Hello, my dear Steemians! It's Introduction Time!!! Guess who's half Latvian & half Russian living in Denmark? ^_^

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

You guessed it right: meeeeeee!!!! ^_^


So, first of all, thank you for being curious enough to want to know me!
In fact, not only I want to introduce myself, I encourage you to introduce yourself in one sentence. Can you do that within 8-10 words that (according to you) define you and your values in life in the most accurate way? :P

If that's too much, you don't have to do it. I understand that it sounds almost like homework.
Keep on reading and maybe by the end of this story you'll want to share yours in an essence.
Hey, Steemit, it's Liga here!

So...

Who Am I?
My name is Liga. I'm a blonde blue-eyed girl from Latvia.
I grew up bilingual (Russian & Latvian) and that definitely helped me grow into a person that I am today as I was able to take part in both cultures and watch them clash right in front of my eyes pretty much all of my life while living in Latvia. If you don't know what I am talking about, I can elaborate on that in another post (just let me know if that's interesting cause I wouldn't know). :)

This is where Latvia is on a Map

What's my Story?
I was born in Riga (capital of Latvia), although I would spend my Summers in countryside, where I'd do all the things that city girls wouldn't be able to relate to (milking cows, digging potatoes, taking care of chicken, go fishing...you get the picture). :) So I am a somewhat mix between a city girl and a country girl. For example, I am terrrrrrified of spiders but I love going into woods to collect blueberries.

I was doodling and drawing ever since I can remember myself, and my mum was very supportive of that, so I got to attend an art school for kids/teens while I was in school.

Additionally, I also started dancing (before I even went to school), it was ballet in various places, and then one day my mum took me to (back then probably the closest classes to) hip hop dance and I lllloved it! Danced throughout my childhood different styles, performed too...if you wish, I can make an entire post about that journey (let me know in comments). I could even add pictures and dig out some videos if possible :D

One of my passions during my childhood was English language.
I took extra effort in learning English on my own. One of the motivations (or let's be real - the first motivation back then) was Michael Jackson's songs! I really wanted to know what he was singing about. So, I got my mum investing into extra English tutoring and other English classes, which helped me a great deal, to say the least.

Later on I got hold of Harry Potter books and I wanted to read them in English, so I became best friends with my fat English-Latvian dictionary. :) This is another real life example that kids can learn stuff if only they have a genuine motivation...but we can talk about that in another post as well, if you wish. ;)

Where am I now?
I live in Denmark, Copenhagen city.
From Latvia to Denmark on a Map
I moved here by accident...and if you're curious to know how exactly, I can tell you about that too. ;)

What did I study?
I studied English Philology for one academic year in Latvia, then I did
- Academic Program in Multimedia Design and Communication in Denmark, as well as
- BA in Digital Concept Design and
- MSc. in Operations and Innovation Management.

What do I do now?
I am a creative Comic Artist. I create stories around the main character which basically is the exaggerated copy of me,lol. Her name is Pin Key and you'll know more about her in my future posts.
My Comic Character Pin Key

Additionally, I am developing my strategy on how entrepreneurs could utilize visuals such as my comics to present their message/post/announcement to their target audience in order to catch attention visually. I think that not many people realize the potential of comics, and I am going to do something about that. :)

Other Activities?
I'm very passionate about

  • Pole Dancing -and let me clarify before you assume anything- first of all, I am not good at it (yet)!!! I started this sport just recently in March, so I'm a total newbie, nevertheless, I moved to Level 2 recently so I guess I'm doing something right! :D Secondly, pole dance is not equal to stripping. I just wanted to mention that in case any of you were wondering. There are many misconceptions and assumptions about this sport (yes, it's a sport like CrossFit only more fun, lol), but I won't go into that now.

  • Graphic Design - although my current focus is specifically on logo designs and photo editing. Basically, if you need to look pretty on a picture, but for some reason you don't, I'm the one to turn to and with my magic touch on Photoshop I can fix whatever needs fixing, so you can frame that picture and hang it on a wall :D

  • Photography - I know, I already mentioned that I am awesome at editing picture, but I also enjoy taking pictures, although I am far from a pro, I'm an amateur who can get carried away by taking pictures of people and nature, especially macro pictures! I like capturing moments, being invisible if possible.


Why am I here?
I want to share my comic art with the world. My mission is to bring smiles to people and brighten their day even if just for a second. So, I found out that steemit is one way to do it or at least one step closer to reaching as many people as possible.

What content will I share here?
I'm eager to share my comics and the stories behind. I will listen to what you, guys & gals, would be interested in, and try to deliver according to that, but in general, I will just follow my gut feeling and share whatever comes along (worth sharing). :)
I also would like to tell my stories. My experience with people, traveling, cultural differences, concepts and ideas about...stufffff :P

As the last thing I wanted to add "Strange Facts About Me", but then I thought that maybe I should wrap up and leave this for later, because it will just get way too loooong of a post (if it isn't already)! :D

So that's "shortly" about ME - the Comic Artist, Liga! :))

Congratulations for those of you who made it till the end of this post!
I admire your patience!
It also probably means my story was engaging enough to keep you this long. *shameless self-praise*
Let me know if there's something I forgot to cover yet you'd like to know.

