I'm sneaking into this party with my guitar in hand!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


Hello Steemit! Looks like I got here just in time and I'm glad I made it!

I'm Michael and I am an artist and musician who dabbles in the crypto world and that is how I found this place.
I'm super excited about the potential here and am jumping in with both feet, I plan on only showing my work here and selling only for crypto; BTC, ether or steem!
I also plan on blogging on topics that interest me from molecular biology and botany to esoterica and rock&roll.

I have been painting and drawing my whole life as well as playing music since the age of five, when my folks started me on violin(thanks folks). I have an academic art background and studied at The Art Students leaugue, R.I.S.D. and the School of Visual Arts in NYC.
Here's some work from days gone by so you can see where I'm coming from:

I did a lot of life drawing and anantomy studies in high school at The Art Students League and had some amazing old master kind of teachers.

I went to drawing classes at night in high school and the teacher would sometimes have jazz drummers come and play and we would draw them. Here's a little marker sketch from that time, circa 1982.

Here's a self portrait I did as a portfolio piece in high school, circa 1983.

"Smoking Man" woodcut I did at R.I.S.D in the eighties.

Still Life from my moms kitchen in the early 90's .


In the late 80's and early 90's I made these hand bound, hand painted journals and sold them on the street in NYC. I'd usually set up on St. Marks place or Cooper Square. I'd make a dozen books at a time and sell them for $40 a pop and usually sell out. When Giuliani got into office he started a street vendor task force and I had to run from those goons a few times! These were great days in NYC- Hip Hop, street art, Graffiti art, the whole east village scene, Basquiat and Haring, and Kenny Scharf. I have fond memories of those times.These books were all influenced by that scene. This is the only one I kept.

Times Square in the eighties, towards the end an era, the sleazy dangerous Times Square I loved! My family had the second Korean restaurant in Manhattan in history, half a block off of the square on 44th st.


Here's a more contemporary piece from 2014 , more indicitive of the work I'm doing these days. This one will be for sale here very soon.

https://michaelpak.bandcamp.com/track/rainy-day-waltz
Here's a little piece I recorded in a motel room a few years back. It's kind of rough and first take but I like it. Tell me what you think.


Oh, and one last thing for now- my ethereum mining rig with five r7 370s hashing at 75MHs happily on the fork!

Thanks for reading and once again, I'm very happy to be a part of this brave new world here!

Michael

Sort:  

original combination molecular and rock&roll.

Delighted to have you here with us!


Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see. Mark Twain

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World !

Welcome to Steemit! Nice mining rig btw! :)

Welcome to Steemit! My Friend- Greeting From @dog

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World @xem!

Welcome to the steem community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73