Hello Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello everyone. I'm Kody, I'm a 23 year old draftsman. I got into drafting when I was 13 in high school, and my second passion in high school was woodworking. So I find my current job interesting, my technical title is draftsman, but I program and operate a CNC machine. Now the if you follow me I'll get more into CNC talk in future post, but I'll put it a basically as I can for now, what I do is draw thing on a computer and I convert those drawing into a program that the machine can read to cut/make what I want.
27720748_1693453604048617_213968893_n.jpg
Now what I do for the company I work for is make metal panels to go on the sides of building, but I fortunately work for a great company that lets me use the machine after hours and on the weekends. Now the company is also okay with me taking material off the shelf, as long as it's not needed for a current job, I'm not selling the material or the thing I make with it (I would have to pay them for it if I do), and I'm not using a lot at once.
27836540_1693135120747132_1000957760_o.jpg
At first I didn't think I was going to like this job because when I started I knew nothing about CNCs, but now that I know more about them and know what I can do with them this is like my dream job. As I mention before I make metal panels for the company, but they also have a wood shop and paint shop in the same building. With that said when I want to make something I have little to no cost to do it. I stay late program what I want, and I grab a sheet of plywood off the shelf, cut it on the CNC and go the the paint shop and finish it.
27718629_1693134657413845_1873537918_n.jpg
Overall I have a great job that for the most part that I love. currently they have me placed at the office (an hour and a half from the shop) so I'm limited to making things on the weekends. I want to try and come out with a project each weekend to go over with you guys, maybe every other weekend we'll see. I'm at the point of looking to buy a small at home CNC to make some small things out of my basement. This would make it easier for me to make this type of content.
27846349_1693135304080447_655308836_o.jpg
Another passion of mine is gaming. I've been playing games for as long as I can remember. I'm currently into mostly survival sandbox game, but enjoy a shooter from time to time. I hope to deliver this content from time to time in the form of live streams on twitch and some videos on dtube and some on YouTube.

So overall I plan to bring mostly woodworking and CNC content, and a bit of gaming thrown in from time to time. Now I hope you guys enjoyed that little bit about me, and I hope to get to know a little about you. I have a few projects planned for the next few weeks, the one I had planned for this week didn't work out, so this week I'll be making a short shop/basement tour video.

Sort:  

Hi Man, good to see you on the discord channel. I studied draftsman ship an in school and college and I still use it today. I and traditional though with a drawing board and pencil. I am very intrigued by the whole cnc topic and will look forward to your projects. Thanks

Yeah I plan on making a post, or video on some basic CNC knowledge this week or next. I kind show some basics before showing my work process to hopefully to give a bit more background

Hello Welcome to steemit. I'm here, too, most recently

I'll be glad to meet you. I work in the music field and am the founder and leader of a music project called Music Without Borders
And this is my first post Where can you find out about me more
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@nikita13/getting-to-know-the-community-steemit-my-first-post

welcome to steemit .... greeting from indonesian (^_^)

Thank you, and hello from the the states

hello @koday94 and welcome to steemit!

this is a great place with a great community .. glad to have you.
@ricmark

Thank and I'm happy to be here

Hi Kody, Welcome to steemit. I can see that you've put a lot of effort into your intro post. I'm sure you'll do well :)

Thank you. I'm happy you noticed my effort, I feel first impressions are import.

It's all about adding value here Koday. The best way to get up and running, and build your own followers here on steemit, is to checkout the tags of subjects that you're interested in. If you read a post that you received value from, then comment on it. If your comment is relevant, meaningful and adding value to the post, then other followers will recognise that and naturally want to check out your posts.
Peace.

Welcome to Steemit Kody^^

You shared a nice post.

You work from your basement as a craftsman. This is great!! My Dad worked a boring mill for 40 years in a machine shop. I can kind of imagine the work going on in your place. I'm into poetry and just got into painting. I hope you enjoy Steemit. You have some wonderful crafts. If you click on Woodstock you can see my blog. My first advice for Steemit is to just browse and comment posts you like. If you have any problem then feel free to leave a comment on my blog.
@mineopoly

Hint: You can see who upvoted you if you click the triangle next to votes. You can even see the amount they upvote on busy.org

Thank you, and if you follow me I tend to do poems or quotes on the signs and picture frames that I make.

I will keep up with you @koday. Any interaction with my posts and I will notice you and come back to your blog here and see what cool stuff you put up here. I'm looking forward to it.

Great intro post @koday94! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @bobaphet sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Thank you very much. I'll be sure to check out your contest.

Welcome! Its an exciting time to be part of the blockchain. Those pieces of work look great. It's lucky to find somnething you love.

As for steemit there us heaps to learn so I'm sure you will never get bored but here are some helpful hints I have learned over the last few months.

5 things I learned in 5 minutes!. Best of luck and I hope to see you around the block.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61