Introduce Myself

in #introducingmyself7 years ago (edited)

So who am I?
Ok so my name is Andy and at the time of writing I am a 35 year bloke from the UK living in Bulgaria. Really I am just your average guy who has a dream and would like to fulfil it. Originally I always wanted to build my own house with my own hands, but living in the UK unless you have bags of cash, have the bank of mum and dad to help you, or are willing to wait till you are well into your 40's or 50's it isn't really achievable anymore. Also unless you have a really well paying job (or your missus does) it is not really a reality for most average Joe's anymore, which is a crying shame but hey that's the UK today. Also I didn't fancy working 6 or 7 days a week every week anymore, so I needed to start looking for an alternative, I didn't want my life to be all about working and paying bills just to keep up with Jones', nor did I want all the fancy things in life (not saying I would be unhappy if I won the lottery though), so living and working in the UK had become a big no thanks in my book, so now to chose what to do.
So after some lengthy discussions with the missus over a few years, we eventually agreed on Bulgaria, (you can read about our first time in Bulgaria here ). Now my only stipulation with our new house was somewhere that I could have a workshop and a man cave, ideally I wanted an oak frame barn, and something with character so that I can keep the rustic look (I hate modern), so that is what this website is about.
Now I will never profess to be a master builder, carpenter, electrician, plumber, roofer, in fact any sort of craftsman, but I do really enjoy DIY and reusing something for a whole new purpose, now before you think I've turned into one of those renovation shows in America, I really haven't, I can enjoy some of the ideas that they come up with but at the same time I don't have a ton of cash just sitting there doing nothing, nor would I want to let someone else do all the work for.
So after spending nearly two years trawling the internet for man cave projects, I quickly came to the realisation that there are hardly any normal guys out there doing this, yes there is the odd guy who has done something himself, but in general it is just page after page of the same old home renovation show projects, where a ton of money and contractors have been used, I was just struggling to find anything that I would like or want.
For instance I'm not into baseball (or rounders' as it should be called), and American football isn't something that interests me, after all it is just a bunch of pansies trying to play Rugby, but having to wear body armour so they don't get hurt, so as you can see the vast majority of what I was seeing just would not suit my needs.
So I figured, bugger it, I'll make my own site so that I can monitor my progress, along with all the screw ups that I might make, I'm not expecting every project to be perfect (luckily I'm after the rustic look), and I'm aiming to avoid off the shelf options as much as possible, so everything I make, I'll document, and feel free to let me know your opinions, I am still learning so there are bound to be things that I could have done better, I actively encourage it, as I say if I knew everything then this site would be an encyclopaedia of how to make a man cave, not a blog on my efforts.
So what else am I?
Well I'm roughly 15 - 16 stone and a beer belly (but I don't drink anymore), so don't expect me to be doing much roofing (I break tiles), I'm too much of a fat git to be on a roof.
Going bald and grey with big ears - so don't expect many selfies - I don't want to scare the crap out of you
Not particularly humorous ( my missus always says that I have no sense of humour), so if you find anything that I write mildly entertaining, then that is scary sh*t, because that means we are on the same wavelength, and I'm yet to meet anyone with the same sense of humour as me.
Clumsy as hell, been back in Bulgaria 2 months and so far cracked my head more times than I can count, cut my legs a few times, cut my hand with a hand saw, done my ankle in, done my back in, broken tiles, and the list goes on and on, so if you are expecting completely perfect looking work, then I would recommend you go find the contractor guys in the USA as that really isn't me.
I'm not very good at really fiddly jobs nor can I do anything by eye, both from the joys of playing a proper sport (Rugby) and get numerous injuries, so I'm tape measure with everything and even then still might be a few mil out.
So why a man cave?
If you have to ask this question then you are not a real man, and you really shouldn't be reading this blog, but if you want to know why I want a man cave, then keep reading.
I love heavy metal - another reason for me wanting the man cave so I can escape and play the angry men music (as my sister in law puts it) to my hearts content and the volume I want to play it at - now what guy doesn't want the ability to listen to their music when they want, without being disturbed by Justin dipshit Bieber or some other random crap coming from the other room.
Back in the UK I used to love going to car boot sales and antique shops with the missus looking for bargains and items to kit my man cave out with. I must admit that I became quite knowledgeable on the subject of Shabby Chic (something the wife and sister in law are into in a big way), but it went both ways, my missus has a great eye and was soon finding random bits and bobs that I might have missed, so I have accrued quite a collection of posters, pictures, memorabilia, bar stuff, etc, etc.
I wanted my own pool table, yeah I know a cliché, but I used to have one in our dining room at an old house we lived in, and I always wanted one again, but this time I wanted the right amount of space to be able to play it, without banging into walls all the sodding time. Off the back of that I quite fancied a poker table, which on a bargain hunting mission, we located a full size one and a small briefcase full of chips, (still figuring out where to fit it in yet).
I also wanted my own bar, it can't be a man cave without a bar, can it?
I needed a workshop, not just so that I can make projects for the missus, sister in law and around the house, but also so that when they are doing their crafty stuff, I can escape to my little space and do manly things with power tools (yeah heaven I know).
So that has given you a little insight into who I am and my reasoning, oh and below is the one and only selfie I'll put on here.

