Steemit New User Tips: IntroduceYourself/Introduction Post

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

As a new user to Steemit, I know you want to dive right in and start posting and earning!

But resist!

You first must have a good following in order for your posts to be seen, otherwise -- who's going to vote on them??? I go over how to build a following here:

And to avoid wasting a post you've spent hours writing, I advise splitting big posts into segments in order to increase your chances of getting it noticed and increasing your earnings:

Here in this post, I'll tell you how to construct your first post, which will be your:

IntroduceYourself/Introduction post

As an example of how to do it, I'll share my "STEEMIT: Introduce Yourself" post with you so you have an idea of what a good one looks like.

I put it up on my YouTube channel so I can embed it here.

Now, here are the main things you need to know about your introduction post

Make SURE that #introduceyourself is the FIRST tag

The first tag is the one that identifies the "topic" of your post.

You want to make sure you have #introduceyourself as the FIRST tag.

Many seasoned Steemit users and whales search the #introduceyourself topic. The reason for this is to make sure that new users have an encouraging entry into Steemit, both financially and community-wise.

By putting the #introduceyourself tag FIRST, users will easily be able to identify your post as one to pay attention to, and if the post is well-presented, you'll likely get really good starting support.

Use other tags to identify the other things that you express about yourself in the post. Put those after the introduceyourself tag.

Be VISUAL

Use pictures at least, and video if you can.

If your post doesn't have a photo, video, or some kind of visual, it'll be easy to pass it over.

The first image or video you use in the post will show up as the thumbnail for the post, which is the image that will go along with your post in searches. So make the first one a good one.

Posts that show yourself and/or your face are very good because they count as verification of who you are. Which goes a long way towards proving that you are an authentic person who wants to contribute to the Steemit community as a whole.

Display your @ name and the current date

This verifies that you are indeed the person who is operating this account.

You can see in my video that I use a piece of paper with the Steemit logo, " @shayne ", and the date.

If you can find a creative way to do this that relates to the content you want to post on Steemit, that's even better.

  • If you're an artist, draw a picture
  • If you're a poet, write a sonnet
  • If you're a musician, write a short song

These sorts of things will help to not only make your introduction post stand out, but also help people know more about you as a person and give a heads-up about what kind of content you'll be posting in the future.

Go over who you are and what you intend to do

Did you come to Steemit to post creative writing?

Did you come to Steemit to post about technology or news?

Did you come to Steemit to post about investing or cryptocurrencies?

Make sure to mention these things in your introduction post so people know what to expect from you. And also use these interests to fill out the rest of your space in the tags section.

If you aren't sure what to use as a tag, check the Steemit home page "Tags and Topics" and see if you can find a popular tag that relates to the interests you talk about in your post.

Don't be afraid to get personal

Obviously, you don't want to reveal so much that it'll get you into trouble, but you want to be as emotionally naked as possible.

People on Steemit respond strongly to authenticity. It has something to do with the incentivization structure of this platform: Steemit does a good job of filtering out people who are real vs people who are fake or abusive.

Steemit is kind of like Buddhism: the more you try to get something out of it, the less you'll get; but once you submit your ego and greed to Steemit, the more it will reward you for it.

It's kind of like a natural order on a digital platform.

So be yourself. Let us all know what you fear and what you desire out of life. Be spiritually available. Tell us about your anxieties and your triumphs.

And before you know it you'll have a KILLER introduceyourself post.

Let me know what you think!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask me!

I'll do my best to answer you.

I care a lot about what my followers and the Steemit community at large think -- so feel free to leave a comment!

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

Thank you Shayne, invaluable post for a newcomer like me. I am in the process of making my intro, it is so tempting to dive right in because this place is so positive, I love it!

