Visualise a Vivid Life - My Aussie Intro to SteemItsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

And suddenly, you realize that you're a full fledged fucking grown up...

122303-120742.jpg

Your bills are stacked in a threat against your stability ('Okay sure, consider it paid. WHAT! My $700 car rego is due tomorrow too? SHIT'), those credit cards you told yourself you'd never ever have suddenly seem like healthy choices moving forward ('I'm definitely not getting myself into any debt, this is for credit rating purposes only. You know, to buy that house one day that I never really wanted') and the boss that was steadily munching away at your soul decides to throw you out on your ass in a power trip that slips her best friend into your desk instead. Right. What now?

[Insert 17 SnapChat selfies that have the power to literally desolate an entire evening]

Pics.jpg

No. Life. REAL life. Not mundane, comfortable, 'this isn't so bad, I'll work both jobs until I'm confident to live my true passions' kind of life. But real, exciting, shit-scary 'I'm responsible for myself and now my skills have the opportunity to get the bills paid' kind of life. A much more expressive, experimental and elaborate VIVID life.

My name is Jess and I'm 26 years old. I live in the most beautiful city, in the most beautiful country in the world and have recently had the 'rug' pulled out from under me. I was working as a gym manager 5-days a week and teaching as a yoga instructor before and after work, on weekends and practically in my sleep. I have two degrees in Psychological Science and an education debt the size of a mini van. And to be honest, losing my job (for the first time ever by the way) has been the best thing that ever happened to me. I now find myself wondering 'how the hell did I have time for a job before? My days are so BUSY!'

I would have NEVER left the insidious comforts of my day job to pursue my real passions. I hid behind all kinds of bullshit excuses - 'I don't want to make my passion pay for my life, I just want it to stay a soulful hobbie', or 'I don't think I could survive solely on my yoga income at the moment, maybe when I have more classes', and better yet 'I'm comfortable with this double income right now, I am buying so much great shit!' All rubbish. Self-defeating, self-oppressive, boring rubbish. And the Universe knew it. Something greater than myself knew that I had settled and that I was meant for more. So it stuck it's foot in my back and kicked me off the precipice. Into the world without wings (or so I thought) to fly to my greatness or fall to my sudden death. And I most certainly didn't DIE from sudden joblessness...

Freelance-ecard.png

So here I am, friend referred, writing a creative piece on my life. Fueled by a messy journal, delicious caffeine and a hangriness for life.

Yes I'm a yogi, yes I swear, and YES I commit to healthy choices I know I will not keep. But here I am on a spiritual journey, living at the speed of life.

Peace out (do people even still say that?)

IMG_20170308_081748_713.jpg

Sort:  

Hello & Welcome to Steemit Jess,

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you !

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & Cheers

Thanks heaps :) lovely to meet you too! And cheers for the visit x

welcome! i just joined myself awhile ago. i'm sure you'll like it here :)

just don't be too discouraged by the lack of traction at the start. spend some time commenting on posts that interest you, make some meaningful connections. you'll see seeing results soon enough!

Welcome to Steemit @vividlife :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Followed. Good to see another local!

Man must be a small world haha

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprised you on August 1 ;)

Another Aussie!, Welcome to Steemit @vividlife !. The most beautiful city ?..oh, Adelaide ?. You know, losing my job over there led me to where i am now. which is a ton better. Much the same , I got to persue the thing i am good at and love doing, without a power tripping mother ffff..undamentally flawed boss doing what they do. i too would be stuck in the 9-5 grind. I hope you do well here, it seems like a really good community. All the best ~ Chris

Cheers Chris! I'm so stoked that someone else is out there making a soulful killing in this country. It's such a beautiful country and I don't want to waste my time here stuck inside making someone else money :P
I'll swing you a follow and keep it touch! Look forward to seeing more. Have a good one x

Welcome to Steem @vividlife I have sent you a tip

Thanks so much for the visit :)

Congratulations @vividlife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You are cordially welcome to the steemit community where you'll connect with many amazing people from all round the world.
Please feel free to check out and follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for amazing recipes.

Thank you :)

Mate could you like, not be on my social media platform aye.

Hahaha welcome jess

...I was here first.

Mate thats a blatant lie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50