Kineq9qXT.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to Steem @andysmancave I have upvoted and sent you a tip

I would change the tag from introduceingmyself to introduceyourself if I were you. I think it will get a lot more views and rewards that way.

thanks for the advice jimbobbill, still learning here and getting the hang of everything :)

Nice to be your friend here at Steemit <3 ! The community needs cool people like you :)
I already upvoted and followed you to see all of your future blogs!
I wish you more followers and friends!
Don't forget to follow me too @apple64 so that we can be friend forever :D

thanks @apple64 really appreciate your response, especially as I'm still finding my feet :)

Welcome to steemit Andy! Btw I am curious what do you think of Bulgaria as I am bulgarian myself.

Absolutely love the country and the people, it is a far better way of life here than in the UK, and the people are much more friendly and welcoming, can't imagine myself living anywhere else. thanks for the welcome @bmwaso

Welcome to steemit! Upvoted and followed (y) Check my profile, there are lots of guides and hacks for newbies ;)

hello @andysmancave


you are very much welcome to steemit,a one of its kind in the history of social networks. i will like to share with you some lessons i learnt the hard way.

First,write on your area of strength, don't strugle more to get topics to write on, but when you write based on what you know/do well at, that becomes your brand and fellow steemians will know what to expect from you on every post.


don't beg for followers.


When people follow you on a quip pro quo basis, that's the foundation of not getting upvotes and comments because many of your followers didn't do so because they wanted what you have to offer but rather they are just there as numbers. #don't go for numbers, but value.


When i joined, after my intro post. i went low kay and started engaging with people on their posts and comments and like that,i was getting people that truly liked me for me. i must note that at some post as a newbie, i outrightly asked people to follow me but that was before i learned that it was one of the unwritten rule of steemit;don't beg for followers.


Again,paticipate in contests, it will conect you to people and probably, earn you some steem/steem dollar. and always try to leave a good comment on people's posts. this dose wonders. check out this contest[clickhere]https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@literature-trail/fifty-word-story-contest-week-20-race-join-for-a-chance-to-win-1000-trail-and-40-sbd

Finally, learn to engage. Get the esteem app on your phone so that after writing and posting with your pc,you can now use your phone and respond to replys on the go. This will help you build your followers.>/h4>

I hope that this piece will be of grate help to you as it has been for me[though i learnt the hard way]. Follow them and thank me later. : )

once more, you are welcome.

@arizonawise.

Whats up @andysmancave, welcome to steemit
Best of luck to your blog, check mine out. Don't forget to up vote.

Welcome to the community. your introduction was very nice. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47