Hi! I'm new! I'm a senior citizen learning new things!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Photo Jun 29, 1 28 34 PM.jpg

I am living proof that you CAN teach an old dog new tricks! As a senior who refuses to retire, I keep investing in my passion, which is shooting stock photography. I have been in the business for over 20 years now, so I do know a thing or two about the ever-changing business.

100413-4322 4x6.jpg

And changing it is! Back in the late nineties, I sat back and comfortably earned a six figure income from only a few hundred images online, exclusively with Getty Images. I entered the business at a time when everyone was jealous of my “in” with stock photography. Unfortunately, I did not know then what I know now – and that is that in all things, you must diversify. Oh, I diversified in the type of photography I shot, but I kept all my eggs in the Getty basket! I sadly watched as my income dwindled to a five figure and then four figure income before realizing I would have nothing left for retirement at that rate – and my stock photography income was intended to be my retirement nest egg!

0900410-9829.jpg

I few years ago I started uploading to Alamy, a UK based agency, and was delighted to have my dwindling Getty income supplemented. It was nowhere near enough, but I was stubborn! There was no way I was going to go the microstock route. I just could not get excited about earning .25C for images that once would have made $1,000 + per license!

140617-7778.jpg

So, my next step was to start selling art on Fineartamerica and Redbubble! Again, I started to supplement my income with the occasional nice sale. Sales on there are sporadic, like on Alamy. But, at this stage in my life, any sale is a good sale and a supplement to my social security income!

06UK_0401.jpg

Then about a year ago I decided to take the plunge headfirst into microstock. I am certainly not making a fortune like I used to, and it's hard work uploading and keywording images, but the choice has been a good one. I share the images with Shutterstock, Adobe Fotolia, Istock, Depositphotos and Dreamstime, giving them exposure on different sites at the same time. I have not found the latter two to be too rewarding for me, so I have not uploaded so many images there, concentrating instead on the big three.

170531-8134.jpg

To put things in perspective, at the time of writing I have 4,492 images on Getty, 1,644 and roughly 423 spread out over the micros and I am making about half the amount on the micros that I am making on Getty and Alamy combined! Do the math! I can make more money with fewer images and multiple downloads on the micros. I have not given up on Getty or Alamy. I still make an OK income there, but I am no longer dependent on it!

100309-4190.jpg

In recent months I have taught myself some Illustrator and have learned about surface design, so I am also selling stuff on Zazzle and Spoonflower too!

170520-004.jpg

And now this! Thanks to my son for his belief that his old senior Mom could learn enough about Steemit to be posting here! This old dog has many tricks left!

Photo Jun 29 - 2.jpg

All images are my own work and are available on various stock and art sites. All are © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

To find all my photographs on Steemit, please search using dianemacphoto, and to find my designs, please search on dianemacdesigns. Thanks!

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm following you.

Hey @dmcamera Welcome to steemit. Wish you the best adventure with us here in steemit. If you looking for some more information please visit beta.chainbb.com or steemmit.chat. Best regards @empower-leads

So much to learn! Thanks!

nice pics =D
Followed you welcome to Steem

Welcome to Steemit! Amazing you find that much energy! I love your art. Give Steemit some time. Some things are different here and some harsh words are not meant that way. We are in a process of redefining structures to a hopefully better thing for everybody!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and thanks for the kind words about my work. I love what I do, so I keep doing it because of that. Many gave up and left the business altogether. I am not a quitter. :-)

Welcome to Steem @dmcamera I have sent you a tip

Thank you! I appreciate it!

Um, where do I find the tip you sent me? I'm so new to this. I can't find a messaging link.

You click on your wallet and scroll down to the history. It should be there :)

Hi, welcome to steemit!! You can also check my posts about food and travel.. Follow me and i'll follow back, enjoy!! :)

Thanks! Will check it out later. On my way out!

Following you. :-)

thank you :)

Nice post
I will follow you, I hope you follow me too :)

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you'll enjoy :)

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Thanks! I will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87