Hi steemit! I'm webmink

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Well hello there. I'm delighted to discover steemit - remarkably I proposed just such a blockchain-based system to colleagues back in 2014.

I've been in the computer industry for over 40 years and I've worked at a bunch of big companies. More recently, I was in charge of open source software at Sun Microsystems and supervised the open-sourcing of Java, Solaris and the rest of Sun's software just in time to save some of it from Oracle.

Since then I have been volunteering as a director at the Open Source Initiative (OSI - where I was president for three years too) and at The Document Foundation (who make LibreOffice) and at the UK's Open Rights Group, while freelancing both as a writer (especially at InfoWorld but also at ComputerWorld and for Linux Magazine) and as a management consultant. It's hard to get paid for writing and consulting around open source, so I experimented with alternatives like Patreon and BitCoin.

I'll post things I think this community will find interesting and hope you all agree! Thanks for having me!

3586259917_b813a8a56d_z.jpg
(I was surprised to find my picture on the check-in decor at JavaOne in 2009!)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @webmink I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi there, welcome to the community. You have an impressive set of skills. You can be an asset in the platform. An asset that will be greatly rewarded.

Many thanks! It's always hard to get started in a new community so I appreciate the comment.

With the knowledge that you have, things around steemit will be much easier for you :)

Welcome Webmink to Steemit ! Glad to see you. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Thanks for the welcome!

welcome welcome, come one come all! :)

Many thanks for the warm welcome!

Hi webmink. Welcome to steem community! Great post, I will follow you. Please follow me too at @gaman

I sent you a small TIP $$$. Hope you appreciate it.

Thanks, and thanks for the tips!

Welcome - I'm a newbie too :) Sure you are gonna rock it here on steemit.
@steemmeupscotty

Thanks! I appreciate the encouragement.

Hi webmink. Welcome to steem community! Great post, I will follow you. Please follow me too at @gaman

I sent you a small TIP $$$. Hope you appreciate it.

Welcome to Steemit, @webmink!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Just follow and resteem this post if your steem.power is zero i will upvote your one post
upvote this post then comment your post link which you want should I upvote it
If you not following me you should follow me then do it
https://steemit.com/upvote/@crypto-booster/upvoting-started-followers
Welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42