Hi! I’m Katrina Ariel: part lioness, rebel for life, author, musician, and yoga teacher. I smile a lot.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Katrina Ariel is on Steemit

Hello, everyone! I’m thrilled to be here!

Before I say anything else, I’ll clarify my “part lioness” description. When I think of myself as part lion, I instantly feel stronger. It inspires me. I identify with the courage and grace of the lioness—not that I’m always graceful and strong, but a girl can try.

I'm a cat person, but I adore dogs and love animals in general. I’ve adopted quite a few rescues over the years, and even volunteered at a wild animal sanctuary for tigers, lions, and wolves. Such an amazing experience!

Katrina with Lion

Creativity is huge for me, as is my love for the earth. I hug trees. Singing in the forest is my happy place. Nature keeps me sane—not normal, but reasonably sane.

My parents took me to see Empire Strikes Back (Star Wars Episode V) at age 4, which might explain some of my deeper issues, but it sparked a life-long love of Princess Leia, who became my idol. I'm a rebel for life.

Katrina on Canada Day
photo: Greg Eymundson, insight-photography.com

Though I was born in the USA, I jumped ship and moved to Canada in the year 2000. At the time, having health insurance wasn’t even on my radar—I just wanted to live in Whistler and snowboard. Now I call my US reps advocating for children who don’t have coverage, speaking up for net neutrality, and shaking my head at the horrifying stupidity of a fatally broken system. I’m super-grateful I live in Canada, but we’re all on this planet together.

I don’t know if contacting government officials achieves anything, but I feel guilty if I don’t use my voice. I don’t call every day, because it inevitably spikes my anxiety levels (and they don’t need extra stimulation, thank you very much), but I do what I can when I’m able.

To those of you out there calling, marching, voting, running for office, and otherwise working to bring integrity to systems of government everywhere, THANK YOU!

handstand

I love to travel, though I don’t do a lot of it these days. Here's me doing a handstand on the equator in Quito, Ecuador (above), and a backbend in a tree in New Orleans (below).

Katrina yoga

I’m a yoga teacher with complicated feelings towards yoga as a whole. Certain aspects of yoga have been immeasurably helpful for me, but I’m disillusioned with the industry—the human failings seen in every other profession occur in the yoga world, too. So I guess I'm still working on coming to grips with humanity in general. (Yoga helps.)

After years of intensive teaching, including training new yoga teachers, I retired to have kids. Now, yoga gives me tools to bring calm to chaos. It helps me live as skillfully as possible, forgive myself when I mess up, and move on. I love sharing things that inspire me, in case they also work for others. Look for self-care posts on my feed (they'll be peppered between random writing and pictures of cats).

On a more personal note, I have to work to stay grounded instead of letting anxiety and depression take over. Yoga helps tons. So does nature. Also water, eating, exercising, laughing, and unplugging. Some days are better than others, and I manage to keep an optimistic outlook overall, but sometimes it's tough. If you’re struggling, remember, you’re not alone. Deep breaths and self-care are where it’s at, hang in there!

Toby the cat

As a mother of twins, motherhood is amazing and intense, but I try not to talk about it much on social media (except when I do, in which case, expect raw honesty). Occasionally, I might go on a rant or gush about how much I love my kids, but you won’t see pics of them on my feed (over-protective mama bear). Don’t worry, I’ll post kitty pics instead. That's Toby the cat sitting in the sink.

books

Books, books, wonderful books!

Reading saved me as a child, and writing is my therapy. My first full-length work was a screenplay that was pretty awful, but I learned a lot, listened to feedback, and wrote something else. Two of my books are published. They are YOGA FOR DRAGON RIDERS (non-fiction) and WILD HORSE HEART (romance), in case you’re interested.

Cover artwork by Liiga Smilshkalne. Isn't that dragon gorgeous? (I have a thing for dragons.)

Yoga for Dragon Riders

Yes, I wrote a yoga manual for fantasy lovers. It's been used in yoga teacher trainings and by students worldwide (which will never stop being amazing to me).

Since retiring from teaching four years ago, I’ve written seven novels in different genres, including contemporary, fantasy, and science-fiction, and I’m especially interested in the potential Steemit has as a publishing platform. I love books, and tend to get along with people who love books. If you’re a writer, please say hello!

Finding genuine online community is huge for me.

As an introvert, I appreciate being able to have a social life without having to change out of my yoga clothes or feel awkward making small talk (I hate small talk). I value the conversations that happen between people all over the world, and am looking forward to finding like-minded friends on Steemit.

