REMAKING INTRODUCE YOURSELF AND 10 TIPS AND TRICKS I LEARNED SO FAR…

Hi Steemians

I made an introductory post few days back, but failed miserably. I went searching on steemit, google, youtube, facebook etc. to find out where did I go wrong and correct those mistakes. This post is to “redeem my honour”… just kidding!! This post is just making a good effort to correct my mistakes and see how well it is received by steemians. The post is divided into two parts: one, my story and second, the tips and tricks I learned from “expert steemians”, through their blogs and vlogs on introductory or other posts and steemit in general.

main pic.jpg

Part One: My Story

I am a husband, a father to a cute baby boy, an OK engineer by profession and my hobby is graphic designing. I have been looking to start blogging for quite some time now but things haven’t gone in my favour. I saw a comment in a group on facebook about STEEMIT and was just curious to find out what it is. Without having any knowledge what the platform was, just went straight to the website and filled the details to become a STEEMIAN. Lost hope after 5/6 days when I didn’t hear from them again. However, the great news arrived exactly after a week of applying.

As soon as my account was approved, I went online and without doing any research, just started to write my FIRST EVER BLOG POST with the help steemit welcome post… It was helpful in writing my first ever blog, but I had a gut feeling that it wouldn’t get that much notice… still I went on and wrote my first ever post. BUT, the result was absolutely horrifying:

1 upvote
1 comment
7 views

Nobody cared what I wrote or how excited I was to write my first post. You might have all the right ingredients but that doesn’t ensure success. You have to write in a way that appeals to all the steemains.
So I have already introduced myself. Moreover, I am on steemit to have fun and share whatever valuable or exciting information I have. Thus, presenting you with the tips and tricks I learned in the few days on steemit.

Part 2: 10 Tips and Tricks I Learned So Far


These are my 10 tips and tricks I learnt on how to make your introductory post successful.

10.jpg

When you start on steemit you may find small bits that demotivate you, and you start criticizing steemit. And, you immediately forget what a beautiful platform steemit is providing you. The opportunity is there, all you have to do is believe in yourself and grab it.

The yellow lines in the above picture are different paths from start to finish and it is never be the same for anyone. Those black crosses in the above picture are different obstacles everyone faces every now and then, but you have to overcome those obstacles, and for that the first step is you have to believe in yourself. And, only then you can build a reputation and earn some money.

So keep yourself motivated and believe in yourself, even if your “introduceyourself” post didn’t receive the upvotes you were thinking about.

9.jpg

Steemit recommends you share your story and picture when you write your introductory post. It needs to know that you are not a bot. But most importantly, it is for your own benefit, just go to trending>introduceyourself tag and just take a look… how many people succeed in making an impact when they post their story along with a picture on steemit? A LOT!! Why my first post failed? Because I neglected the most important part of introduce yourself post. Moreover, sharing your story will allow people to follow you for two reasons:

i. Steemians will acknowledge that you are somehow going to make genuine contributions to make the steemit community better.
ii. likeminded people follow each other…

Therefore this step is essential not only to make your post visible or get upvotes, it’s important to make people follow you straight away.

8.jpg

So before I started writing this blog I thought of fixing my profile. I struggled at the start but then I uploaded my pictures with the help of few steemians’ blogs. However, then a EUREKA moment struck my mind, that I will make blogs on similar topics and post the links here in this introductory blog in order to gain some upvotes for those blogs as well. This is a genuine technique used by almost all the bloggers. HOWEVER, I realized that STEEMIT is a community, and we are all here to make money by helping each other out… and one must appreciate the hardwork and effort put by other steemians. Therefore, give appreciation to other steemians in your blogs whose information helped you in any way possible and you will start building a network.

THANK YOU to
@isteemithard @ilyastarar : for making it easy to upload my profile picture and cover.
Here are the links:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@isteemithard/how-to-upload-a-profile-picture-and-or-cover-image-to-your-steemit-account
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ilyastarar/how-to-add-profile-picture-and-set-up-steemit-profile-newbies-guide

SPECIAL THANK YOU to
@jerrybenfield @joeparys : for motivating me through their blogs and vlogs

7.jpg

It is really important for everyone to understand that those 5 tags options while posting are very important. My first’s blog tags were rubbish. KEEP IN MIND, your tags are equally important for your blog to get notice. Research and choose the right tag for any post. For this post I have chosen… introduceyourself/ introducemyself/ firstblog etc., which are some of the common tags for introductory posts.

