Who am I? Just another Steemit noobie stabbing around in the dark!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi folks!

E23FA062-3D05-4D17-8028-794F598147F5.JPG

As is seemingly customary, I figured that I ought to write a quick paragraph or two to introduce myself to the community - or at least 0.0001% of the active members here who may read this post ;)

I'm at the older end of the scale of IT Geeky people - having had an obsession with computers since the ZX Spectrum. I went through the whole phase of building PCs, customising them, over-clocking & even, at one point, water-cooling. I got into gaming a little too compulsively perhaps (Tribes/Tribes 2) and spent a ridiculous amount of money on the cost of those early internet connections - in the days when you paid for each minute online. Most of this 'hobbyist' stuff happened whilst controlling aeroplanes as a day job.

Air Traffic Controlling is a little like speculating in Alt Coins; you need a nerve and to think rationally when everything appears to be going away from you :) Anyway, after 15 years of that, I opted for life as a Pro Photographer and the chance to move to a beautiful part of the world (Central Italy) and enjoy a slower pace of life. Then my wife & I decided to buy a ruin and renovate it ourselves; sometimes the heart rules the head - haha.

Anyway, I love the whole Crypto revolution - having watched it for several years before having the nerve? to do something about it.

Steemit looks right up my street. You'll find me interested in all things Crypto and IT (Mac & iOS particularly), but also photography, home-grown food, music - especially guitar-related (from the Beatles to Steve Vai), and a whole host of anything that catches my eye.

See you out there!

  • Andy
Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @andyturner I have sent you a tip

Hi and welcome to Steemit, I such you luck on your journey here.

Can I suggest you look into the #minnowsupportproject - a place for newbies to get help and support as they set out across Steemit. We have voting bots, a follow train where you can get followers and much help and advice.

Drop in to chat at https://discord.gg/v3GpU4N and tell aggroed I sent you

hi - thanks v much for the tip. I'll be there!

You are most welcome here! A lot of the posts are art, photography, and tech stuff! And by the way, why not put a pic of yourself in your intro?

Posts can be edited for 7 days after the original posting, so there's still time.

Welcome, and G-d bless!

Cheers Steve. The more I see, the more I'm convinced it's right up my street here. Will add the pic as you suggest.

damn.. very much the same story .. i m also an IT guy wasted a lot of time in games and other stupid stuff,... and now finally looking to earn something from this crypto thing,..

haha - but they were actually good times too weren't they? Quake, Unreal, Half-Life & for me particularly, Tribes. Half my life in IRC!

Welcome here @andyturner . Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Well, from what I read, and looking at you and your sense of humor! you will go far in this community! You will do well in foods--music and photography. dont just post one of food or one of that. post a lot of each everyday. I quarantee it will hit! Cryptos is fine but can be boring in the community. Im definitely a crypto guy, and Im bored of myself talking about cryptos lmao! Good fortunes! Aloha Al

ps picture tells a thousand stories!

Thanks for that Al. I have to admit that I'm spending a ridiculous amount of hours reading and watching YouTube videos, trying to learn just how this all works. I've never been one for jumping in with both feet. All this research will cost me a small fortune in coffee no doubt, since I virtually live in a local bar ;)

Welcome to Steemit, @andyturner!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thanks a lot!

Thanks for sharing! I hope you enjoy your time on here. Air traffic control...you need nerves of steel for that. My grandmother was actually on of the first female air traffic controllers in the world. She's told me a little about her adventures.

Wow - that's cool. I bet it was way tougher in her day though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51