Hi world! I welcome you on my journey through the eyes of Dutch girl working and living in Africa - Introduction

Let the journey begin,

As a multi-discipline Creative director, I specialized in Interior Architecture and design, Graphic Design, Merchandising and Marketing! Over the last 18 years I have had the privilege to work on a wide range of design projects in the US, The Netherlands and Tanzania.

IMG_20170709_123818.jpg

My journey started in Los Angeles where I studied Merchandising and Marketing at the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising. Where I discovered my love for retail design. Art Center College of Design took me into a much wider aspect of design. They have prepared me to be an all round designer. Understanding the importance of visual communication, to create compelling and functional spaces where visitors want to stay at. Being able to see things in a different way gives me the ability to push the boundaries, solve design problems and combine my graphics with interior and architectural design.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-09 at 11.56.01.jpeg

I realized then that my love to create came from being raised in The Netherlands where design is interwoven in every day way of living.

Now I live in Tanzania where the African culture has taken me back to basics. Being exposed to a completely different life style makes you rethink everything. The function of a designer is being blurred. Whatever I know, believe or stand for has been thrown upside down. Which gives a designer a whole set of new tools to work with.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-09 at 11.56.18.jpeg

As a westerner the need to understand is an everyday challenge. Letting go is the key to start seeing, listing and experiencing in a different way. Your senses are being triggered. Design is more emotional. Retail spaces are created with in mind on what is missing in Tanzania. Challenging the now will give you the future.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-09 at 11.56.33.jpeg

I have been blessed to work for a wide variety of companies.
From Fashion to the Movie industry such as Contempo Casuals (USA), Rampage Clothing (USA), Docker Europe (NL), Universal Studios (USA), First floor features (NL), RTL Ned / Endemol Film Production (NL)

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-09 at 11.56.24.jpeg

From Dutch design firms to Safari companies and Private Lodges in Tanzania such as Hectic Illusions (NL), Initzio Communications (NL), Moivaro Lodges and Camps (TZ), Mbali Mbali Lodges and Camps (TZ), Tropical Trails (TZ), The Arusha Hotel (TZ), to Elewana Africa (TZ)

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-09 at 11.56.28.jpeg

From NGO companies to Technology and Gemstone companies. Maasai Women Art (TZ), Dosi (TZ), Maridadi Fashion Show (TZ), Swala Gem (TZ), Warrior Security (TZ), Gadgetronix (TZ) to Tanzanite Experience (TZ)
The experience has made me an all round designer that enjoys adapting and morphing her self. I have been blessed to be able to work with people and cultures from all around the world.

I hope you like what you read...join me next time on creating an experience in Manyara, Tanzania

Before I forget I want to thank you my friend Seyi @cryptoactive for introducing me to Steemit and thanks to @afro-voice for helping out.
Talk to you soon!
Zhaleh

Sort:  

Welcome to steem nation

Welcome to Steemit, it certainly sounds like you live an interesting life! I can imagine the lifestyle in Tanzania is a lot different to LA and Holland. Which do you prefer?

Hi, thank you for reading my post! That is a hard question..all 3 countries are so different! I love to vintage style of LA. The amazing hilly environment...so much to see and experience! Holland is farmer meets Amsterdam edginess. Love the out of the box architecture...old meets new! Tanzania on the other hand is coming back to mother nature. You realize you can live with almost nothing! Tanzania is pure! Well which on do i prefer...if i can have it my way i must say a combination of all three would be ideal! So that is why i am trying to create a life for my self where if can travel for work to all three places and beyond!

The secret is making enough money online to maintain a LA and Dutch lifestyle but while loving in the cheaper Developing world like Africa or South America or Southeast Asia or some parts of china, and you can chill and have a small business, u can live like a king and help those around you!! u can help the african people surrounding ou as u live like a king you create jobs, you show everyome how you make alll your money online!

African people are so used to seeing white people make money from Africa that when they see white peopel making their money ONLINE they see a new world a chance for a life where they ENJOY the tropical weatheer but have AC and cars and comfortable homes and jobs online HDTVs and everyone has an electric motorcycle and a solar panel, im serious!

everyone will live like you live in Amsterdam! I love your photos wow u can make so mch just posting photos of how we SHOUDL ALL get to live

the whoel world would be lucky to have a village liek amsterdam

Thank you Zachary, i really appreciate it! I agree completely. I have started spreading the word about Streemit and how everybody can be part of the Streemit community! As an example i just had a discussion with a friend of mine what a hard time she was having finding a well paying client. Being a copy writer in Tanzania is not easy! She is not valued the same as in the UK where she studied. She was very excited about streemit and being a streemitian. We both want to make a difference for many Africans and none africans alike to share their story and create an income. So Zachary your input is valuable to me so let me know what you think about my other post. "How i ended up living with the Maasai" Talk to you soon.

Hello, I'm glad to join the fastest growing social network where you can earn money while having fun and posting articles. Get ready for this amazing adventure by learning some basic things:
Do not post more than 2-3 posts per day.
Do not copy, just write about what's interesting and excite you.
Be yourself and do not be in a hurry, it is difficult at first but not impossible, take things as a hobby and fun and you will succeed.
Join chat to get help and more tips - https://discord.gg/MHsEM8n

Thank you for your advise.

welcome to steemit community @onepointorange. we are glad to have you here

Thank you afro-voice for your support! I appreciate it!

Welcome to Steemit. I wish you much success. I am now following your blog -

(Image from google imaging. I added the words)

Thank you crowe for welcoming me and following me. I appriciate it!

Hiii OnePointOrange, this is amazing !! I'm interested to know more about you and your activity. Welcome to Steemit my friend​ :)

Thank you for your warm welcome! I am looking forward reading your posts! I will do my best! My next posts will be about my experience at Manyara Airport where i will be building a Tanzanite Museum and Jewelry shop! Looking for ward hearing from you.

Hi @onepointorange !! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit ! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while blogging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be alright. ! Cheers! Greetings, @ashwath

Thank you i will! Thank you for your support.

Seems like you're having a great time in Tanzania. Keep up your good work there. I hope Tanzania will prosper in peace without unnessary intervention and modern day colonization.

My vote, follow & resteem for u

Thank you for welcoming me! I appreciate it! For now Tanzania is very peaceful even the new president is changing all the rules and regulation which have lead to a massive number of expats leaving including there business! Lets hope everything gets stabilized soon.

Very cool! I can tell from your pic that you are a real person so lets be friends. :)

haaa sounds good! Thanks for your appriciation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61522.17
ETH 3450.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51