How I Ended Up Studying In South Africa

To introduce myself to the precious community of Steemit, I would like to talk about a part of my life that defines me and the way I am today. A time that I hit the rock bottom and thought I would never have risen up again.

The year 2016 was full of hassle due to the intense application process and the proficiency tests that I had to take while still trying to maintain my GPA that was just below the threshold determined by most graduate schools. There wasn’t a single day that I didn’t send e-mails to potential supervisors and administrative staff to enquire about the opportunities. My passion was to pursue a career in the pharmaceutical science, especially in cancer treatment. I knew that if I stayed in Turkey, I wouldn’t really be able to achieve success, because the pharmaceutical research in Turkey is not all that extensive. 

Skipping to the false happy ending; I got a PhD admission from a reasonably reputable university in Chicago, with a full scholarship. Then, I tried to arrange accommodation, flight tickets and the visa. Little did I know that the US visa was actually going to be the trigger of a series of unfortunate and fortunate events. 

The visa interview was very straight-forward, the officer only asked me simple questions about what I studied in Turkey and what I was going to study in the States, after which he gave me the approval slip. It was done; my dream was so close to coming true! I was above the clouds. Until I got my passport back… Instead of a stamped 4 years long student visa, I found a folded yellow paper entitled “administrative processing”. It took me half an hour of careful reading to absorb what was happening. For some unexplained reason, my application had to undergo an additional background check and all I was able to do was to wait. It was the same day of the military coup of July 15 in Turkey, which made this day to the top of the list for the worst days of my life. 

Over the six months that followed, the requests from my supervisor in Chicago, the registrar and the enquiries of a few immigration attorneys were left unanswered. Basically, a dream that I worked so hard to achieve was taken away from me and I had to accept it. Day by day, I was becoming more hopeless. In the meantime I lost someone who was a significant person to me, which pulled me further down. That was when I decided to make a fresh start. For that to happen, I had to cut off the loose ties that kept me shackled. I sent an e-mail to the US Embassy requesting to withdraw my application. Their response to this was the quickest I ever got from them, and the only positive one. Then, I cancelled my PhD admission. 

The next day, I listed all the countries that I would like to study in, including many countries in Europe, Asia, Canada and even South America. The same e-mail shower and application process took place. Then one day it clicked me! When I was scrolling through my Instagram feed, I saw a recent post from a travel blogger I used to follow. It was an incredible view of the city Cape Town. I was always curious about this city and the country of South Africa, because whoever went there came back saying they wanted to move there permanently. What was it that attracted so many people? From the photos, it certainly looked more like Europe and America than Africa. The more research I did, the more complex it became. The black and the white, the luxury and the poverty, the ocean and the mountains, how could everything be so opposite and yet manage to co-exist in one place! To find out, I had to spend a part of my life there! 


When I checked the university rankings, I found out about the University of Cape Town, which had a reasonably high ranking in the top 150 of Times Higher Education list. Further research led me to discover that a very well-known Turkish physician, Canan Karatay, was part of the crew who performed the first heart transplant in the world at Groote Schuur Hospital of the University of Cape Town. What a coincidence; one of my best friends had her e-mail address and she helped me get in touch with her. Upon Prof Karatay’s friendly and encouraging response to my e-mail, I made up my mind and applied immediately.  

Long story short, I am now in the beginning of my second year of master’s in Cape Town. It has been 13 long months since I have moved to Cape Town. These 13 months were full of ups and downs, full of self-discoveries and realizations along a journey towards my inner-self. I have studied a lot, traveled a lot, hiked a lot, met a lot of people, listened to a whole spectrum of life stories, went on a lot of dates, tried a lot of different hobbies, cried a little (too much), felt desperate, felt hopeful, ate a lot of fish and chips, drank the best wines and the milkshakes I’ve ever had. I have lived and grown. If I hadn’t withdrawn my US visa application that day, maybe none of these would have happened. Do I like it? Yes, but sometimes no. Anyway, you can decide for yourselves, because I will be sharing a lot of stories and information regarding Cape Town and South Africa. Of course, once a while, I will also be sharing informative stuff about the 19 other countries that I have visited so far.

If you are keen to find out more about my travel adventures;

Blog: Harita Kurdu

Instagram: haritakurdu

Facebook: Harita Kurdu

Sort:  

South Africa is a lovely place! welcome to steemit! I am @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.

Thanks a lot for your kind wishes and the beautiful quotes you shared with us :)

Hey you are welcome to steem

Thanks a lot!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Steemit'e hoşgeldin soydaşım :)

ooo hoşbulduk :) Zaten dünyada en çok kullanılan soyadı bence bizimki :D

Bence de olabilir :)

Your photo on top overlooking the city is amazing.
Welcome to steemit. Lets follow each other to grow in the platform. Looking forward to your future posts. Good luck!

Thank you :) I followed you as well.

Cape Town has a lot of good spots overlooking the city, this is on top of Lion's Head.

Awesome place. Thank you. I'm following you.


Welcome to Steem @haritakurdu.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to South Africa :-) may your stay be a pleasant and adventurous one filled with exciting and wonderful experiences. I will be following to keep track, always good to get and outside perspective.

Best of luck with your studies too.

Hello howzit!!! So glad to see people from South Africa here :) I will definitely share eveything I know and would appreciate any feedback you can give me as a local :)

Cheers!

Will indeed try to assist where I can, there is a hashtag that I think is being used by South Africans i.e.

#teamsouthafrica

Oh my word, I had no idea! You made my day, dankie!

Haha, dit is n plesier.

Have also added you to my steemvoter, in case i miss something, as I am not always on steemit. best of luck. Enjoy your stay.

welcome to cape town! it is as you say - very special. I like how you say "Do I like it? Yes, but sometimes no. "

I feel the same, and I am from here. Do I like it? Yes, but also no. :(

Please let me know if you need help in your first days in steemit, it can be very overwhelming - my discord is princessmewmew#8501

Hello there!! Thanks for your kind comment, so glad to meet a Capetownian here, it makes me feel very welcomed.

I am planning to write a list of things I like and don't like about Cape Town. No matter how emotionally attached I am, I like to be as objective as possible.

Best wishes;

Emre

ooh! looking forward to that! followed you x

Welcome to Steem, @haritakurdu!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3154 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.18.2 : Post and Support.

Inspiring story! Glad you're happy now despite of the difficulties you had at the beginning. I believe, everything happens for a reason anyways. I'm really looking forward to your next posts about Cape Town and South Africa, you inspired me to visit it some time, it looks gorgeous! :)

Thanks a lot for your feedback :) I also believe that something bad happens to prevent something worse from happening.

I am so glad I inspired you. Please let me know if you decide to visit and if you have any questions :)

I like the way you said this, it feels so true and calming :)

Thanks for the offer, I will come back to that if I find an opportunity to go there.

Greetings! ૐ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48