Cheers! (I'm introducing myself.)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My name is Brittany Anne O'Dell. I'm an aspiring blogger and editor, third culture kid, ASOIAF fan, taroist, newlywed and homesteader. I spend my days gardening, writing, cat-moming and living in a little retro trailer under a pavilion in a meadow in Southwest Washington.

Pulpably

I recently admitted to myself that I am going to write about paper, even if it does nothing for me. I started a private wordpress blog with intention to launch once I had tidied up some pages. But, thankfully, I encountered Steemit first.

I love how much more comfortable I feel posting to Steemit. You're my people! You believe in quality content! I want to be worthy of your community. I love the casual tones here, the contagious inspiration, the visionary optimism. Yes!

I'm now wondering what Pulpably will become as it was never intended to encapsulate all that Steemit might be for me. I can say that I feel free to be myself here and thank you for that! I'm looking forward to an amazing new inspired direction among so many kindred spirits.

Accomplishments

  • Coined the term "hobosteading" while adventuring into life with nothing but a Cabela's tent, a warm heart, and amazing friends. Six years in and I'm ecstatic to be living my dreams.

  • Self-published a book of modern fables called Horror because I realized accessing that stunnedness had been the point of everything I'd written. I wanted to start fresh and write toward a better feeling.

  • Eloped by driving across Washington to get married in Moscow, Idaho in a coffee shop wearing pants. Yes!

  • Two bachelor degrees (what was I thinking?) Semiotics and Design.

  • I have professionally edited some books, traveled extensively, and wild rabbits want to sit in my shadow. No joke. I totally encourage it and weirdly take full credit. It's possible to become a safe place.

#introduceyourself

Sort:  

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World @xem!


"Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle." -- Plato

This is helpful! Thank you. xo

Hi @puplably
One: you sound super cool. I can't wait to read more because you sound like my kind of people.
Two: I'm not too far from tent living...not exactly by choice BUT I love living simply.
Three: what the heck is semiotics? I mean...I'm intelligent enough to look it up but frankly, I've had a long, loooonnnnggggg day.
Have a great weekend!

Hey merej99! Thanks for connecting. I especially love meeting writers. There's something so soothing about being able to easily relate. I'll follow you and be curious.:)

Oh wow! Which coffee shop in Moscow? And if you married someone from there I just might know them lol

The One World Cafe! It'd be cool if you know my husband Drew O'Dell (just entered Steemit as @aok though rarely on yet), but he's not from Moscow. We drove from Washington because it is possible to get married there without a waiting period or witnesses. I think it was our way of making it special, making it shot gun since neither of us enjoys the spotlight. I do know a couple people from Pullman. Eric Petterson and Myke Fedyk?

None of those names sound familiar, but I have definitely spent some time at the One World Cafe! They do live music and other events all the time. Last time I went, a friend of mine was reading poetry there, but that was some years ago.

What's fresh from the garden today? For us it was beets carrots and potatoes.

Nice haul! Today we have shockingly early blackberries and gravenstein apples, and the usual though much loved zucchini. My cat outdid the garden handily, though, with his rabbit, bird and mouse. Only the bird made it inside and it was no longer mobile, which is very fortunate for me. Let me know if you have any ideas about how I could rave about your Code of Conduct post and spread it. I've only been on Steemit a few days, but it's beginning to come together. :)

I didn't even plant zucchini this year -- neither my wife not my daughter will eat it. And although we cleared some land for apple trees last month we won't plant them til the spring.

Funny, my phone autocorrected me and capitalized apple (again there). Guess what kind of phone.

Your cat sounds like quite the hunter. Thank god we don't have a cat. We do have chickens in the freezer from last year's backyard flock, perhaps the subject of a future post. Hobosteaders would eat that up!

Thanks for your support of my Code post. Short of a Minnow Call to Arms I'm afraid that will just wither on the vine but honestly I am happy to have connected with a few like yourself. Once again welcome aboard, I'll be following your future posts.

Thanks for being so personable and considerate! The more respectful, articulate, hard working content makers I meet the more faith I have that this will become the community so many are stoked about it having the potential to be. I'm definitely following. You set an example I am learning from!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59