#introduceyourself Creative Activist, Journalist, Poet & Organizer

Hey Steemit!

First off - very excited to be here - as a journalist but also very much as an organizer and engaged citizen.
As a content creator, my numbers on Fedbook have crashed significantly in the last year as I aim to manufacture dissent rather than consent. As an organizer, my information, messages and even page likes have been used as bait in court cases to criminalize dissent and alternative organizing.

Platforms like Steemit are hugely necessary in this age of anti-intellectualism and censorship.
I do have to admit, however, that I've never been so nervous about a first post on a platform in my life! I'm quite sure I'm doing something wrong -particularly after trying to make sense of all the markdowns and upvotes.
That being said, and as with many other things in life, I'm diving right in.

More About Me:

I'm a creative activist meaning that I use creative means to promote socio-political engagement and change. This includes art (and whatever nebulous definition of art that we can agree to disagree on) but also the concept of thinking creatively outside the confines of the capitalist structure that we were raised and now live in.

I currently reside in the epicenter of the empire (Washington, D.C.) where I work as a journalist and organizer.
My day-to-day is primarily spent working on my TV show, Act Out! which airs via Occupy.com as well as Free Speech TV. The show focuses on creative activism and the stories that corporate media won't cover. I've included a video below of a recent episode which outlines the situation in Puerto Rico. It's the first of a two-part episode on my research and travels there earlier this year.

Outside of the show, I write articles that appear on various alternative news sites as well as my website and blog, Art Killing Apathy. This site also houses information on my other projects including my performance work which blends spoken word with projected visuals.
Most pieces that I perform are from my book, Paradigm Lost which came out last year. The book blends spoken word pieces with the artwork of 15 dissident artists from around the world.

In addition to journalism, I also assist in organizing work on a variety of campaigns.

My aim as a Steemit user is to share my work and to learn from and engage with the community here.
Look forward to connecting!

Photo on 2-13-18 at 3.29 PM.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit. It should be a great platform for you!

Welcome to steemit, glad to see another independent journalist and activist has decided to join this platform. Really interesting video on Puerto Rico. Have a nice day.

Very welcome!!

Welcome to Steemit! I'm looking forward to seeing more of your posts!

Welcome! :D

Welcome to steemit, enjoy your stay here and good luck!

Welcome to steemit, eleanorgoldfield!

Welcome to Steemit @eleanorgoldfield :D

Nice, to have another interesting steemian here. Have fun, hope you bring some nice content to this plattform.

Welcome! Love your work, Glad to have you in the new generation of social media!

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95