How to Add Profile Picture & Set Up Steemit Profile - Newbies Guide

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

 If you are new on Steemit then first of all I welcome you here. Adding a profile picture in Steemit is a bit different from the other social media or blogging platforms. 

Rest of the settings are simple enough but for the purpose of completing the process, all settings are briefly covered. The purpose of this post is to help beginners set up their profiles nicely and start contributing to the community with a better profile.

Image Source: Created via Canva using the image by @krypto

How to Set Up Your Profile?

Here's a quick look at everything you need to update.

As the profile uploading procedure is a bit different to other social media platforms, I'll quickly cover the settings for you. Here you go.

To update profile picture, you will have to upload the image on the web first. 

  1. Go to Img Safe website.
  2. From the Upload tab, click browse files and select your profile picture from the storage.
  3. Click upload.
  4. After it is uploaded, click the image. A new window or page will open containing your uploaded picture.
  5. Copy the URL (website address) from the address bar.
  6. Paste it into the Profile Picture URL box in your settings page on Steemit.

Here's a visual guide if you didn't understand the procedure.

Step # 1: Go to the website. On the Upload tab, click browse files. Select the files to upload and press the upload button below the image. (I tried signing up and signing in but it didn't work. If it works for you, great. Otherwise no need to login.)


Step # 2: Click the uploaded image. A new window will open. Copy the URL in the address bar and paste it in the Profile Picture URL box.


Going quickly through the remaining settings: -

  • Display Name: Write your name. It will be your account on Steemit. For example @teamsteem
  • About: Write some lines about yourself. Try to add relevant details about your or your mission.
  • Location: Write name of your city and/or country.
  • Website: If you have a website, write it down.

That's it. You are done with settings. 

Please consider upvoting and resteeming this helpful post. Thank you.

Sort:  

Dear Newbie Steemian,

Welcome to the platform. I am glad that hundreds of newbies find this post useful. It's been more than 7 months since this post was published but even now I keep getting comments on it, which is amazing.

When I wrote this post, I did not include any alternatives. Many people have had issues with the only website I mentioned. For this reason, I created an updated version of this tutorial with 18 options to choose from and more detailed instructions. I wanted to share the updated version in the comments so that you can go to that post for additional options.

Updated Tutorial (More Options)

To access the updated and more detailed guide, click the following link.

How to Add Profile Picture.png

Link: How to Add Profile Picture on Steemit - Steemit Profile Picture Latest Guide 2018

Welcome to Steemit and have fun! Follow me to learn more about Steemit success.

With Love,

Ilyas

Hope my small vote helped.
Get it to the top!

Definitely! Thank you very much!

Thanks so much, Ilyas! This is my Day 1 on Steemit and I just used your helpful post to add my new profile photo and quick bio. Thanks for putting in the time to help out newbie Steemians!

Welcome to Steemit we are here to help, always.

Upvoted. :)

Thank you! Whoever gets this information will owe you gratitude.

idk what is happening but i cant press my pic so i get the link for the profile...how can I fixed it?jajiw.jpgs

That is exactly the same problem I am having

yep nothing in settings menu to change your profile. stuck with what we originally setup with. cant change picture, cant change www links etc etc.

Thanks for sharing

Imgsafe is crap, but the information above was great! Thank you for sharing for us Steemit noobs!

Thank you very much!

Great guide, good to have this information. I used postimg.org in the end, as I found this worked easier.

Jason- thanks for making mention of postimg.org link. Totally appreciative of @ilyastarar detailed blog, though img also didn't work for me. I don't see my pics up yet, but they seem to have been accepted...Wait time..?

Anyhow, muchas gracias gentlemen! Steeming ahead ;)

Awesome thanks for the info honestly never had to add a profile picture via a URL before now I just have to wait till I get home and onto my comp, to bad there’s no way to upload via IPhone. 😊

I was hoping for the same. I found eSteem, but as stated in the iOS reviews, you can’t get past the password step, now that 11.0 is out & eSteem hasn’t caught up. I’m new here, so hoping this becomes more user friendly as time goes by & they can get more Apps available.

Thank You Ilyas- every little bit is helping getting Steemit going ;)
It's not so easy, but I know it will get easier with more people joining, and only increasing momentum.

Best always,
~M

i drag and droped an image, but then it is gone !! it was uploaded but no new tab apperars......very strange !!!

I'm having exactly the same problem, I've tried several times now. Hmmm confused.

Thanks! This was really helpful, all the websites I tried before this didn't work so happy that I found your article :)

Great post! This works and you can also use one of your own posts on steemit to upload your profile picture. Just make a post with title and such drag&drop the picture in the post. Then you can just link that as your profile picture. There is even a chance people will upvote it if it's cool haha :)!

Thanks for giving this useful information.

thank you i am going to do it now

There are other ways but I find this one to be amazing because you can add images to your posts via this method easily as well.

I am unable to find any upload option here though I registered my email as well on the imgsafe..

Drag and drop images. Otherwise check comments and go to the new guide for more options.

My problem was they would show when I dragged and dropped, but for some reason they showed in red and didn't give any explanation why they wouldn't save and show up in My Images.

I have the same problem :(

Now it works fine for me. I had to wait for a while :D

EDIT: Check this one: https://postimages.org/

Thanks for the comment.

Thank you so much!!!

that's awesome idea! thank you :)

Great idea, looks like I have to give that a go. One of these ways'll work ;)

Thanks! This is really useful. Tried to link from several other sites like imgBB and PasteBoard to no avail.

I have started to follow you! Looking forward to more useful posts!

Pleasure to be of help. Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks!

Welcome. What happened to your reputation? Why is it down to zero?

I guess is because I'm new here. Thanks brother!

Ohhh. It's 25. Thank God! I thought it was down to 0 because that's not a good sign. Please follow my blog to learn quickly about Steemit. Visit recent posts for useful newbie guides as well. All the best. I am giving you full upvotes to help you reach 26 reputation score.

Thank you for that, I appreciate it!

Welcome. ☺

Great advice, just got on steemit and am super excited about getting this journey started. Thanks for all the help!!!

You're welcome. As a welcome gift, I am giving you a small upvote. Do good things on Steemit and Steemit will do good things to you.

Great post sir. Very helpful for newbies.Thank you very much sir.

You are most welcome. Please visit my latest post to learn more about Steemit. It will help you.

yes sure sir. i am visiting your latest post.

thank you for taking your time to help us :)

I am glad to be able to help. Welcome to Steemit!

Hi sir, I'm new here and I'm finding it hard to upload profile pics. Pls sir, is there a better option?

See top comment.

This is very helpful. Thanks

Thanks a lot. Glad to help.

This was very helpful. Never had such a difficult time putting a photo into a social media site haha. Thanks.

You're welcome. Glad to help. Next year, the difficulty may be solved with upload buttons.

For now, you can use @esteemapp by @good-karma to use upload options. My blog has a full tutorial on the app.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53