The Buddha and Mara

in #life6 years ago

16463942_580279645515292_6883997775579578368_n.jpg

Tara Brach has a really beautiful story about Buddha and Mara, which I'll do my best to paraphrase here. This story resonated for me a lot, because this same story came up in three different forms for me this week - in the form of the strong warrior Goddess Durga, and the Christian story of Jesus in the wilderness for 40 days (this one came up in the weekly prayer at my school, but I wouldn't identify as a Christian. It's just that these stories can work for us, even if we don't identify with one thing or another).

So the way I understand it is this. Just before he achieves enlightenment, Buddha fights with the demon God Mara, who fought him with doubt, anger, greed and everything he could think of that would move Guatama from his path. Think of that voice that says 'How dare you do this? Who do you think you are? Do you think anyone would listen?' - it's that kind of voice that prevents me doing, my anxiety, my fears.

Anyway, Buddha of course fights hard and Mara has to leave. But of course, he comes back. This time, Buddha makes him a cup of tea, saying 'I see you, Mara', acknowledging him, serving him as an honoured guest and remain undisturbed by him until he left. This really made my week last week. Faced with something I was scared of doing, I talked kindly and compassionately to my anxiety. "I see you, Mara", I said warmly, and suddenly, it was all okay. The fear was there, and maybe it always would be, but I could go on anyway, in it's presence. It wasn't helping to try to ignore it, or get angry with it. It was better to be compassionate and understanding.

What a beautiful revelation this was to me.

What stories have helped you through difficult times?

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 01:31:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.40/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44