Hi, I’m Dan-onymous.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, folks. My name is Dan. But not really.


(source: kaboompics.com)

I’m here to write. I’m here to learn. It seems to me that the only way to truly learn a given subject is to write about it. I read a lot, I listen to informative podcasts, I’m always learning. But when I want to have a conversation with someone about something I’ve read, I don’t remember enough of the information to present the information properly. I figure that if I spend all of the extra time in research, and writing, if I’m still not conversant on a topic, I can say “hang on, I wrote it down”. My intention is to produce well researched, and properly cited blogs on a variety of subjects. My interests range from Esoteric Philosophy, to Social Dynamics, Activism, Physics, Psychology, and more. Not that I have a ton of experience writing, but that’s why I’m here. Writing to Learn, Learning to Write.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flammarion_engraving

(source: wikipedia)

Why I choose to remain anonymous.

I don’t care to have my content judged based upon what I look like, how I dress, or where I live. I’m also not trying to “make a name for myself”. I just want to get good at being a writer, learn, share knowledge, and enjoy your digital company.

I spent the last few days reading steemit.com/welcome, steemit.com/faq.html, some of the posts in “Introduceyourself”, advice on how to how to avoid copy-write infringement, and generally getting acquainted with the site. I even went for a long bike ride, washed some dishes, and did some life too. I’m glad to have found Steemit, the idea of this is definitely exciting. I recently deactivated my facebook account, and started looking for something different. I’ve spent a short time on reddit, which is actually how I found out about steemit. Other than that, I don’t have any active social networking profiles. I grew up with computers, and the internet, but the last 10 years my lifestyle has kept me from keeping up with the times. I’m glad to be here at what feels like a new forefront of the web.

I think the best chance for long term success within steemit is creating quality, original, creative content. I’m going to do my part to make a positive contribution to this community, and am looking forward to discovering what you all have to say.

Looks like if I want to use any of my work here on other sites or contrariwise, while still maintaining a relative amount of anonyminity, I should register an alias with a blockchain service. At some point I may even choose to link my “government name” to steemit. For instance, if I earned a considerable amount of steem, or if I wanted to publish a work that includes content that originated with this account, those are two situations which would beg me consider putting my name\picture on this site.

My understanding, is:

  • as long as I don’t post pictures of myself (or a bunch of awesome photography I claim as mine) , I won’t be as likely to be asked for proof of identity.
  • if I want to use the same content on steemit and other sites, that I should verify on that site that I am the same person.

doggo

(source: Karen Arnold via publicdomainpictures.net)

So, now I ask you:

  • Are there any other considerations that I might want to have in mind?
  • Is there anything else you would like to know about me?

What type of content do you like to see on here? After I’ve written a few posts it might be easier to make suggestions, after knowing what my style is. Still, I’m interested.

Thanks for having me, and thanks for stopping by.
-Danonymous

P.s. Since a large part of why I am here is to practice writing, I will always be open to constructive criticism. Feel free to give me shit if I misspell something, make a grammatical error, or do sloppy work, and help me know what I can do better!

Just another alien baby

alien hitch-hiker

(source: Piotr Siedlecki via publicdomainpictures.net)
[edit]

Further reading:
How to credit your blog images
Markdown Cheetsheet

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @inquiringtimes I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey Dan, welcome to steemit.
I as well, joined only a short time ago (4 days to be precise) partially in order to enhance my writing skills and so far everything has been working out great for me. I have tried my best to share some quality content and have therefore been rewarded by some quite nice comments and quite some upvotes.
I am sure if I can achieve such a thing within days, anybody can.
So I wish you my best luck and a good time here on steemit :)

awesome! thank you. I'm primarily on a plant based diet, checked out a few of your posts and followed.

That's great, one does not need to go full vegan or vegetarian just reducing the immense amount of meat we consume can make a huge difference. Thanks a lot, I will defenitely keep an eye on you :)

Never mind the absence of pic, @inquiringtimes ! Just for such a deep and thoughtful article, you deserve my 100% upvote! Welcome and enjoy! Looking forward reading from you.

Welcome to the Steemfamily !!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Hey there @inquiringtimes or danonymous. 😉 Welcome to steemit! I'm sure you will make a success here in steemit. Just keep up some good quality content and make sure to use pictures. If you want more advice follow me or check out my account. I wish you luck. 😊

Thank you, I'll be sure to keep an eye on your blog :-)

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Hi inquiringtimes. Welcome to steem community! Great post, I will follow you. Please follow me too at @gaman

I sent you a small TIP $$$. Hope you appreciate it.

Bonjour,hi @inquiringtimes welcome to steemit,check out chainbb web site and steemit.chat.Sometimes cashing out is a problem,so dont worry we all are here for help each other in any way,have a look here Coinpayments.net this site and this wallet can you allow you to send money in and out steemit to your crypto wallet.Will follow your profil. Please follow me too , this how steem works, thanks a lot best regard @empower-leads.

Hi inquiringtimes. Welcome to steem community! Great post, I will follow you. Please follow me too at @gaman

I sent you a small TIP $$$. Hope you appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39