Hey Steemit! Allow me to introduce myself / How I lost 110lbs / My bunnies

My name is Melissa and I'm a full-time business owner who makes hula hoops and teaches people how to hula hoop. YES! this is a thing!

921317_10153258915360924_7404512740445930793_o.jpg

Although hooping has been around for awhile now, a lot of people are still incredibly surprise when I share with them my profession.

Isn't hooping for kids?!

Sure, hula hoops are for kids, but my main focus is grown hooping.

Why?

Because hooping as an adult has many benefits which include but not limited to the following:

  • Reduce stress
  • It is a fun way to workout
  • Balance and coordination increases

Just to name a few. :) I'll definitely be talking more about hooping in my future blogs, but this leads me to how I lost 110lbs.

It's crazy to look back on my life in the last 6 years and see so much change that was contributed to this simple plastic circle - a hula hoop.

Before I discovered grownup hooping, I was nearly 300lbs and literally at my wits end. I suffered from depression and had severe panic attacks at work almost daily. It frightens me to talk about this but for awhile I was dancing around the idea of suicide. As I type this, I'm in tears just remembering the emotions I once had and hopeless I was feeling. I had lost my purpose in life or maybe I never found it.

Fast forward, my friend dragged me out of the house and took me to a concert where I saw hoop dancing for the first time. I remember my heart pounding really hard as I was captivated by this dancer on stage with a hula hoop! Here's the original clip from that night!

It was in that moment when I knew my life would never be the same. Sure enough, 6 years later I had quit my corporate position to make plastic circles and teach people how to make changes in there lives with this tool.

I know I know....this sounds ridiculous! But it's true. :)

I lost 110lbs within 6 years all from hula hooping. I found my life's purpose and I'm a completely new person.

7-4-2017 11-48-11 PM.jpg

If you'd like to hear more details about my story, please comment below and upvote me. :D I'm so excited to share my life's journey with you all. :)

SO....getting to the bunnies. YEP! I have two bunnies! It's wonderful to have them in a room next time me as I work. Yes, they are not caged and YES they have an entire room for themselves. Seriously though, my next goal in life is the have a bunny sanctuary!

Here are my babies....

This is Dusty. He is 8 years old today and we rescued him off the street of Los Angeles. Literally! He was in a tiny cage with no water and no food. It was awful to see him in such conditions, so I had to take him home. Thankfully the cops shut down the area and so far there have been no citing of animals being sold on the streets.
1936991_194430266040_4589806_n.jpg

And this is Squishy. About one year ago after Easter Day, my friend found this little white cotton ball in the courtyard of his apartment complex being batted around by two cats. No joke! He brought her to us and well yea...of course we kept her. :)
13006604_10153966866796041_3664982139487533613_n.jpg

That's all for now! Thank you all again for taking the time to read my story. :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @heysuperhooper I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much!! :D

Congratulations @heysuperhooper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You seem like a very interesting woman! and you look amazing!!! Perhaps I should try hula hooping... lol.

Thank you so much for reading! :D I hope you will. It's so much fun! If you need any help, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Oh I need help alright lol. Any time I've attempted it stays up for about two seconds

You need a grownup size hoop! I would recommend getting a 42" OD 160PSI Starter Hoop. Or if you already have a large hula hoop at home, try it out and focus on two push points. So, instead of making a circle with your hips, use a side to side movement or front and back. Does that make sense? If you need a better hula hoop, just email me at [email protected] or check out my website: www.superhooper.org :D

This is fantastic advice. You rock!! 😎😎😎

For a moment I thought that was you in the video :o
Good on you for pushing yourself to change your life heysuperhooper. Totally cute bunnies too :)

I wish it was! She's amazing right?! Thank you so much for reading. :D

Welcome @Heysuperhooper to Steemit! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Thank you so much!! :D

Congratulations @heysuperhooper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey. Welcome to Steemit. Hope you will have a great time here. I'll follow your account to see how you doing :). Please follow me @barteksiama.

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36