My Biggest mistakes: Essentials for Red Fish in vast oceansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Screenshot_2016-03-31-00-17-46.png

My name is John Cleef Simeon I was born in Haiti and raised in Boston Mass. i am 29 years young.

After my first full week on steemit i can say i’ve learned a few things, made some mistakes (did somebody say steak?) no no no i said mistake 😁… alright now where was I?

Thats right some mistakes that i feel i outa share with our new steemians and hope they won't repeat what i've done.

1: The most important first step into steemit is an introduction which I did not do but somethings are better done late than never right? Of course it is ! now ask yourself … if you got a new follower and decided hey let me follow back and of course you go on their page to learn about them and No intro, no personal info…. For all you know that person is really an EVILLL ROBOT ARRRGGGGHHH…humans_by_winslow69-daj2gxf.gif

Hahaha well maybe not that

But all and all some of you might be like me just a “red fish” (for now) and feel intimidated or just plain shy about telling people how awesome you are, but never ever forget you are a force, so get out there and introduce yourself we are looking forward to meeting you.

2: Steempower- if you already have steem, convert it to steempower ( can be done by going clicking your profile pic and go to wallet). The more steempower you have the more weight your votes carry and the more curation rewards you will receive, but i would recommend learning about the steem tokens that fuel this amazing platform before doing that.

3: After powering up

And creating your introduction take a sometime browsing around and getting to know your fellow steemians by upvoting posts that you like and leave comments. Now while you're at it you might be tempted to ask for upvotes and follow back in the comments, ehhhh to each his own but i'd say Stop don't do it. You don't go around asking people you just met for money do you? Absolutely not! and since your upvote has a monetary value i feel like asking for it is like asking for money. And honestly if they like your comment they will gladly upvote it.

4: Commenting and upvoting- when it comes to comments, the traditional “awesome post” “great read” and the likes are a bit of a waste of time. Leave comments that really engage the author, I mean some people put a lot of work doing research, and writing their blog so a thoughtful comment goes a long way.

Upvotes ( my favorite) now now don't be like me … the guy who used all his steempower on his first day and boy does it take its time going back up. I've read that you should upvote 15 to 20 times a day but i may be wrong and if so please someone correct me.
Also these website will help you monitor your account
https://steemnow.com/
https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts
https://steemstats.com/#!/

And last but not least

5- have fun on here, be yourself also there's a lot of awesome people to meet,a lot to learn and do not quit if you feel like a red fish out of water. Oh yea most importantly tell everyone you know about this great community, help them set up an account so that we can all go FULLLL STEEEM AHEAD!!!

Thank you y'all for reading this and STEEM ON friends

Ps i am not a content curator nor a blogger but i'd like to learn so your feedback means the world to me.

John Simeon

#introduceyourself #steem #life #writing #steemit

Sort:  

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

@predictor2100 sounds good ill be looking forward to it

Welcome to steemit !! Enjoy this beautiful world! Followed. Follow me back 😘

@kassie-vegas thank for the warm welcome, ill be sure to follow you back :)

Nice post. I'm someone who wasted all my steam power the first day. I'm new around here and every post with tips I look at. I followed you and look forward to your future posts. I'm not sure if I will ever be successful in the financial aspect, but I'm enjoying meeting new people and having a creative outlet filled with positivity. I would love to see this platform grow.

hey @legosnjoystcks running out of SP is more frustrating than drinking milk on a hot day 😂. i spent the last week reading tips i know how you feel bro. as for success finance wise just do what you enjoy and the money will come in eventually. ill follow back i was wish you luck on your travels.

Thank you! I've spent that last two days recharging a bit.

Welcome to Steemit @jcleef !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

thank you for the support @khunfarang

A very warm welcome to you; you have made the right choice by coming joining steemit. This community has a wide range of interaction platforms (tags) to give you an area to express your feelings and opinions. The community also has a team of devoted and reputable steemit gurus awaiting you to engage with. I look forward to interacting with you in this community! @myhealth

thank you @myhealth, yes i'm noticing after each passing day how awesome this community is and i am grateful. currently trying to show my friends what potential steemit has but of course they think its a scam or something and prefer to stay with fb and instagram, but i have a feeling they will joining soon. there is a treasure trove of info here so i'm looking forward to learning and becoming better at writing .

thanks again ill be sure to follow you

continue building your empire.

Welcome to Steemit, @jcleef!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

haha no problem @moisesmcardona, its been a week but slowly getting the hang of things. happy to see the support.

You're welcome!

Hi,welcome to steemit@jcleef,so dont worry we all are here for help each other in any way,i recommend this web site Coinpayments.netits allowing you,exchanging your sdb in and out to your wallet.Dont forget to check out chainbb web site and steemit.chat you will also found a lot of content in steemtools,will follow your profil.Please follow me too , this how steem works so wish you a warm steemday.Thanks a lot best regard @empower-leads

Welcome to Steemit @jcleef!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01