Hi Steemit, I’m Trolzilla, an art student. Let me present you my short sci-fi comic!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi people of Steemit! I’m not sure how this website works and if you really get rewards for posting your work… But I want to give it a try.

I’m Trolzilla (it is my nickname obviously) a french girl living in Paris. This september I will integrate one a the major french art school ENSAD (école nationale des arts décoratifs) I’m very happy for that and cannot wait to start this new challenge :-) Meanwhile, I spend this summer working at an organic grocery store and… drawing!

Drawing is what I spend most of my time doing, so I think I’ll share with you what I am currently working on. It is a project called “AI — Assisted Intelligence” a small comic (maybe a futur short animation)

The story of my comic: "AI - Assisted Intelligence"

The story takes place in a not so far future at just 3–4 generations after ours. The main character is a lonely traveller who do everything by himself. As he travels, he stumbles upon a city where everything is managed by robots, AI… almost perfectly.

Almost, because when the night come, the whole city is plunged into darkness, but it doesn’t seem to matter to any citizen he met in this city. They all live this way for many years and seem to get used to it. A whole human generation lost their skills and knowledge on how things work around them and depends solely on robots.

The hero starts to investigate and discovers an automated factory of light bulbs. He then notices that the whole factory is trapped in a endless repetitive loop, because at the end of the chain, one robot, after verifying each bulb, sends them automatically to the recycle chain and then the loop restarts.

Trying to understand where is the bug in the assembly line, he found a flaw in the welding of the tungsten filament. He corrects it and then few minutes after, the factory starts to ship automatically new packages of light bulbs toward the city.

As he continues his journey far from the city, he notices with a little sense of satifaction behind him the city enlightened in the darkeness.

This story is in fact an adaption of a sequence from the book “The Mockinbird,” a marvelous science-fiction novel about AI that I highly recommend to you if you like sci-fi of course :-)

My drawings

Now here are some photographs of the current state of my work and myself. Below is how I organise my work. I put everything on the wall to get the big picture of what I have to do:

- on the left are the character designs (main character and robots workers)
- at the center, it is the storyboard
- on the right, it is the layout, background, environnent

Some close-ups of my character designs (a robot, the hero)

Some research on the environment of the story (the city and inside the factory)

Here is me currently making some research on the framing of each sequence

If you come to that point, thanks a lot for reading my story :-) I post from time to time on instagram and tumblr as well: https://www.instagram.com/trolzilla/ http://trolzilla.tumblr.com/ Trolzilla!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit and great work. I'm looking forward to seeing more of your work! :) I love the robot-character design ^_^

Very original, detailed and organized work.

Thank you celsius :-)

Excited to have you @trolzilla!
Steemit is growing every day!

Hey trolzilla,

nice to have you here on Steemit.
I am sure your art will be a great enrichment to all of us.

Looking forward to see more from you :)

thank you for your nice comment timsaid :)

You are welcome! I want everybody here to feel good

Upvotes for a fellow artist!

@calva Upvote the lady!

thanks a lot Klye!

Glad to have you!

👍amazing... Nice to meet u, keep ur jobs
Vote back https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@meteor78/steemit-into-my-book-diary thanks

Welcome to Steemit @trolzilla!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create AMAZING content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
Weenis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48