Who am I? NobodysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

At this very moment, in one of the many poor countries of Africa, a child is lying naked on the ground, groaning and twisting her body, desperate for the slightest sign of food. She hasn’t eaten in days.

Just a few seconds later, a father will officially make his first million somewhere in America and spend a good portion of it in a brand new BMW. 

Tomorrow, none of them will matter.

Scientists will make discoveries. Stockbrokers will move millions. Politicians will decide the fate of many. Artists will love the stars and suffer for the whole university. Give them some more time and they will make sure to repeat the cycle. 

Tomorrow, none of them will matter.

For the average person, life tomorrow will be the same as it is today. Maybe they will see that the workplace has finally gotten to be painted navy-blue and that coworker, who can only complain about everything he sees, found the change dull and unnecessary. They will curse inside the safety of their mind and walk back to their desk. For the rest of the day, they’ll work in silence.

And none of it will matter. 

There are over seven billion people walking on Earth at this very moment. A good portion of them are interconnected as humans have never been before. This is truly an unprecedented era with no real limits for what can be achieved. In terms of technology, we are god-like. And, at the same time, individually, each one of us has never been so worthless to the whole, to society. 

But there’s nothing wrong with that, because outside of the infinitesimal significance the human life has if compared to the rest of the universe, they don’t matter. 

As I type these words, my heart gets filled with a strong desire to shout a long-needed truth: I am nothing more than someone else in the crowd. 

I don’t matter.

It’s only after realizing how worthless and replaceable I am that my true value to the world becomes clear. People in the future won’t remember my name. My efforts, my dreams, if ever accomplished, will make very little difference, if any at all, to the world in its entirety. No one needs me so much that they wouldn’t be able recover from my absence in case I came across a premature death. 

And that’s okay. 

We have to face the truth and not delude ourselves. Individually, we are weak. Together, we are stronger as never before. If we accept and embrace true unimportance with honesty and passion, we get to see that it’s the simplicity contained inside each one of us that makes the grasping of a brighter future not only possible, but feasible. 

This is the point of our being here: unity. Power. Change. Future. 

I introduce myself by a question: Who am I? 

I answer: nobody. 

But I’m right here, with you.  

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem friend. Let's build this community! I left an upvote for you! Would be happy if you follow me for the latest tech news etc.

BTW and if you need help, you can always get back to me!

Wow what an introduction!👏👏👏

You've wrote the best intro I've never read on Steemit! Thanks for the comment on my post, without it I would probably never knew you! I don't follow many people but you definitely deserve to be followed! Please make more content like this one!👌

Hi there :3 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer too! Let's be friends!

I'm not flooding here, just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver. Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested! Thanks a lot ^_^

0d7a1077-dbd6-4d77-9870-97da8e487396.jpg

Very interesting intro. In a certain sense, I absolutely agree. But in another sense, the mystery of the human person is such that even though we are so small, we have incredible inherent value. We are replaceable with what we can do, but utterly irreplaceable because of who we are. None of my friends are replaceable, and love makes each of us matter.

Cool start - I recognize your name from a comment on one of my posts, I think?

Xx, Kay

Welcome to Steem @annb I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to steemit dear...
here we are one family as such i wish you succss steeming from @kenhudoy

Very profound, very true, and very well written. Enjoyed it. Thanks! Follwing and upvoting .

Welcome to steemit! I am new here myself and love the platform of steemit so far. I am going to Follow you to keep up with your progress!
Good Luck fellow Steemian,
@Nezbong

Welcome to steemit my friend! Our community is growing at a blistering pace! Its is great to have you on the team to help make this platform even more successful! Have fun and keep steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83