My views on the blockchain

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! My name's Chris Georgen. I'm new to Steemit but have been around the crypto world for a few years now (since 2013). Seeing as I don't have any super fascinating life stories for my intro post, I'll just list a few of my opinions on blockchain tech and cryptocurrencies since that's what brings me here. Hopefully you find them interesting and maybe a bit controversial.

  1. By any standard other than the ones used to value Dutch tulip bulbs or internet stocks circa 1999, crypto prices are completely insane today. Yeah, we're all hopeful about the future but we need to account for the level of risk and uncertainty the space is still facing.
  2. Satoshi doomed Bitcoin to be left behind when he disappeared. When he vanished, Satoshi Nakamoto took on a mythical status that he never would have obtained if he revealed himself or continued to participate in the space. Because of this legendary status, the community is now very hesitant to make any changes or improvements to the protocol.
  3. Ethereum should have never supported the hard fork. Doing so was a PR move that one would expect from a traditional company, and not the action of a group of visionaries committed to the ideals they argued for.
  4. Not everything belongs on the blockchain! I'm not even going to say anything more on this other than, the blockchain is great for some things and absolutely terrible for others.

So there you have 4 fairly negative (and intentionally provocative) opinions about the crypto space, but like I said, I've been around blockchain tech for over 3 years. Actually, I even run a blockchain startup. So what gives?

I believe that blockchain technology, if used as a tool and not an end unto itself, can help us solve some number of specific but incredibly important problems. My passion for blockchain tech comes specifically from my belief in its ability to solve one of these problems: a dire lack of investment capital in the developing world.

If you want to learn more about how my startup, Topl is developing a global investment protocol or just to read about how economics, finance, and money relate to cryptocurrencies and the developing world, give me a follow!

Sort:  

Hey what's up @cgeorgen. Welcome To Steemit . This New House for blogger and social network platform. I ll wait for your great post. Two thumbs for your intro. Keep Steem On and earn big money as a reward. Good luck guy !!. Im waitin for you to come. Visit my blog I ve latest post. Im following "Meme Contest" that i posted on my wall. I hope you like it.

Welcome to Steemit @cgeorgen :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Major thumbs up for the startup. Don't stop hustling! :D

Welcome to Steem @cgeorgen I have sent you a tip

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56