The adventures of Cath, or the amazing things that happen when you follow your dreams :) (introducing myself)

"We have two lives, the second one begins when we realize we only have one".
Seneca.

Hello everybody!

I am a new member in this great community and I am passioned about art, dance, music, personal development and business. So I will be sharing amazing content and value about that. If you are into these topics, stay tuned :)

Sometimes we feel that "time flies", or that "life is too short" to do everything we would like to do. I also felt like this sometime ago, I thought that it was really impossible to do a lot of things, that I was forced to "focus" and sacrifice several dreams. When I finished school, and began studying at university, I started to think: why do we have to spend so much time doing things that do not make us happy? What is the point of life if we came to this world to get bored? Is really that the only thing we can expect from life?

As I did not like the university I was studying at, and as I really wanted more from mi life experience (more adventure, more creativity, more passion, more love...) I decided to do an Erasmus exchange program in the Netherlands (Utrecht). In this amazing country, I realized that actually, it is not true that we don't have enough time or that life is too short for us to do what we really want... We actually have time enough! life is very long! The problem is, that we don't know how to take the most of the time that has been given to us. We spend our time waiting for the right moment, the right circumstances, this "some day" that will never come because there is no right moment...

There is only this moment, only this life. I then decided that I did not want to spend my only life working for someone else. I decided that killing my dreams was NOT an option. I was not ready to accept the fallacy claiming that, as a 22 year old student, the only thing I can aspire to have is an under-human/under-minimal income which nobody can decently live with, a shitty half destroyed "apartment" and an exploiting waitress job...

My father, who is a painter, not only taught me how to draw, but he also taught me that, no matter how difficult it can seem at the beginning, you have to work on yourself, becoming each day a better version of yourself. Acquire skills and knowledge that add you and those who surround you more value.

19749711_487191774959262_1286748679_o.jpg
This is one of my first drawings :) (not very good paper though. It was all that I had at that moment)

I wanted to learn ballet, I love to dance and I love pointe shoes. But for the school director, I was "too old for that, I would never be good enough at it because I did not began at 4". This woman, without her even noticing, taught me that what other people say or think about "what is better for you" or your capacities, doesn't matter. Not even if this person is an "expert" or has experience. Because, paraphrasing Les Brown, the dream was given to you! that is why you only can see it!. If I really wanted to rise my body on a pair of pointe shoes, I would have to work hard on it, so I did. One year later I was having my first pointes class in another school ;)
Later I wanted to try pole dance, and, as I am a very thin person, I was told that this discipline is only for "athletic people". Then I thought: If I made it once, I can always make it.

Now I have been training for more than two years, have my own pole dance bar at home and I think it is going quite well :)

15060299_1214241225317702_273834758_o.jpg
This is me doing a "Russian Layback" It is not an easy one, and normally you have to be advanced level to make it, so I was very surprised to achieving it from the first time trial! :D (I am intermediate level)

Interested in pole dance and dance? For dance inspiration, awesome content, tips and tutorials, follow me ;)

From my mother I learnt to have discipline and engagement to assume my decisions and always give the best of myself at any project. Of course I had to be wise to choose which projects were worth investing my time and energy on. With the time I realized that the only two most important investments in life are those that 1) Make you a better person 2) Make you a happier person.

That is how I realized that what makes me really happy is to make music. Little by little, I started to change my goals from being an actress, to being a singer and composer. Also here, the "YouHaveToBeginSinceYouAreAchild" to succeed as a musician haunted me some time until I understood that the person I was in the past does not determine the person I was going to be in the future. It was on my hands to decide the kind of person I want to be.

So I returned to my music lessons, I learnt music theory alone, me and my books (and online courses at Coursera) I learnt to play guitar and now I am taking singing and violin lessons. My goal now is to learn to compose, produce, record and sell my own music, thanks to new technologies and social media. So I am also learning (on my own) music production and online marketing.

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-24 at 12.37.52.jpeg
Here we are in our car from Amsterdam to Copenhagen (the car died at Bremen, Germany. Was too old) and I brought my violin with me so I could continue practicing.

Yes, it all began with my Erasmus program from Lille, France, to Utrecht, Netherlands, where I met my Spanish boyfriend, Arturo. Then we moved to Amsterdam until we run out of money and both have to come to Madrid. We are living with his parents now and is fun. Here we are to prove we are real decent human beings :P

19749749_487177431627363_191021738_o.jpg

Thank you so much for reading my very first post, my name is Catherine, franco-peruvian entrepreneur and musician girl. I am 22 years old now and I wish you want to follow me in this new adventure that I beginning here in Steemit.

Looking forward to meet you,

Cath <3

Sort:  

@catherinegairard your welcome to steemit community. The show you displayed in the pol dancing is amazing. Your a super pol dancing star I must confess . you have a talent there. just make friends, be active, have fun, enjoy yourself. I wish you success. SeSee you.

Thank you @hynet :) I wish the best for you too

Welcome to STEEMIT!!! Followed

thank you @ndre1224 ! I will follow you back :)

Hi there,welcome to steemit @catherinegairard you will found out a lot of content.Steemit is awesome , here is different site to use with :chainbb & steemit.chat , you can talk with us or with any user of steemit.Cashing out is a problem let have a try there many gateway paiment so me,I am using this website and wallet to send my money in and out from steemit account Coinpayments.net.Followed soon.Please follow me at @empower-leads greating steem friend.

Thank you for the advices @empower-leads ! I will follow you also sure :)

Welcome! Lovely first post, love the quote in the beginning, so true! I'm new myself and I followed you, looking forward to read more from you!

I am happy you liked it, @daddyworld ! thanks for following me, I'll do the same :) have a nice day!

Amazing post Catherine! Welcome to Steem.it keep the good work up! :)

Congratulations @catherinegairard! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

thank you for your support @digitalplayer :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53