Q: Who is the best new rock artist? A: JD McPherson: The Savior Rock and Roll Deserves

The last time I saw a band twice in a week was 1986. Hüsker Dü was and still is one of my favorite bands.

The first and only time I saw a band I’d never heard of twice in one week was when JD McPherson played New York City in February. If I estimated that I listened to this band’s recordings 10 times each between that Wednesday show at the Bowery and my trek from New Jersey to the Music Hall of Williamsburg for the Saturday show, you’d probably think I was exaggerating. So here are the numbers for that period, scrobbled from my Spotify playlist to Last.fm:

Signs & Signifiers LP: 12

The Warm Covers EP: 7

Let the Good Times Roll LP: 14

Who is this man from Broken Arrow, Okla., with his stylin’ band of 1950s-by-way-of-punk-rock crooners? A graying, debonair upright bass thumper who doubles as a music impresario in Chicago? A drummer so good he’s what Buddy Rich would have been had he been raised on both jazz and rock music? A smash-it-like-Jerry-Lee-Lewis piano player in a pristine baseball cap? A prodigy employing a litany of guitars, saxophones and other miscellaneous instruments?

Read the rest here:
http://observer.com/2015/04/jd-mcpherson-is-the-savior-rock-and-roll-deserves/

Sort:  

wellcome

Welcome to Steemit @john-packel!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create AMAZING content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44