Night sky photos, landscaping, debt, and puppies #introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi there! My name is Eric and I'm a night owl and early bird rolled into one. I wake up way too early in the morning just so I can have a cup of coffee and stare out my back window. I have a tiny back yard but I love landscaping, and I've been watching my trees come in since I planted them myself. When we moved in, it was a blank canvas, just an empty dirt lot.

My backyard

I mentioned I'm also a night owl, I stay up way too late and get up at odd hours to look at the stars, or to try to photograph interesting night sky objects.

DSLR on Orion EQ-1 mount

I don't have very good gear for astrophotography, but I like to try to push the limits with what I have. Try to get better and better photos with technique and not just drop a lot of money on the best scope and camera available. Needless to say, I end up with a lot of fuzzy gray blobs in my photos, but every now and then I get something pretty neat.

Below is the October 8, 2014 total lunar eclipse from Indiana, USA. This is my best photo (composite) I've ever done. I have a print of this framed in the living room. :)

Total lunar eclipse, October 8, 2014

I'm also self-taught in personal finance because I accumulated $19,000 in credit card debt in college (on top of student loans) and had to learn the mindset that comes along with saving and investing. I'm now credit card debt free, and working on my retirement. I'm only 33, but I attend a lot of the retirement workshops and benefits sessions put on by HR at work - I swear I'm like the youngest person who goes to those haha. Learning about finances and investment vehicles is how I stumbled upon the world of cryptocurrencies, and that's how I found out about Steemit. So in a long chain of events, you could say that my reckless spending in college led me down a path of education and self-discovery that ultimately led me here! If I hadn't experienced such difficult times, I wouldn't be as motivated to keep learning. That's the silver lining I guess.

I think that's all for now. Say hi, or ask me anything :) I'm a very open and curious person. All photos are my own, I've published them as creative commons non-commercial at my photography blog EricTeske.com. I might pull a few over for summary articles or something, but I don't plan to copy and paste everything over. So far I think Steemit looks like a more interactive, more personal community, and I'm not here to just recycle old content.

Oh, I can't let you go without introducing you to my dogs, Zoey and Katie!

Zoey and Katie

See ya round! -Eric

Sort:  

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to steemit brother-of-name! Your garden seems pretty taken care of and your dogs are lovely! I hope you have a great time here on steemit, if you have any Qs do not hesitate and write on one of my posts.

Thanks Eric, I'll check out your stuff! :)

hi welcome here to steemit have fun..

kiindly follow and check me @jordagadayan and upvote

Welcome to Steem @ericteske I have upvoted and sent you a tip

I like your profile name, that's cute :)

Hello @ericteske. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hello @ericteske. Thank you for sharing your photos.

Friendly Reminder:
1. If you shoot this photo yourself but share at other web site before post on Steemit, please remember to link back to the web site because Cheetah is very clever.
2. If you share someone else photos, please remember to link back the sources of the photos and add some value by adding your own thought or comment.

Photography Slogan: A camera that puts a world of possibilities at your fingertips. Literally.

Oh thanks for the tip, I'll definitely link back in future posts. Can I edit a post once it's up?

Welcome to Steemit, @ericteske!

Hope you enjoy being here!

I'd like to remind you of Steemit.Chat (https://steemit.chat) where you can talk with others, promote your post in their promotion channels, and have a great time :)

Once again, enjoy your time on Steemit, and shall you have any questions, feel free to reply or ask in the #help channel of the chat!

Nice to meet you Ericteske ! Welcome to the steemit community ! Take care, @digital-gypsy

Thanks, glad to be here!

Hello !I am @minnowhelp, nice to meet you Ericteske ,
I do track some @booster upvote runs and try to figure out, if this booster upvote really giving a value.
With this upvotes you can earn some money here, if they provide a value. That's what I am testing for new Steemians !

Im my session#1 I tracked amongs I tracked amongst other users the upvote boost of @digital-gypsy, he boosted his post value to $5.06 , which was $3.56 more than before the booster upvote !
And that with just an investment of $1.28478 !

So if you want to see the results of my work, feel free to follow me @minnowhelp

Welcome to Steemit Ericteske !

I'm new so I don't really know what any of that means, but hello! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46