Greetings from a Sculpture Artist!

Hello everyone! This is my first post on steemit. I'm going to be posting my art and crafts.

My name is Chrysa and I am from Cyprus. I'm an artist and I like to work with clay and create sculptures, home decorations, tourist souvenirs and wedding favors.

IMG_20161224_142713.jpg

I work with my husband in a small workshop in our town, which is also our shop. All the pictures I will post here are our own creations. We work mainly by hand. In some occasions if a customer needs many copies, we create a mold for the basic shape and from there on we continue the refining and coloring by hand.

We work with different kinds of clay which we bake in the oven. We experiment with different baking temperatures and techniques. We also work with enamel and gold leaf to add style and texture.

IMG_20161010_182306.jpg

These pictures are some examples of our work. The following is a book molded by hand. I write the letters with a tool similar to a toothpick. I usually like to write poetry from poets of my country or quotes about life. My customers can request their own favorite quotes or book excerpts.

IMG_20151221_222035.jpg

I often prepare wedding and christening favors. In my county we have a tradition for people who get married or christen their children to give a small gift to their guests as a thank you for attending. It often has a theme.

10390204_643232629088194_3052264602132680855_n.jpg

Apart from small crafts and gifts, we also create bigger sculptures. The following nude was handmade by my husband.

IMG_20161224_141022.jpg

Thank you for checking out my work. Unfortunately, this kind of work in my country is underpaid. I hope that steemit community will help me support it and maybe grow it into something bigger.

If you like this artwork, please follow me at @colourandclay.

Sort:  

A very warm welcome to Steemit or like I prefer to call it "the greatest social media out there" 😊 (Okay maybe Steemit is more suitable 😂) I hope you enjoy your time here and get to know all the great people out of this awesome community. It's ways better than facebook or twitter if you ask me and I'm just here for a few days so far 😊

Stop by at my blog as well if you like 😉

Thank you so much for your nice words! I will stop by your blog for sure! :)

Welcome to Steemit @colourandclay :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Thank you for the help!

Welcome! I'm new here too and I like your art. So unique. I follow you!

Thank you and welcome too!

nice artwork colourandclay welcome to the community, follow me @jzeek and i will do the same in return thanks.

Thank you. I will follow you.

Our community is better because you're in it. You should be thanked more often. So thank you for posting!!! Looking forward to more great content!!!

Thank you, you are so nice!

Welcome abroad! This is a great community. Your creativity and work will be appreciated by the community. Keep posting on regular basis. Accolades will come on your way. Way to go, mates
I have sent you a small tip. Enjoy.
Looking forward seeing your next post.

Thanks for your kind words!

Congratulations @colourandclay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to this fabulous community! I post about cryptos, economy, silver,etc. Please checkout my posts to see if they interest you and my policy is if you follow me I will follow you. Welcome again and Steem on!

Thank you and I will check your posts!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it here as much as I do. I'm always learning from others, so feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

Hello lulita! Thank you. I will visit your blog too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51