A Health Professional in South Africa

This is my girlfriend, Trish. She fell in love with the idea of steemit, and has been nagging me to use it ever since. So I asked her to help me with my introduction photo. She thinks that I can change the world, bless her heart.

My name is Brad Kadou. People say I am a jack of many pointless trades. I am currently doing my Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy at Wits University in Johannesburg, South Africa. But that doesn't stop me from dwelling in the interests of gaming, music, videography, poetry and philosophy. On the surface, I am the class clown, but deep down I am concerned with the well-being of people, and I strive to better myself so that one day I can better thousands of others. 

This is a photo of my campus building that I took this morning. Here lies the next two and a half years of my life; the many caffeinated, sleepless hours of studying the anatomy and physiology of the human body. Here lies all the labs, chemicals, experiments, and of-course, the bodies of those who have been kind enough to donate themselves for the good of science. Yes, I do human dissections twice a week. (Not for the feint of heart)

I love what I am studying. I love the art of nature, interacting with patients, and learning hundreds of latin names each week. Okay, the latter isn't true. I procrastinate, a lot. I like to think procrastination runs through my blood. I am the unofficial ambassador of procrastination, and through this, I have picked up many other appealing arts such as:

  • Video editing
  • Competitive gaming
  • Online poker
  • Checking the fridge every half minute
  • Playing acoustic guitar
  • Doing handstand push-ups
  • Playing air drums
  • Cooking fried eggs and bacon

This is not even half of them. Instead of becoming exceptionally good at one trait, I seem to find myself becoming average at many others. That's where I find joy in life. Having an open mind and trying new experiences when the opportunity arises. 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Here is a lyric video I made a couple years ago. I have stripped away the vocals on this particular video as they are quite harsh and some viewers may not enjoy that. Many of my music-inspired videos have been taken down by YouTube because of 'copyright infringement' so I keep a lot of my recent projects to myself. 

Back on topic. I come from a small suburb called Florida, which is a town situated just to the west of Johannesburg. I have lived here my entire life. So having not traveled out of my country, the majority of my experiences, work, friends and memories come from the city. This doesn't stop me from going on hikes, camping, swimming, and tripping to various outlandish areas surrounding the city. South Africa is like a rollercoaster. You can find some very upper-class areas crowded with glimmering lights and mansions owned by millionaires, but you can also detour only a couple kilometers outside these areas to find yourself in a squatter camp riddled with tin roofs, dirt, and poverty. The diversity is like no other. It's beautiful to say the least.

So why Physiotherapy? Over time, I have been subject to bad habits, and through laziness I have let these habits result in the detriment of my own health. However, when I was 16, I decided to take matters into my own hands and research different eating and exercise routine that will allow me to adapt and become a stronger version of myself. Through movement and exercise, I have become a happier and healthier person. It has changed the way I think, the way I behave, and the way I move. I have become obsessed with the research, and I want more.  

I strongly believe that modern chronic disease can be relieved without the use of medicine, but rather to introduce good habits and to educate healthy movement patterns. Long story short, I believe that health and movement can introduce happiness to those who once thought that they could never be happy again. 

I hope that steemit can be a community and a platform that will not only allow me to entertain and be entertained, but also afford me the ability to better myself and also better the lives of others. I cannot wait to see what is in store. 

Thank you for your time.

misterkadou 

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @misterkadou !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Welcome, I followed you. We have very similar interests. I have never been to South Africa, but it looks amazing. I am interested in your findings about diet and health. I too have learned the importance of a healthy lifestyle and I've been seriously slacking. I'm ready to get back to healthy habits and read about others who are doing the same.

Thanks for the follow man, I'll return the favour! It's good to stick to healthy habits, it'll make you happier in the long run. But you must also have fun with it, don't let it rule you, it's also good to enjoy your life. xD

Welcome to Steem @misterkadou I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit, @misterkadou!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Hi, i'm new here. You can check my posts about food, travel and random stuff. Follow me and i'll follow you back, enjoy!! :)

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

I hope you like steem, lets be friends, a big steemit family! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59