WHO'S UP FOR A RACE??? - STEEMIT MONTHLY TARGET

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello guys! Today, the 12th day of February has started for me with a burning desire to achieve some certain goals for this month which will altogether add up to a ripe and fruitful harvest at the end of the year. Unlike most social media platforms, steemit finds a way to be more colorful each day. It fills my day with hope and makes me want to get out there and just do more!
I know that I'm not the only one that feels this way. However, I have a vision and a target for steemit by the end of the year and they are:

2018 Target

  • 5000 followers by December 2018
  • Reputation Score of 60
  • Over 2000 posts

Right now, I'm currently at 117 followers, with a reputation score of 43 and barely 252 posts. Looking at the statistics... Phew! it's obvious that there's much on my plate for me to do. I will need to get about 4,883 followers and 1748 posts before the end of the year if i hope to achieve this feat!

However, it is very much possible!

  • If you are one of those people who have steemit goals as big or even bigger than this, I encourage you to continue reading and if you're not, my advice is still the same, you might just find out that this is easier than you think!

Here is a breakdown of how I hope to make this dream a reality:

Source

Make daily posts

This is as basic as it gets! As of now, we have about 322 days left in the year. That means that by posting daily, you have a guarantee of +322 posts by december! However, this only makes a dent in the 2000+ posts target.


Source

Comments

As you're aware, the number of posts consists of both blog posts and comments. Now, if we subtract 322 from 2000, we have 1678 outstanding posts left! That's still a large figure so let's make our daily posts twice in a day.
That will reduce that number to 1356. In order to meet up with that number of posts left, we would need to leave about 4 to 5 comments daily, all you need to do is, go through your feed, see something you like and leave a comment. That doesn't sound so bad does it?

And there, in 322 days we would have over 2000 posts!

How to Increase your Followers

Upvotes and Comments

Apart from increasing your number of posts, comments also help promote the steemit community through interaction. Good comments on an author's post may well earn you either a follow or some SBD or both! Comments create room for interaction, it promotes friendship and makes an author know you appreciate his/her work. Feedback also helps give the author ideas, incentives and perspective.


Source

Upvotes also tend to give you followers especially from newbies.
As of now, we have thousands of people being registered on steemit on a daily basis. the #introduceyourself tag is the perfect place to start!


Source

Post Quality Content

This is what I call letting your work speak for you. Doing something ingenious will always bring people to you as they would love to see more of your work. Never ask for a follow. That is generally frowned on here and never plagiarize another's work. Of course, if you do, cheetah is never too far behind. Always remember to source whatever documents you decide to upload if they were not created or developed by you. If you are making reference to someone else's post, remember to site the link to the post as well.


Source

Here is how to source a file:
Place source in square brackets [] like this [Source] and then next to the closing bracket and without space, create a parenthesis or round bracket () with the link of the document like this (linkofdocument)

Take for example, the link to a recent post that I made; Source
You could decide to use Link instead of Source or anything else.

Participate in contests

Participation in contests is another way to interact with the steemit community and a way to showcase your talents, this could make the author of the contest, curators and participants to notice you and your work and you could generate followers from there.

Organize Contests

Organizing your own contest is also another way to engage and get a ton of followers! A lot of steemians go through the #contest tag looking for contests to partake in and when they do, most of them follow the authors to keep up with that contest and others to follow. So, organize a contest today!

Follow Others

Some users make it a rule to follow anybody that follows them, while some go through their follower list to search for posts that interest them. However, following someone, lets you see their recent posts on your feed and that is always a great opportunity to interact with that person. So, find posts that interest you and follow the author for more of that. It's that simple!


Source

My February target

  • Reach 500 followers
  • Make over 400 posts
  • Reach a reputation score of 45

So, there's my target for the month, feel free to drop yours and to comment. It might earn you a follow :D

We have 16 days left in the month! that means that I'm on the clock.

Who's ready for a race???


Source

Sort:  

Quite some goals you’ve set for yourself :0)
I think the numbers are a little too optimistic, in my case, but I guess I’m up for the race.
My account would have been a lot bigger if I hadn’t migrated to a new account. The old account was at 51 already, had more than 500 followers and more than 600 posts.. it still hurts a bit when I think about leaving that all behind.

Still, I think that getting a new username (@simplymike instead of @mike314-0005) was a smart move. On a platform like SteemIt you need a username that’s easy to remember and - even more important - easy to spell.

Considering this new account is only 25 days old, I think I’ve done a pretty good job getting 212 followers and making 409 posts. (Wow, if you do the math, that’s like more than 16 posts/comments per day - I’ve been quite busy, lol)

You’re giving some good tips there. Interaction is the key to getting more followers.

I think every once in a while you should take a step back and take a look at your own behaviour: why do you start following someone? What makes you upvote something or reply to something?
Then, use that information to get more followers, comments and upvotes.

I do think the tip ‘follow others’ needs a word of warning.
It’s indeed a very good way to get more followers, because many users have a policy to follow everyone back. The backside of this is that your feed becomes large fast and it’s hard to follow up on the people you really want to follow up on.

So I think it’s important to clean up your feed every once in a while by unfollowing some people if you notice you don’t interact with them anyway.

Also, it can be very useful to set up your own personal feed list by creating an RSS feed URL for the blog of the people in your ‘inner-circle’, and load those URLs in an external feed reader like feedly.com. This allows you to keep an overview and tighten the connections with the people in your inner circle.

Okay, time to break it off. Since a lot of my comments have a post-sized length, and according to the stats I make like 16 a day, one would start thinking if I ever took time to sleep... ;0)

But to come back to the reason I started this comment: I’ll race you :0)
@simplymike

Thanks! @simplymike and yeah... i think the new username was a good decision, I prefer it big time to the previous one that looks like your name and phone number combined...lol
That warning is much appreciated and i had to check back on my post to notice that i ommitted that. However the RSS feed suggestion is very welcome and I'll do well to check it out.
I'm up for any race but i think you're way ahead of me. That is not such a bad thing though as it gives me something or in this case someone to chase. Cheers! :D

Great post @ossjay. I also wanted to stop by your blog to say thanks for supporting the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. You have some great goals here so if there is anything I can do to help then just shout. You're a part of #newbieresteemday so you know we are all here to help. Keep Steeming my friend.

Thank you! @mudcat36 for your kind words. I'm happy to be a part of #newbieresteemday and will remain committed to the our cause.

Awesome and wonderful,sometimes putting it into action could br quite hard especially when unplanned circumstances come up. Wish ourselves the best in fulfilling these goals.

yes that's very true! but a positive mindset and action should take you a long way. I'm glad you have goals as well. More so, it would be easier if we did it together don't you think?@willizgallery
do you care to tell me about them?

I liked your post. and I have few followers

Thanks @eduards i'm sure you read the post so you know how to go abt changing that

@ossyjay, I like your enthusiasm and drive! You have some lofty goals and that's great! I look forward to reading the progress you make through 2018! Upvoted! Resteemed! Following!

Well thank you! @iexloplore i do hope to surpass my expectations.

Thank you @ossyjay, i will work with what you have stated. Though i hardly have time due to work.

work towards creating the time. Someone from the Newbie Resteem Initiative once said "It all about balance!" :D

good job... to help you @ossyjay go to this post of Dave's and enter the league and contest: (click here)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16