Introduction!!

Hello Everyone,

I work as a business consultant with a large financial services firm in the US and support their life insurance line of business. Last year my boss asked me to explore block chain to see if there were use cases worthy enough to invest in a proof of technology effort. I had heard of the technology but did not know much except that the value of bitcoin had once soared to over $1,000 and that people could mine using mathematical computing to collect bitcoins corollary to gold mining.

I was pretty excited about this task and jumped right in to see what other insurance carriers were doing to find that there were some pilot projects in the Europe and UK but not so much in the US. Also since it was not that widely adopted and insurance industry being a late adopter of technology, I was not able to develop a business case to justify an investment. Honestly, I myself was not sold on the promises of the technology.

A couple of months back, I was looking for a good book to read and came across Nathan Popper's 'Digital Gold'. It had great reviews so ordered a copy; with every chapter my interest in block chain technology grew. I was fascinated by the stories of the characters that played a huge role in developing the technology and it's evolution as a whole. How so many people had invested so much of their time and energy because of their belief in the potential. The book definitely rekindled my interest, and I plan to stick around this time and continue developing my skills/knowledge in this technology. I also intend to make some investments in cryptocurrency to get some skin in the game.

I look forward to sharing ideas/thoughts with fellow peers to learn this brilliant peer to peer technology!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @ankitnation :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steemit, it's great to see another investor join the platform :)

I am yet to begin investing; I thought of buying litecoin yesterday using credit card but the spread was so high. Where do you purchase litecoins? I don't have any crypto yet

Welcome to Steem @ankitnation. Enjoy your stay. I gave you a tip. I must also thank you for mentioning this book, "Nathan Popper's 'Digital Gold'", I have the reviews on Amazon and added it to my wish list.

Thanks Veejay for the tip, although too new to know how that works in the steem world!

Welcome to steemit ! Hope you will enjoy being here just like I do. Stay active, post quality content and you will succeed.
@trendo

Welcome! Great to see another business mind on here. I followed you so I can keep up with your journey.

Thanks blakey! I am following you as well now

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks daveks!

Congratulations @ankitnation! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58522.52
ETH 2540.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50