6.jpg

When people see your post they will go straight to your profile… just compare the above profiles and decide which profile is more likely to be followed or grab other steemians' attention???

5.jpg

No matter whether it is your introductory post or any other post, content really matters. It is the only think on this platform that makes your post VALUABLE. Good, original and new content is what all the steemians are looking for. Therefore, invest your time and energy in making good content. This is the only way you will have followers and upvotes.

4.jpg

I am graphic designer myself, therefore I think design matters. There is whole lot of philosophy behind that but to keep it short, IF IT LOOKS GOOD TO THE EYES IT LOOKS GOOD TO BE UPVOTED.

3.jpg

A whale is a steemian who has a lot of steem power and influence. And, if they upvote you, then you make a lot of money and your reputation goes up. I have learnt that most of the whales hangout in tags such as “introduceyourself”. So it is vital to grab their attention and your post earning and reputation will skyrocket. Thus, write good, true, exciting content.

2.jpg

If you say Shawshank Redemption, then you must be in love with this quote. You make your content and hope it will make you succeed. Apart from hardwork, hope is the only thing you have and hope is the best thing. I have invested a lot of time and energy in this post but if it still fails to get recognition then LIFE’s a BIT*H, BUT DO NOT QUIT, WORK HARD AND HOPE THAT IT WILL PAY OFF.

1.jpg

Once you initially start going then build a reputation by re-investing with steemit. Buy that steempower, it is the best bet. It is how you are going to build a lasting impact on the network.

111.jpg

Sort:  

#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

@spaminator, its not spam, like I mentioned in the other post where you mentioned the same thing, I am new to steemit and I didnt know we can use it again and again. If this was a big issue it should have been specifically mentioned in the FAQs, you can only use the tag once.

I don't know why people have stopped caring about introductions. Mine was a big failure too though. Haha.

Welcome to Steemit. Copy all the work in 10 tips and share as a new post. But some weeks later when you have some following. I would encourage to find good users and follow them. Read your feed and make valuable comments.

And tags are important. Use relevant ones but those which have more success. You,'ll find out if you explore.

Thank You @ilyastarar really helpful tips... and will make sure I follow your tips and will stay connected with you.

As far introduction is concerned, I believe it is the most essential part for any new steemian... that is why I focused on it for 3/4 days.

Finally, Thank You once again @ilyastarar for all the help buddy.

Welcome @davidshaw I agree with most of what you have written. My intro post that I worked long and hard on sorta belly flopped. Since that I have been hanging around introduceyourself and swooping in to help out fellow minnows making an unexpected swan dive.

I will follow you, come follow me and stop on by the @armadilloman corner and like and resteeem if you will. Minnows got to stay together.

Thank You @armadilloman. Really appreciate your efforts to help other steemians. I have already followed you, and I hope we help each other out in everyway possible. Cheers mate!!

This is a great re-intorduceyourself post and well done. Thank you so much for the mention and glad that my post about profile pictures helped you. It's important for new and old users without a profile picture to see how much it helps to make there post and comments stand out and look more unique. Did you know my post is now trending first on google search https://steemit.com/google/@isteemithard/my-steemit-post-is-first-on-google-search-steemit-profile-picture-how-to-upload-a-steemit-profile-picture now it can help lots more. Feel free to comment on any of my posts with random questions you may have about steemit.

Thank You @isteemithard I am glad that you have taken out the time to see and upvote this post. And, I am following you to keep myself updated with you expert information. Lastly, congratulations on being on top in google search, it is an amazing feat!

Really liked this intro. Great graphics, lousy at them myself, but they do make a difference in eye catching posts. You have the basics so don’t get too frustrated and just keep on posting great content. Write about what you are passionate about and look for like minded groups of people that support your ideals. Much luck to you! Have fun on here and you will meet lots of interesting people. 🐓

Thank you buddy. Really appreciate that you have taken out the time and read my post. This is an achievement for me. Moreover, really appreciate the great things you mentioned here. I am going to take it seriously. And, as far as frustration is concerned, that is part of steemit. But once you get the basics right, and get to know the platform you can make a swift progress. Once again thank you so much. Cheers buddy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46