And now...
it's your turn to say Hi back :)
We can also keep it simple if you just tell me
Who you are and where you are from. 

Sort:  

Hi I am Jack, from Ghana in Africa
You are most welcom, enjoy your stay here. I am happy to be the first person to welcom you and reply. I will follow you.

Thank you, Jack! So nice to meet you! Wow, you're from Ghana! That's awesome!!! I will check your posts tomorrow morning...it is so late now :D And thank you for reading my post!

Welcome to Steem @comicsbyliga I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you @bottymcbotface, I really appreciate that! I already checked out a few of your posts (and left a comment) ^_^

Welcome on Steemit cosmicsbyliga and have fun!

Wow, thank you teamsteem! I checked out your profile and posts. You're here since May 2016!? That's crazy!!! And amazing! I will definitely read some of the posts about steemit and how to utilize it yet stay true to self with quality posts, because, honestly, I am not entirely sure I understand the whole concept just yet :D

Welcome to Steemit! You seem to be an interesting character and I like your drawings. I've added you and am looking forward to your comics and stories! Enjoy your ride ;)


Important: You should use the tag #introduceyourself to reach more people! You can edit your post and use it instead of #first for example.

hey, @steemchiller ! Thank you soo much for the tip! I saw that I missed that tag but didn't notice that I can edit my post! I added the tag :) Let's see if it helps ^_^

Hi @comicsbyliga

aufkmd.jpg

I think you should definitely post your dance videos and let us see.
also I like drawing and sketching and I wanna see your works too.
You-arre-not-alone-Set-Michael-Jackson-michael-jackson-23712755-841-1184-e1439795117386.jpg
In a time I was living in Michael Jackson's World. he is my inspiration too. but more in music. cause I feel him more in his musics and the way he sing with that Voice , his voice is like Kurt Cobain , I mean for Harsh sound.
I learnt English with american movies and musics too. LOL.
and too I like where you live , I like woods , it reminds me of this movie :
into-the-wild-400x444.jpg
by the way I forgot to tell you , I am from Iran and I am glad to meet you.
Best wishes ,
Davood Faramarzi

Hello, David!!! Wow,from Iran!? I know a few people who are from Iran, but live here in Denmark.
Unfortunately, Denmark doesn't have a lot of land covered with forests...in fact, I think the percentage is really tiny compared to Latvia. Latvia actually is known for being rich with woods. I don't know how the situation is right now because in recent years many people cut down the trees a lot for money.

Either way, so nice to know you also appreciate MJ's music! :)
I will see how the videos can be embedded in the posts and maybe I will show you some embarrassing dancing of the little me :D

Thank you Liga , you live in a good place . and about video , it's easy you can upload a video on youtube and copy the link and paste it in your post everywhere that you like. and as steemchiller said you should use introduceyourself to your first tag , unfortunately you can't add another first tag with edit and you should do it in another post , you can later write another introduce yourself if you want people of steemit see it better. and if you like you can add more things.

Thanks, David! I thought so. :) Oh well, I will have to see what tags to use for my next post that are most relevant and trending. I guess people just click on them on the side bar where all the tags appear including introduceyourself, colorchallenge etc.

hello @comicsbyliga, is a pleasure to meet you, your post is really really interesting, and sincerely i learned about Latvia, I will hope follow your future publication. :-)

Hola, Denny! You're from Colombia!? Wow, I love how people from around the world can connect these days! Still amazed by it :) Thank you for the compliment! I am glad you enjoyed my writing. I did my best ^_^ (I really did!)

Welcome! Latvia ist my next travelling Destination. Sadly you don't live there anymore. 😋
Edit: Ben from Germany ☺️

Hi, and thank you!! I can see you're from Germany! That's not far from Denmark! :) I used to learn German back in school...for 8 years I think. But then I moved to Denmark and I had to suppress my German and make it a passive language because I was mixing it with Danish a lot and it wouldn't let me learn Danish properly. But I can still read German. I understand quite a bit. I think I could re-learn it if I spent half a year in Germany :)

Then maybe you could learn by reading my posts haha :)
I can imagine that it's hard to learn both languages. Everytime i hear people speaking danish i am not sure if they are english, or german.. or maybe from the netherlands? I think danish is quite a mix from many languages, isn't it? ☺️

That is very true. They say that Danish sounds like a mix of German and English (and probably Dutch as well) being pronounced with a hot potato in your mouth, basically :D Not a pretty language, I'll admit.

Welcome to steemit @comicsbyliga.
Follow me
image

Thank you, ichsan!!

Great introduction and welcome to Steemit. My name is Peter and I am from Germany (Munich). Viele Grüße enter image description here

Thank you, Peter! Yay, more from Germany!!! And that cool signature!!! How did you add it? Do you just add a link of a picture or is it preset in some settings? Looks awesome! :)

Hi Liga, there is no preset! To integrate a signature is actually quite simple. You can scan your signature either with a smartphone or with a desktop scanner. Just make sure you scale the picture down to around 30 Pixel height and also make sure the background is totally white (or use the transparent PNG Format). For the signature at the end of my posts, I use a height of around 50 Pixel. Have a nice day! enter image description here

As you learned German for eight years, when being at school, here is my recent post for you to practice some German :-) Color Challenge Gelb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54