New Zealand Girl

About me!

My name is Michelle. Where to start when introducing yourself? I do a lot of different things and I guess I want tell you all a little about what I want to share, my experiences and my hobbies. So I will start by saying I am a mechanical engineer. I am currently doing my PhD in Bio-Mechanics in New Zealand and I love it. I work long unusual hours because I want to not because I have to. Just so you know I study cellular interactions in the brain surrounding Migraines and Tramatic Brain Injury. I could talk for hours on this alone but only if prompted.

I like to dabble in coding and app development. This is a fun time hobby for me in my down time that I am hoping to put more time into after I submit my thesis. I am currently working on an educational game aimed at children that I will never expect to make money off but I am proud of it all the same.

I tramp (no not hooker style, tramping is what people in New Zealand call hiking) and by tramping I mean I become extremely exhausted for a few hours for great views. You know, type 2 fun (There are two types of fun: Things that are fun at the time like eating an ice cream and things that are fun after they are done like a marathon). I am not usually a fan of type two fun but it does make for awesome pictures.

IMG_20170416_150115.jpg
(Roys peak, Wanaka , New Zealand)

379301_10151322403433347_148504237_n.jpg
(Mt Taranaki, New Zealand)

I water ski, its like regular skiing only you have a rope and you are pulled behind a boat. I also like to go fishing with my family

395306_10150529604553347_1713519511_n.jpg
(Kingfish I caught off New Plymouth, NZ. This has a story of its own to tell! Also I'm 5'3" for reference)

I play many different sports which change depending on the season. Recently it is ultimate Frisbee, before that I tried yoga, touch rugby and rock climbing. But don't be fooled. I am also a couch potato and by that I secretly mean I will stay in bed for full days binge watching the latest tv whilst gorging on popcorn, chocolate and chips. I eat so much I have a snack shelf.


(I go out of my way to find food. This is at the cookie time bar in Queenstown, New Zealand)

On top of this I also like to craft! I say that so general but so specific. Everything from I hand crafted wedding invitations for both of my sisters to designing and drawing my own art for a children's book I created for my 2 year old nephew. I taught myself how to use inkscape (it's free by the way) to edit my drawings then got it professionally printed into a book. I'm no Picasso but my drawings are perfect for a children's book I think.


(Picture I made, it is meant to be my sister who is an electrician.)

So that's a bit about me. Let me know if you want to know more!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @me-shell :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Hello @me-shell is very nice post and nice photo of you i very like it..my name ann @annsita....i come from Thailand.....welcome to steemit , i just new here and hope you have fun and share more post and hope we can be friend enjoy about our post...so my Englisg is't very well, but will try the best for that....
so have to be nice if we are follow each another and upvote... i will follow you and vote, have a nice day dear. and see you soon dear ^_^

That fish! Its massive - good catch ;)

Have you been to Cathedral Cove? I wrote an short post on it the other day: https://steemit.com/travel/@nzfxtrader/must-visit-in-new-zealand-cathedral-cove
nz_steem_q7jwyw.png

Welcome to Steem @me-shell I have sent you a tip

Wellcome to steemit.. i hope you enjoy in this community..

Hi Michelle!
Welcome, Abroad! this is an amazing community where we share our story and grow together. You will love it here. Looking forward seeing your next post.

Welcome to Steemit Michelle!

Hi, as you are a fellow kiwi I wanted to drop off an invitation to our NZ group in Discord. We'd love to have you join us, to be able to take advantage of group things and connect with other kiwis. :)

tanz invite sml.jpg

(if the link has expired just yell out and I'll issue a fresh one)

We also have a @teamnz profile you could follow if you like, and keep up to date with news and other kiwis - we publish twice a week.

Welcome on Steemit, @me-shell ! Following and looking forward to discovering your drawings, thoughts and musings :) see u!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it here as much as I do. I'm always learning from others, so feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70