How a piano saved a girl's life...Hello Steem Community!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Thanks for clicking Steem members!

I'm Savannah and this is my story:

IMG_20160524_1950143e0a8.md.jpg

Before I start I'd like to introduce myself:

My name is Savannah, I'm 21yrs old and an aspiring musician. Piano being my number one and guitar a close second. Because I'm very new to the scene and to be safe, I'd like to keep my location a secret until I'm more comfortable. But I really hope that doesn't discourage the rest of the community to communicate with me because I'd really enjoy meeting, contributing, and learning more with everyone.


The Keys & Strings

PIANO-Copyafabc.jpg

Since elementary school I always suspected there was something different about me. My other friends and peers could do so much more than I without a second of hesitation. Everyday was a continuous fight just to stay the same person I was the day before. Countless days where moving wasn't an option, the depression took every ounce of energy I had until the 18-24hr episode ran it's course. Once middle school hit, so did the anxiety. Normal everyday tasks felt like I was seconds away from being pushed on a stage in front of thousands of people. I stopped wearing contacts and glasses so everyone would be just another blurry face. That helped for awhile but it just made the #depression worse. In 8th grade I was finally treated for Major Depressive Disorder, #Bipolar-Disorder, and Anxiety Disorder. After trying many #SSRI's and #SNRI's ( #Paxil, #Prozac, #Abilify, etc.), there came #Lexapro. I wasn't a person anymore. I couldn't feel anything which made me want to feel everything. Hurting myself (cuts/burns) came first, it felt right. During, it didn't feel wrong at all, it was something I had to do. After that, I realized I didn't want to live at all if I couldn't feel, if all I was was nothing more than a defective robot.

Then I heard this song:

The grand piano that sat for years in my family room soon became gold to me. It became my only escape from the reality I could never get away from. The sound and comfort every note and chord gave to me felt better than any #Benzo I was ever prescribed. To this day, I've gained only one other source comparable to the feeling of the pure comfort and bliss the piano grants me: my wonderful and amazing #Fiancee.


If you read until the very end of my story, I want to thank you. If I can be of any help by answering related questions or even you sharing your knowledge about the subject, I would be more than happy to contribute and learn from your experiences as well!


To Better Days..,
Savannah

Sort:  

Uplifting post and nice musical piece! Follow some of the advise in the comments below and have fun exploring this side of your artistic expression as well.

Will do, thank you for your input:)

Welcome, Savannah!
Such a wonderful song :) Thank you!

I couldn't help but share the magnificence
of #Steemit with the love of my life ♥


My Fiancée


Much Love,
obfuscate-me

I'll never forget the day you asked me to be your wife:) Mostly because it was last weekend XD haha. You're the best, thank you for the beautiful ring. I love you <3

Beautiful Savannah! Welcome to the community. I've upvoted your post:)

Wow! I don't know you, but I'm proud of the courage you've displayed in your writing. The pressures of the world can be hard. Your appreciation and love for music is a beautiful thing.

To Better Days

Thank you so much, that means a lot coming from an actual writer himself!

Welcome @saiya

Share good content and let's enjoy the ride!

Thanks, great to met you!

Welcome to Steemit @saiya!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create amazing content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29