I believe small things make a big difference. Buying local, contributing to charities, smiling at strangers, random acts of kindness, being open-minded enough to see the genius in things like Bitcoin and Steemit—this is how change happens. I’m doing my best to make the world a better place, and am always happy to meet others doing the same.

Did I mention I’m stoked to be here?

My links:

Steemit: @katrina-ariel
Website: KatrinaAriel.com
Amazon: Katrina's books on Amazon
Twitter: @KatrinaAriel

Katrina Ariel

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steem World - the rebel alliance of the internet!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/tuswb0ao
I wish you all the best here on Steem!

"The rebel alliance of the internet!" Now I love it even more. :)

Thanks for the welcome and the links. I totally appreciate you sharing things that took you a while to figure out. One of the things that excites me about Steemit is that we can reward each other for being generous and putting out quality content. Hooray for that!

Welcome to the platform ; im sure you will love it here, and the community as well, im looking for people to build a team, to start a project to bring more people to steemit ; let me know if you would like to collaborate .

Thank you for the welcome! I'm just getting my feet wet here (and have precious little free-time as a mom), so not ready to jump on board with a collaboration, but I'm always happy to build community organically. Good luck with your project!

well all it takes is being able to send an email or two ; basically the same thing as making a post on here, or checking facebook .
I get emails weekly for online articles or magazines looking for writers, so im looking for a team of people to basically help me reply to the emails i get and tell them about steemit - which will help the entire community by bringing not only the writers / editors / magazines / articles, but they can talk to their readers and followers about steemit which would have this platform kill facebook, much the same way that myspace died all those years ago .

What an amazing introduction post! I will be looking forward to your yoga and self-care related posts and anything else about bringing integrity to systems of government everywhere! ;)

Cheers from a part tiger!

Thank you so much! And YAY for being part tiger! Such amazing animals. Here's a pic of me with a couple old friends. :)

Katrina with tigers

big cats are SO incredible and powerful, so sad to see them out of their natural habitat, but glad they were in a sanctuary with some positive vibes and side rubs!

Hello! You are a very energetic person and a cheerful girl. I like your way of life and what you do. We are very similar to you and I hope that we can make friends here.
I wish good luck and finish all your goals. :)

Hi Ushkina! Yes, I tend to get excited about things. lol! Thank you for saying hello. I've followed you and look forward to reading more of your posts. :)

I as well as you are waiting for your messages. I think your country is very beautiful and highly developed. In Canada, the best medicine in the world

Welcome on Steemit, Katrina! I hope you enjoy your stay on here! :)

Thanks so much! I'm sure I will. :)

Hello Katrina,
I am an introvert too, and HSP (High Sensitive Person). It has not
always been easy, but the more I stay aware of these
characteristics of mySelf, the more I enjoy these.
Welcome to steemit!

You're so right—the more we stay aware of who we are, the easier it is to navigate the world around us (my experience, anyway). Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome! Huge Calvin and Hobbes fan here, excited to see you read it too!

YAY! I was wondering if anyone would notice that book. The best comic, IMHO. :)

Hiya, just stopping by after you left such a supportive comment on my post. :)

I'm an introvert too, and don't post pics of my kids (and hardly of our pets either come to think of it, lol) so can relate very well to what you've said. I find it so much easier to interact via the internet these days - far less pressure, plus there's a backspace key!

Love the title of your Yoga for Dragon Riders book - congrats that it has been so widely appreciated. :)

Thank you for the lovely comment! I'm glad you like the title of the book, too. Really, it just popped into my head. The dragons are my muses. :)

I totally agree about it being much easier to interact online. I have so many people I genuinely consider friends, all over the world, who I've never met face to face, yet only a handful of friends I see on any kind of a regular basis. So glad to meet you!

You too! :)
Yes, I find this is the way life has unfolded, and it suits my introverted nature well, lol. If I have to converse IRL I feel so rusty at it.

One of the best things I've found about Steemit (and Discord) so far is the diversity of people I have conversed with; the opportunities for this just don't happen on other platforms so easily, in my experience.

Welcome to steemit! You will love it here!

Imma have to follow you :p
Check out my last picture from last night (last post)

If you like it follow me for more!

Cheers =)

Thanks so much for the welcome and the follow! I followed back and am looking forward to more of your lovely photos!

You are such an amazing person. Welcome to steemit. It's really nice meeting you here. Let's change the world together. #SDG1MU

Aw, thank you so much! What a kind thing to say. I'm very glad to meet you. Yes! Let's change the world together. All the best to you and your project #SDG1MU! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62