The "My Well Written, Detailed Article Gets No Attention!" Complaint -- SOLVED!!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey guys, it's @shayne again.

I've got a little "Steemit Tip" on how to solve the problem of spending hours compiling an amazing post only to have it get no attention and make no money.

It's a pretty good tip, if I do say so myself -- which I DO -- but in all honesty, if you want to maximize the chances of having your posts get picked up and trend, you'll have to get yourself a healthy following, which you can do by following the steps I outline in this earlier post of mine -- which is doing quite well I might add.

So read that first and follow the advice.

Then... do this.

Break your long post into smaller posts

separated.png

This seems like small beans, but when you think about it, it really isn't.

You can spend hours writing a great post, and then when you submit it, you only have one chance for it to take off and get recognized.

By splitting up a big post into 3 or 4 smaller posts, you expand your chances of at least one getting recognized.

Cross-link the posts

When you split your post up into segments, make sure to cross-link the posts.

You can do this later by editing the posts when you have them all submitted.

Greater rewards

Spreading out your big post like this not only greatly increases the chances of your post being noticed, it also increases the potential payout you could expect.

If you have one post, and it does really well, you could get $100 for that one post.

But say you split that big post into 4 smaller posts, and they are cross-linked meaning if one post is picked up it is likely that the others will get some residual attention, then you might be looking at those 4 posts earning $30 each, which would be $120 overall.

See?

An example

A few weeks ago I posted a series of "Getting Started With Steemit" posts.

The whole thing was originally written as one big post, but I decided to split it up into 6 parts for a number of reasons.

Here is the result:

posts.png

As you can see, ALL of the posts did really well, but some of them did two or three times better than the others.

Overall, the posts totaled $531.35, which is absolutely amazing!

I am sure that if this topic was posted as one complete article as I was originally written, there's no WAY it would have made that much or gotten as much attention as it did split up into parts.

So the moral of the story here is:

Spread the love

You've written something GREAT.

Why not do what you can to give your work the best chance of being discovered possible?

Split up your big posts and

What do you think?

Do you like this advice?

Tell me in the comments below, I'd really like to hear from you guys!

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

Doing fine job on getting fellow newbies into this Steemit addiction today @shayne lol. Cutting posts into parts is a good tip, especially while doing travel tours. I'll try it on my next trip around Europe.

i see u are doing a good job :-)
can't agree more
i will spread the love ^^

This is such good advice, I followed it before you posted it. :) (I may be the only one ever to have a 5-part Introduction post, which is about to appear as part 5 shortly) Anyway, to anyone reading this... it works as he said. There is a "Right size" to a post, and while it may depend on the topic, scrolling a couple 2 or 4 times seems fine and seems to be popularly accepted.

@shayne GREAT Suggestions... Quick Question ~ How did You embed your previous posts into this post... trying to do this now but I can't seem to do it the way You did.

UpVoted !!

Thanks Again 4 Your suggestions !!

I have no clue how to imbed posts into other posts lol

I'm just using screenshots and links :D

I love the idea of cross linking, I'm documenting my trip through Italy right now and think I'll link my daily updates together! Thanks for the idea!

I think you may have answered a universal question... is it possible to learn something new every day from @shayne. Yep, doubters be damned. Thank you for the great suggestions! Your example has enabled me to be hopeful that one day I too can break that flimsy 3$ a post benchmark haha

Resteemed 😆

Thanks @shayne I am really struggling to gain a following and I think this will help. I would appreciate a follow back too!

what do i think? well.... I am very thankful that I found your earlier post today and will be following your upcoming posts as well!!! Again, thank you thank you for helping out the new youngins like myself :)

I know I've been intimidated by extremely long posts.

That goes for videos as well. While they're a great way to display talent, not everyone has an hour to sit down and watch your video.

This may sound like a silly question, but you should be used to that from me by now, can we just make anchor text links in markdown?

Never mind. Cognitive Dissonance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13