How to Create a Successful #introduceyourself Post!

IMG_7601.jpg

If you are reading this, chances are you are in your early days of being on Steemit, and thinking about the best way to #introduceyourself to this community.

I love combing through the #introduceyourself posts every couple of days and finding new people to follow and connect with at the beginning of their Steemit journey. This first post gives you the chance to find your peeps early on, and start posting with an audience in place, and therefor increase your likelihood of having subsequent posts seen and upvoted.

So lets take a look at a few posts and see the variability in terms of reach and earnings that can be generated by authors and see what tips we can pick up on how to put together a success intro post, and what to avoid!

In full transparency, I TOTALLY BLEW my #introduceyourself post! At that point I didnt quite realize what an awesome opportunity this post is to make a real impact. I am an example of WHAT NOT TO DO!

https://steemit.com/musician/@benleemusic/hi-nice-to-meet-you-all

As you can see, with earnings of $2.01, a stock photo that I’ve had for years and used repeatedly, and a generic blurb - it looks like I did this post in 5 minutes…and I did. Looking back on it, it reeks of zero effort and tentativeness.

Now to compare, lets check out two of the higher earning more recent #introduceyourself posts:

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@freyablekman/introduceyourself
earnings so far $381.56

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@eleanorgoldfield/introduceyourself-creative-activist-journalist-poet-and-organizer
earnings so far $138.53

As I read these great intro posts, what crosses my mind is “This person is taking Steemit seriously. They have taken time and put in effort to showing our community what they are passionate about. They have revealed themselves. They are GENEROUS”.

And here we find my central thesis on what makes a good Steemit #introduceyourself post, and actually what builds a successful Steemit profile in the long run. Then answer is GENEROSITY. We each have different skills, abilities and talents, and the unique ways that we each give to this community is what makes our participation vital and appreciated.

Remember, we have the chance to build a new economy here, so please do not be cynical with your posts or comments. Cynicism is a form of condescension and posting garbage reflects a belief that this community has no value, and unconsciously that you yourself have no value!

Show the best of yourself. Work hard on your posts, beginning with your first. Share great content. Give great value.

BE GENEROUS. With your heart, mind and talent.

And success will be yours.

Follow me @benleemusic for daily thoughts, songs, videos, dreams and musings.

Sort:  

Great tips! Thanks, Upvoted!

I agree, everyone once and a while I swim through the intro post tag to encourage and welcome new members. It is amazing to see how terrible some of them are lol. The best ones in my opinion are the ones that wait a few weeks before post their intro post.

Excellent point! I'm a total N00b, but I want to learn as much as I can about the first post before making mine.

Welcome to the Steemit, it can be a lot of information to navigate on your own. There are various places you can live chat to ask questions and meet people. Palnet is a group I am a part of and helped me a ton when I started. Hope to see you around!

Thank you! Sorry for the late reply - and thank you for the group link, I will go check it out. See you around!

Yes, waiting is the best suggestion.

Thats a good point - theres no rush.

Yeah I hear you all... but perfectionism just prevents people from just being and sharing. If it is still a social platform it still needs to be relaxed and real. Just my thoughts.

This is exactly what I should have done. I had absolutely no idea what I was going to do here and looking back feel pretty unhappy with it. Pretty sure I will be doing a reintroduce myself post at some point

Hi,would just like to say thanks for taking the time to give such valuable advice.I am a newbie here and am planning my intro post.Will definetly be taking your points about sharing great content onboard.

Looking forward to reading it!

I am not quite sure if I did fine myself, It always feel awkward to talk about yourself and I think I posted too much info... which somehow lacks the warmth. I would say overthinking is not good. I read that you can redo it in due time maybe in another format as video for example.

Thats true. There are more and more dtube intro posts - but I find I need more of a reason to click through to those.

You think your first post was bad?? I didn’t realise what this platform was in the beginning and posted something akin to a twitter post. I then decided to re-do said #introduceyourself post and put some time and effort into it.

It is well worth the time and effort to get that first post right. Thanks for sharing.

Its a learning process for all of us :)

Don't worry, we're all still embarrassed you joined and none of us realised. #teamaustraliafail.

You're so right! I'm actually thinking about posting a few things that I've experienced during the last weeks and how/what I would maybe do differently - and the #introduceyourself is definitely one of them. Though I took a few more minutes than 5 ;) But the good thing here is (from my experience): there are literally thousands of doors on Steemit and even if you miss the first one, there will be many more opportunities to open the right door and go through.

Totally agree. We can keep getting better! ;)

Cool post bro, thanks for being GENEROUS! I'd love to share it with my audience too if you don't mind? Thanks upped and followed 👍

Of course.

I always advise people to post what is important to them, what they’re passionate about, and to write well, proof reading their text and adding the right punctuation. Sure, we all make the occasional typo but ensuring the post looks as good as possible means it will catch attention.

My first post was a bit nerve wracking considering I knew it’ll be on the blockchain forever although I simply wrote about the real me, raw and unedited so to speak, and have continued to write that way.

A user’s introduction post is important however it’s the interaction and engagement one has with other users which will keep them moving forward on steemit. I can see you’re a relatively new user and also that you have been posting some interesting content. Keep it up @benleemusic and all the best. I threw you a follow my man and am looking forward to seeing where your blog leads.

Thank you so much. Best to you too

After reading more and more through steemit, I've came to near the same conclusion you have, still more food for thought for when I join the #introduceyourself club myself :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30