What I've Learned In 3 Days On Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Welcome Home

I’ve been on the site for three days now, and I think I have a pretty good sense of what this platform is all about. no idea what I’m doing here.

A Few Things To Note:

I am not in any way in a position of authority on this site, I’m not trying to challenge anyone’s beliefs about how the site runs, or how the Steemit community works. I’m just here to tell you what I’ve seen, nothing more, nothing less.

The Steemit Environment Harbors Promotional Dialogue

Going through the posts of MANY of the users here on Steemit, one thing kept popping out at me. All of the comments I’ve seen are positive comments. Because the users are incentivised to MAKE MONEY by receiving upvotes, replies, and resteems, they tend to post only positive comments.

I am all for good dialogue, but I think there’s a line between good and healthy dialogue.

Although all of the comments I’ve seen so far are VERY positive in nature, they often do NOT provide any insight or constructive criticism that could help the author offer MORE value to the community. I think in a way, by limiting the replies in this way, the progress of content on Steemit could be slower than if we were to allow for all comments to be acceptable.

Steemians LOVE A Good Witchhunt

Reading certain posts about “drama” within the Steemit community, it’s interesting to see how triggered some Steemians get over other people in the comments of those posts. I’ve seen some users with a Reputation above 60 call out other users, sending all of their followers to go attack that person on their page.

This doesn’t really bother me. I don’t participate in them (yet) and if I did, it ultimately won’t do anything. But it’s about the other side of the issue that bothers me.

The comments. Back to the line between good and productive dialogue, I’ve seen a few instances where a user comments something that the majority doesn’t necessarily agree with.

Although I might not agree, I do think that promoting a conversation about anything REMOTELY controversial is a good thing within itself. Not trying to get too into detail, by allowing controversial conversation to flourish helps in twofold.

  1. It identifies the problem.
  2. It gets people involved in working toward a solution.

I’m not sure exactly what implications will occur within the Steemit community if this paradigm shift occurs, but I think it would be an interesting thought experiment.

Apparently Whales Have Been Taught to Use Computers.

There are users on this site, the VERY first generation of Steemians, who have rose among the ranks. These users, some have paid to play (but that’s for another time), others gained notoriety organically. I’m not entirely sure how they influence the community, but I do know that if they support you, then you’re dead set for success on the site.

Whales (or Dolphins, I’ve seen the terms used interchangeably) are the major players on the site. They have the highest amount of steem power and are the most influential people on the site because their voting power is maxed out.

Final Thoughts

I’ll post an update to this post in a few more days. Right now, Steemit looks like a promising platform for new users to make a little bit of money off the site, if they play nice.

If you enjoyed the article, be sure to follow me @kava as I explore the lands of Steemit and hopefully learn more about what it takes to be a Steemian!

Be sure to upvote and comment about your first few days on the site!

Anything I missed?

Thanks!

@kava

steemit.png

Sort:  

The incentives of good comments weed out the trash that is constantly posted under great youtube videos. I would constantly see comments on youtube making fun of someones accent or the way they look. Its pathetic, and I dont think ill ever see that here. #Steemitlifer

I completely agree @bscot I think it's kinda cool how support is the way to go.

First post I've ever read on this platform. I like the idea of a solution to the demonetization policies of youtube. Thanks for sharing the truth as you see it.

Yeah no problem! I'm glad I was your first read!

I shot you a follow! Hit me back for more stuff just like this!

@kava, always good to see from different perspective. I guess everyone here is doing their best to post quality content. And with a community this big, i am sure there will be some "politics" involve. But by and large am sure everyone here feels the supportive community here is refreshing from the real world out there. Following you.

@whatsupz, I completely agree with you, there definitely is some politics involved, i.e. who can post the wittiest/most supportive comment to outpace everyone else. And YES, it is SO refreshing to see a community built almost entirely out of support. Followed back.

Welcome to Steemit @kava :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

I do like your intro @ kava … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/artificial-intelligence-ai-must-be-designed-for-the-good-of-mankind

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my UPVOTE tick for the welcome, and hope you will FOLLOW to be up to date on posts ..!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Woe! I'm too new I guess to see any of these argument encounters but they sound like an awful lot of fun! LOL The funny thing about the internet - and life - is that we have the power to control how we feel about ourselves. When trash goes on the attack - eh - water off a ducks back. Nice post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82