Getting out from the 4 walls of home, being sociable and exploring Steemit.

I have no idea just what I'm writing here as my first 'true' post, but I figured I have to start somewhere.

In a way, it's a continuation of my intro post I guess. I'm completely hooked by Steemit and I'm not absolutely motivated by the financial incentive of being here. That said, it was the hook that grabbed my attention - there won't be many people who would honestly admit otherwise.

Back in the mid 90s, I was working a lot of shifts, including nights and if I managed to grab an hour or twos sleep in my breaks, I could often find the energy not to sleep at home during the following day. Instead I spent (wasted?) a lot of time in IRC with newly found mates from all over the world. The hook back then was gaming, but the real enjoyment for me was the IRC community which came with it. Some of those are still good friends today - and I'll be annoying them like crazy to join here.

Steemit, at this early stage for me, has the same pull. The difference is that it's not just chat, it's about trying to contribute something to enhance the value of being here for people. I find that to be productive and to find inspiration, I have to be in a comfortable, happy environment. So, here's where I work from each morning - a local bar in a tiny hill-top village, overlooking one of the tiniest and most beautiful piazzas in Italy. Pretty lucky eh?

IMG_7492.JPG

That's my desk by the double door - it comes complete with a nearby socket - useful when your MacBook Pro has an old battery.

IMG_7493.JPG

I call it my office - as do all the locals! I've spent a crazy amount of time here over the last few years but I can't recommend getting out and away from home enough - if you're able. If I wasn't here, I'd be in a coffee bar somewhere else. It's all too easy for those of us that love (have an addiction?) to all things 'net & computing, to simply stay at home and become unsocial. If you don't already do something similar to me, please give it a go! Say "hi" & smile at people that walk past and catch your eye. You'd be surprised how many people react positively these days to something so simple.

Here's a thing: a coffee here costs €0.80. Wouldn't it be nice one day if, as well as buying coffees for people who come and go in the bar (and receiving them back on other days), I can do the same with upvoting friends - for the right reasons? For me, that's an amazing part of Steemit. See you out there - or maybe someday here too!

Sort:  

That really is a wonderfully beautiful cafe where you work. I spend most of my time at home now but used to travel a lot. I long for these travel experiences again as I do feel cut off from the world. Thanks for your post and inspiration!

Thanks for the compliment. You're right, it's easy to spend too much time at home - there's got to be somewhere public which is safe, convenient and potentially sociable where most people could work these days. Even if just for a few hours.

Welcome to Steemit @andyturner!
Dropped you a follow for support!
Please dont hesitate to reply and ask if you need any help!
Hope you enjoy your time here as I do!

Thanks - love the format of your reply ;)

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you find this to be a great place to share your ideas and thoughts. Keep Steeming on!

Thanks Elsa!

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

OK - you perked my interest ;). Thanks for the welcome.

Welcome to steemit.I hope you are enjoying this great platform.
I have followed you .
Please follow me @magneticvibes

I'm loving it. Completely confused, but loving it. What's Facebook again?

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Hi Kassie - thanks & 'done' 😘

i voted and resteem this! Go get em buddy! Aloha Al

What an awesome office! Welcome to steemit!

Thanks. Are you a Bonsai fan then? I used to have an obsession with Bonsai & hope to give it another go when I finally get a little more time.

50 plus years of the wee trees, yup they are in my soul...

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52