Hi I’m KaliKat – Welcome to my life in poems

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

When Life Throws you Lemons

Hello Steemians,
I guess the appropriate thing to do is to introduce myself and let you all know a little bit about what I’ll be posting on here.
My name is KaliKat – obviously not my real name but it’s close – I write poetry and have done since I was young, although my younger poems have been lost due to me not really seeing the importance of them.
I write about real things, things that have happened to me - or my family. It’s how I processed things, how I got through the tough times, how I remembered the happy times.
Some of my poems are funny, some are sad, some are wishes, but all are fragments of my life…
I will appreciate your feedback and encourage your questions… my life, for want of a better way of putting it, is an open book.
A little back ground on me – I am married for the second time around, and this time I’m extremely happy… a majority of my poetry is a legacy of my past life… the only thing good that came from that was my 2 children who turned out better than I could have hoped for given the circumstances, and subsequently my grandchildren – I have been truly blessed.
I’ve not always followed the right path, but for the most part, I always tried to do the right thing by others if not by myself… I’ve lived, I’ve loved, I’ve been challenged, I’ve been hurt and have come out the other side relatively unscathed, but forever changed, I would hope, for the better.
I often wonder where life would have taken me had I chosen a different path, or partner early on… one thing is for sure, I am who I am because of the road I walked regardless of its potholes and bends and right now, I’m loving where it has taken me.
The poems that I post may or may not be in the order that events happened.
I hope you enjoy them… you may even find you relate to some of them.
Welcome to the Windows of My Soul.

Here’s a little taste to wet your appetite
I wrote this in 1981 to identify myself as an organ donor and still carry the original typewriter version in my purse today.

Take what you want

If there's any parts left in this body of mine,
after the darkness sets in...
I'd like to donate them to somebody else,
so that they may live life with a grin...
My lungs have been smoking for most of the time,
and my livers not worth very much...
My hearts used to loving and caring for things,
and it warms to the slightest of touch...
So if there are things you can use in this bod,'
whilst taking them Handle with Care...
and as I look down on the earth from my star,
I'll see part of me still living there...

I hope you enjoyed my post and I look forward to sharing more with you soon.
Cheers
KaliKat :)

Sort:  

Nice cat!

thanks very much.. I think so too.. :) :)

Kalikat, meet Flo ;)

Thanks - She's a Siberian :)

Tell your wife thank you for letting you spend so much time for all these years helping us get to the place where we are today! Steem would likely not exist without the community to which you are such an amazing contributor!

ummm ...Thanks, I think, but I'm the wife.. :P

I guess the appropriate thing to do is to introduce myself and let you all know a little bit about what I’ll be posting on here.
My name is KaliKat – obviously not my real name but it’s close – I write poetry and have done since I was young, although my younger poems have been lost due to me not really seeing the importance of them.
A little back ground on me – I am married for the second time around, and this time I’m extremely happy… a majority of my poetry is a legacy of my past life… the only thing good that came from that was my 2 children who turned out better than I could have hoped for given the circumstances, and subsequently my grandchildren – I have been truly blessed.
I’ve not always followed the right path, but for the most part, I always tried to do the right thing by others if not by myself… I’ve lived, I’ve loved, I’ve been challenged, I’ve been hurt and have come out the other side relatively unscathed, but forever changed, I would hope, for the better.
I often wonder where life would have taken me had I chosen a different path, or partner early on… one thing is for sure, I am who I am because of the road I walked regardless of its potholes and bends and right now, I’m loving where it has taken me.
I hope you enjoyed my post and I look forward to sharing more with you soon.

Welcome to Steemit @kalikat!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create AMAZING content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Thanks for the advice, I'll be sure to read it :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 11.1 and reading ease of 73%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Thanks, I'll try to improve on that.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 61113.87
ETH 2682.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46