More wonderfully helpful information! Thank you! Wish I would have understood about the getting involved with the community before starting to post my content. I believe my earlier posts could have earned more had I followed this advice early on.
So here is a question if you have a moment, or anyone for that matter. What if one was to create a new post with a new picture based on a previous post in order to get it seen? Maybe add in more information and a twist (i.e. my organic natural chocolate recipe with something different added in like nuts) so it is not exactly the same. Would this be a good option?

I don't see a problem with that, really.

Exposure is a fickle thing on Steemit.

I've written several posts that are all basically about the same topic, just worded differently or with new or updated information.

hola, muchas gracias por tu post, aclaro muchas cosas, quiero preguntarte; puedo hacer mi presentación solo con video? o debo agregar contenido por escrito obligatoriamente? y no pude ver tu video, me dice que no esta disponible, saludos desde venezuela!

@raincountry That sounds like a great idea! You can surely write it differently or with a more 'fresh' perspective so currently followers wouldn't feel it's too spammy. In my world of nutrition I often have to repeat concepts several times for people to not only notice but understand the 'how' and the 'why' behind what I'm asking them to do.

I did all these, did an improved intro but still only 3 people checked it out. And I see other post with less effort and they get upvoted. It's unfair :(

I hope people don't feel entitled to upvotes. Sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't. All you can do is position yourself the best you can hope for the best. Best luck!

Thanks for your response

Thank you so much! I found this very helpful but I also wish I could have someone explain very enough and how I can really get involved in steemit. It sounds so exciting but I am yet to have my piece

Thank you for this.
Are you suggesting to make a video introducing yourself rather than write a post?

Welcome @shayne . You should also upvote people that comment on your post.

This is not the way to go about doing Steemit, dude. You didn't even read the post. You're going to start getting flagged for spam soon.

I try to upvote people that make comments on my posts. If I have steem power. Just saying. No offence.

You're spamming. I'm just giving you a friendly warning because you're new. You can choose to listen or not. I just hope you don't start getting flagged for upvote-begging.

Wow! Nice Post to share! :)
btw I just upvoted your post and also followed u
Can you please follow me back?
please
I post lots of Interesting Things every day...

PS
(ANYONE LOOKING FOR FOLLOWERS PLEASE FOLLOW ME
AND ILL FOLLOW YOU BACK! INSTANT FOLLOW BACK ILL PROMISE!)

thanks done following you also.. :)

I will follow you both @deism12 @autonomsystem

thank you very much!
i also follow you back :)

Isn't this misleading the purpose of the following and building up connections in the community?
Especially under a guide like this?
Thought its to start up chats and get connected through interests ect, having people follow the sort of known essential content?

i just signed up here new, but i was hoping not to have this same childish run on followers like facebook, Instagram and co.

Please don't take it as an offence, it is just meant in general. What do you guys post about and what are your interests? Then of course I'd think about following.

By the way, thank you for the guide, it was very helpful.

I am mainly interested in cryptocurrencies, investments, especially european point of view, literature, and openminded towards any interesting sounding suggestions. These will be my main posting subjects, too.
If you feel like replying, what your posted content will be about, i will pleasently think to follow you.

Thanks :)

Following you guys...
The ART of Returning the Favor!

Self Five.gif

The ART of Returning the Favor...
I'll start following the people here.

Self Five.gif

I'll follow. :)

l will follow you

replied so I read this later. thanks for sharing it.

From marketing to MarketKing

Absolutely great article! I didn't know that the first tag is the most important, now it makes more sense. I am trying to familiarize myself with the platform first before writing anything, though i see people posting articles with ridiculous content... won't even go there! haha
Why is video important? I would rather read (old school) than watch videos (millennials) :)
followed you :)

Video is more authentic. Someone could easily edit some photo off of a random person's Facebook profile (catfishing). Video? Not so much.

ahhh i see :) ..we are talking about different things. I sometimes find posts with video only and not always am in the mood to watch, just need peace and quiet and a good article to read ;) if you get my point.
Other than that for introduce yourself I totally get it why video is a better proof!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54