I hereby declare myself a Steemian!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello World!

My name is Travis and I'm a tornado-tauntin', bull-ridin', cactus-huggin' Texan currently living in the beautiful city of Austin. My excitement for the future of blockchain technology oscillates on a daily basis between irrational exhuberance and pee-my-pants anticipation. I heard about steemit through @bitcoinandcoffee and finally decided to check it out. Needless to say, this place is wonderful. I'm still learning the ropes (for instance, where is the best place for me to ask questions and get answers from the community?), but from what I can tell, most Steemians are a beautiful cocktail of passion and compassion which is exactly the type of people I like associating myself with. I want to be a part of this community and help it grow.

As I write this, I'm going to try to incorporate as many markdown features as possible to help my brain learn them faster.

About Me


My background is in engineering, but I'm still trying to figure out exactly what I want to do. My fiancee and I are moving to California for her job in August and I have a few options on the table that I'm still weighing - I'll keep you guys posted. More about my fiancee: her name is Jennifer and she is smokin' hot beautiful, smart, and the kindest soul you'll ever meet. We met online but coincidentally only worked two buildings away from each other at the time and even rode the same bus to campus every day. We joke that it's a good thing our relationship worked out cause someone would have had to find a different bus route. Here's a photo of us from our engagment shoot. She's the one in the heels.

061-Jennifer&Travis.jpg

We took these shots at Mayfield park in Austin which is home to about 10 peacocks. One of them was nice enough to join us for our picnic. Hello peacock!

101-Jennifer&Travis.jpg

When I started dating Jennifer, it was like a 2-for-1 sale for my heart. Steemians, meet Darwin, the other love of my life.

rsz_darwin3.jpg

His yawns are adorably derpy!
rsz_darwinyawn.jpg

Here are some other facts about me speed-dating style.

NounQuantity/Rating
Sister1
Brother0
Niece1
Nephew1
M.S. Orbital Mechanics1
Ph.D. Golf0 (future goal)
Reading7
Puns8
Companies1 (co-founder)
Beer10
Hangovers after drinking wineirritating

That's enough about me for now. To learn more in the future, go ahead and follow me. I'll also follow you. We can just follow each other around.

Topics I Hope to Cover in My Posts

I do not currently create content for any other websites, so everything you see on my account is 100% original and dripping in hot-off-the-press grime. Topics I'm thinking about covering include but are not limited it:

  • space news and little-known facts
  • science
  • book reviews
  • weird diseases
  • spiritual teachers (I think of them more as philosophers) and their teachings (philosophies)
  • humor
  • Austin graffiti art
  • Texas musicians you probably don't know

I will also do at least one post on artwork that I've been working on recently which is heavily inspired by the work of Petros Vrellis. As a little preview, here's a portrait of Willie Nelson I did a few months ago.

Willie_SideBySide.jpg

I think that's about all I have for now. Thank you for welcoming me into the community! I look forward to getting to know each of you and reading/watching your posts.

Sort:  

One of the more well done intro posts I've seen. Awesome job

You are hilarious and deserve a follow! We are in TX also... we hate to lose you. DON'T GO!!!! Welcome!

Haha, thanks! I am going to really miss Texas. Hopefully we make it back someday!

Great post! Very well put together. I can't wait to see more! Upvoted and followed.

Thanks @michaeldavid. See you around Steemworld

ok, see you around!

That bird totally photobombed your engagement photo! haha. Welcome to the community, Travis! I seem to share a lot of your interests so I'll definitely follow you. Congratulations on finding such a wonderful relationship. I'm new here too and I'm excited to see where this goes. Best

Thanks buddy! You got a follow from me as well. Looking forward to your posts.

Hey, Travis! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit @travissanders!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

A texan voluntarily moving to Ca? You do know they hate guns and freedom right? ;-) Welcome to steemit!

I know! I know! Thanks for the welcome :-)

Hi Travis! I'm new here as well. I'm from Ohio. I need to learn to use markup, it looks like you are already a pro. I really like how your post is formatted. I followed you and look forward to your future posts!

Hey, thank you! Let me know if you have any questions about markups, we can chat about it if you like.

Great, thank you!

Thanks! Looks like you have a mean golf game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44