope to visit again someday! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

Awesome stuff Jeff!

I like the shirt in the last pic. ;-)

Amazing work, Jeff! I'm pretty sure, that lots of those will join once they realize, that they can make a living by posting on Steemit. (And we will have a lot great images for #beachwednesday in the near future.) Steem on!

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.
@jeffjagoe we believe that you have done a great job here and that you deserve to be rewarded for you work but unfortunately we have to follow Utopian rules so thank you for understanding and we hope to see contributions from you promoting open source projects in the future .

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Good job!Thats was a cool idea!I also can’t not notice how amazingly beautiful it is there!Seriously such a nice place, people should know about the opportunity Steemit gives.Well done☺️

Outstanding post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

I also did that in London and Reykjavik... haha
I ll do in every place I ll visit

Great job @jeffjagoe, I hope they all join! It's awesome to see the world change little by little with something so simple as that.

It really felt so good to see that they were ALL so enthusiastic about it. I'm still in touch with many that are awaiting verification!

Well, they all look enthusiastic anyway. Maybe people in poor countries are more receptacle to any opportunity to better their lives. I started a facebook group that now has about 38 (selected) members and it's only slowly getting somewhere. They're all interested, but that's about it. Two signed up so far...I don't know what it is. But what I do know is that they're all going to regret not jumping up and just doing it right now...

yeah it’s crazy that some people can have such a good opportunity in front of their face but not even have the ability to see that it exists..

Very true. I asked at some point what I could do for them to get them to sign up. I even showed them my wallet! My trades, for those who don't know about crypto and more..still nothing. It's crazy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30