The Initial Ramblings of a Reformed Fracker and Unrepentant Wanderer

Greetings from Pulau Pinang!

So, this is my delayed introduction post on Steemit. I've managed to write a post and resteem a few other interesting things I've read while getting acquainted with the platform. It seems as though now is the time to share a little about myself and, I suppose, warn you about what you might expect to read from following my blog.

Hydraulic fracturing, plus a workover rig, in Colorado:
Well.jpg

I think I'll start this off by giving some of the highlights of where I've come from and where I think I'm going from here. I was born and raised in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania; but I left home at 18 and I've been gone for all but maybe a total of 12 months out of the nearly 156 months since I first set off to Toronto, Ontario. Toronto lead me to Copenhagen, Ottawa, Kyiv, Cairo, Jerusalem, Ottawa (again), and plenty of places in between until I began studying anthropology at the University of Lethbridge in southern Alberta. From there, an accident of fate lead me into somehow working as an automation technician in the oil and gas industry, where I spent most of the following 5 years working on instrumentation and control systems for hydraulic fracturing equipment.

Some of the expensive things I used to get paid to break/catch on fire:
PLC.jpg


"I do not think there is any theoretical or analytical discourse which is not permeated or underpinned in one way or another by something like an imperative discourse. However, in the theoretical domain, the imperative discourse that consists in saying 'love this, hate that, this is good, that is bad, be for this, beware of that,' seems to me...to be no more than an aesthetic discourse that can only be based on choices of an aesthetic order." -Michel Foucault


Driving to a job site at an oil well in Utah:
Utah.jpg

I have a lot to say about "frac", or "frack" depending on your preference (people in the industry write it without the 'k'). Most of what you think you know about frac has been written by journalists who try to do their best writing about a subject they know nothing about with absolutely no credible information available. Hopefully I can help you out with this! I find it very problematic that the people who are opposed to hydraulic fracturing often make up for their lack of technical knowledge on the topic with an extra layer of righteous indignation and/or sensationalism, which only undermines their credibility among those readers that they should be trying to target. I'll give a quick preview here: if you say things like "fracking rig" or "fracking well", you're only betraying your ignorance. Stop using those words. People in the industry don't tell you this because they like having a laugh at your expense.

Two drilling rigs and a pumpjack in west Texas:
Texas.jpg


"I was surprised, as always, by how easy leaving was, and how good it felt. The world was suddenly rich with possibility." -Jack Kerouac


You might be wondering how an anthropologist and avid wanderer became a fracker...but a reformed fracker? Well, I embraced that time of my life for what it was: an opportunity to explore the human condition, be involved in some mentally stimulating work, and travel all around the western United States. I was able to satisfy my need to travel within this industry, which kept my interest longer than it may have otherwise done. But, after years of working nearly 4000 hours per year, risking my safety, and sacrificing my health for really not all that much money, I got sick of it. I was living in Las Vegas at the time and I simply disposed of all my things and bought a one-way ticket to Mumbai in India.

In the past year and a half I've been mostly in India and Nepal; but, while planning to carry on to Malaysia, I took a detour to Haiti for a few months and then had an extremely challenging and somewhat hilarious bus trip from Barcelona to Lviv via Bonn and Krakow. After a month in Ukraine, I continued on to Athens by train and bus, where I then caught a flight to Kathmandu. And now I'm in Malaysia. I hope to share that and many other stories about not giving a fuck, embracing the randomness of life, and how to not own so much crap.

As for now, I work as a consultant advising clients on things involving the Internet of Things, blockchain, machine learning, and other cool stuff; and I like travelling. I speak a few languages to varying degrees of terribleness and I hope to mangle a few more in my days. I'm sure I'll find the time to ponder languages and philosophy, as well as topics related to technology and science. I'll also share lots more photos of cool places I've been and, of course, things that I've drunk and eaten.

From Athens:
Athens.jpg

From Reykjavik:
wine.jpg

Sort:  

An impressive resume of life experience. I'm curious enough to follow.

Did you take all those pictures?! You should post more of those, I think the Steemit community would like that. upvoted and followed @jscottdavis28. Keep up the good work, and good luck to all of your future steemit adventures!

I did! Thank you! More photos to come!

dude what happened with your safety lines .... see NONE in place ...I would not let the job start as it is ....!!! I do like your intro @jscottdavis28 … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/facebook-is-moderating-my-writings-are-my-rights-for-freedom-of-speech-taken-away-does-this-depends-on-whether-i-say-i-love-you

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

https://steemit.com/security/@indepthstory/how-is-it-that-hackers-steal-information-from-companies-read-this-easy-to-understand-information-sure-it-will-help

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my UPVOTE tick for the welcome, and hope you will FOLLOW to be up to date on posts ..!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Thanks! Followed. I'll take a look at your posts you've shared, as well.

Hello there @jscottdavis28 and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Welcome aboard, @jscottdavis28! I'm glad you decided to give it a whirl, despite my shitty explanation of the platform. lol Steemit would do good to have your thoughts/experiences/travels shared.

Welcome to Steemit! I've followed you :)

Welcome to the this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here its not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go along way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Welcome to Steemit! Fracking is a huge topic of debate in Arkansas these days. (Nice Kerouac quote, btw!)

So intense information :) u already crushing it
would love to see more content from you :)
check my introduction https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@mirage/proper-introduction-of-myself-hey-steemians would love to connect with everybody

Thank you! I plan to go to Kazakhstan maybe next year. ты говоришь по-русский?

Да , аж на 4 языках :)
Сейчас в Казахстане проводится EXPO 2017 (гугл в помощь) безвизовый режим и до 10 сентября всемирная выстовка , смешными ценами думаю поезду организовать не сложно будет :)
Удачи в стимите ) в голосе сидите ?

Я тоже jscottdavis28 в голосе, но Я все же ничего не написал!

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04